We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark San Diego

Save Saved
You added WorldMark San Diego to your Saves list
WorldMark San Diego
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark San Diego
1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodbridge, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Love having a condo for a stay. This WorldMark is smaller than all other WorldMark places we've stayed. Not that it's cramped, just smaller than you would expect of this brand. Not that great a location across from City College and no pool. They claim you could walk to Balboa Park or downtown to Gaslamp Quarter...not me, anyway. Inadequate parking for all guests is a real bummer and this one charges $20 per day to park. That's the worst! We much prefer the Mission Valley WorldMark for its location in the heart of Mission Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Once I was checked in and relaxing in my room I felt better after driving from Angel's Camp, CA. during LA rush hour traffic. I had a studio overlooking Park Blvd. across from San Diego City College (11th and A Street). Just across the street from the hotel, a McDonald's is open 24 hours/day. Other fast food places are within easy walking distance. Getting there was interesting due to the one way streets and the on ramp to/from 163. Limited parking only and $20 per night. The first night since they were sold out, I needed to pay $15 for 24 hours at another parking lot within view of the hotel. Homeless people were camped on the outskirts of the lot yet did not bother me. I used the hotel as a base as I did my excursions to OB, Mission and Pacific Beaches, etc. therefore I didn't walk around that area. Gaslight district (clubs and restaurants) is not far yet I don't think I would walk there and back at night. Petco Stadium is also in that district. I understand Worldmark just bought 3 more properties, one of which is up the hill from this location and in a better neighborhood. I also took the opportunity to find the Mission Valley location which is a tad interesting to find - very secluded, much larger, and has parking. Chris (?), at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The roof has a lovely area to see the view and relax in the lounges. I didn't partake as I was off each of my three days visiting my old haunts.

Room Tip: I had a corner room on the third floor. I could see the off ramp well and see the green grass of SD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July on a family vacation for Comic Con. Great location - just two blocks to the train. The unit was a large studio with a full size kitchen. Staff was very nice and accomodating. Parking does cost $20 a day but it has security and was a better bet than parking on the street. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing out. Some have interior views which is pretty much looking across at other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a nice property located within walking distance of many of the downtown areas and attractions. Not much in the way of amenities, no pool, no grounds, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not much to add to what was previously stated about the hotel, except that there is a pattern to which rooms have a view. All the odd number rooms seem to look out to the city from all 4 sides. However the even numbered rooms all just look into the inner air shaft. Luckily, it 75% of the rooms look outward. Maybe you can use this at check in to try to get a better room. Room 301 looks west, toward the main part of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resort was being remodeled while we stayed there - all new carpeting, The work was done with minimal discomfort to customers but it still detracted from the overall experience. Staff is very helpful. Business office and common rooms including game room were well appointed. The pool is small and in shadow much of the day as it is between sections of the resort. Several restaurants are within walking distance. We used the exercise facilities daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the WorldMark San Diego and could not have been more pleased with the location. We visited Coronado Island, took a yacht harbor tour of San Diego Bay, and went to the famous San Diego Zoo. Everything was a 20 minute drive or much less. The unit (321) was small, but adequate with a full size refrigerator and a 2 burner stove and microwave. No oven. Lovely rooftop deck with a bar (closed while we were here in late February). Watch the planes land at nearby airport. There is a small work out room, but if you go to the Zoo you will get plenty of exercise. We will definitely be staying here again as we drive from Phoenix and have a car. I don't know what the experience would be without transportation.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. There is a McDonalds across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego

Address: 1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your WorldMark San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.