We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and Reasonably Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolat

Chocolat
3896 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I went to Chocolat with a friend for brunch. Our food was really delicious, the service was good, and there was no wait on a Saturday morning. I really recommend the artisan toasts! The atmosphere of the restaurant is adorable and our meal wasn't rushed, even as tables started to fill up. When the bill came, I had reverse sticker-shock -- less expensive than I would have thought for such good food and service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful crepes and gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Fresh and flavorful gelato that is creamy and flavorful, crepes that are light, very tasty with plenty of choices both savory and sweet. They also have a bar with a fine wine list and great gelato drinks too. The staff sometimes get frazzled during crowded visits and the wait can be a bit longer than you'd like but the flavor is worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sublime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Went originally for the gelato (over and over,) which is the best I've tasted, anywhere in the world (including France and Italy!) Took me ages to actually eat dinner. My loss. The main courses are amazing and the dessert crepes are well worth saving some room for! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I love Chocolat (a French name for an Italian bistro). The atmosphere is casual but chic. The food is really good. However, the servic and the food quality is not so great when it's crowded. Don't miss the gelato.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous crepes and gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

On our last night in San Diego, Gaslamp Quarter, we stopped for dessert at this wonderful place called Chocolat. We had the mascarpone, nutella and fresh strawberry crepe with a scoop of white chocolate gelato. Split the dish with my wife and it was extraordinary. Wish we had stopped here earlier in our trip. They also have savory crepes, flatbreads, wine, etc.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolat also viewed

 

Been to Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.