We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Playa Taco Shop

La Playa Taco Shop
3973 Mission Boulevard, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: place is fantastic - http://www.yelp.com/biz/la-playa-taco-shop-san-diego
Restaurant details
Description: place is fantastic - http://www.yelp.com/biz/la-playa-taco-shop-san-diego
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

So glad we were with a friend who recommended this place or we may not have stopped here. From the outside it looks like a little orange shack, but sometimes those unassuming little spots turn out to be the best. That was the case here. The carne asada tacos were heaven. You can also get Mexican Coke in the bottle here which I ended up liking better than the American version. If you're not looking for atmosphere, but just great, inexpensive food, try this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little taco spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate here while staying next door at the Catamaran resort. Good, tasty food and quick service. We tried to catch an early breakfast on Saturday before leaving, but they were not open at 8:30, so we had to go elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Amazing food, super cheap. There was a longer wait to place the order and receive the food, but that's just because of how popular it is and we went on a weekend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great Mexican food.
Cheap prices.
Beach bum atmosphere.
The carne Asada and Al Pastor tacos (2 of each) were great and had rice and beans on the side for each along with 1 water and a large horchata was only 17$. Came out in about 10minutes. Tasty cheap and hits the spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Mmmm delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you're vegetarian, play with the menu a little, they're very willing to make substitutions. Don't miss the churros!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Taco Shop also viewed

 

Been to La Playa Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Playa Taco Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.