We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem on mission bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starkeys BBQ

Starkeys BBQ
3231 Mission Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92119
858-488-2227
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,379 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Greater NW and Central MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem on mission bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Found this place by going for a walk our first night in Mission Bay. It is small inside, but the staff was friendly, decor was quaint and menu selection was good. We ordered a full rack of ribs and the B52. Be forewarned, the B52 is delicious, but can easily feed 2 people. The ribs were super tender...fall off the bone would be an understatement.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    6
    4
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Fries”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were eating early and off-season and were the only ones eating, so things might be better when they expect more customers. Service was very pleasant. The fries were excellent, but neither the pulled pork sandwich nor the half-rack of ribs was worth finishing. I love BBQ, but not here. The breakfast menu looks OK, so we might give that a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow!!!! Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Incredible food! Service is impeccable! This place can not be beat! It lucky to find it and best place in 10 days of vacation

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This food is not only very reasonably priced but is very tasty! The BBQ ribs were enjoyed by all who ordered them--enough so that we came back several days later to repeat the experience. This is a family-owned and -run business and meals are home-cooked. THe homemade fries and BBQ ribs will not disappoint.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Within walking distance from the Bahia Resort hotel. So we went here for dinner one night! Fantastic BBQ! Great little spot to have a beer and watch the game.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starkeys BBQ also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Starkeys BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starkeys BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.