We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark San Diego

WorldMark San Diego
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added WorldMark San Diego to your Saves list
WorldMark San Diego
1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a nice property located within walking distance of many of the downtown areas and attractions. Not much in the way of amenities, no pool, no grounds, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not much to add to what was previously stated about the hotel, except that there is a pattern to which rooms have a view. All the odd number rooms seem to look out to the city from all 4 sides. However the even numbered rooms all just look into the inner air shaft. Luckily, it 75% of the rooms look outward. Maybe you can use this at check in to try to get a better room. Room 301 looks west, toward the main part of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resort was being remodeled while we stayed there - all new carpeting, The work was done with minimal discomfort to customers but it still detracted from the overall experience. Staff is very helpful. Business office and common rooms including game room were well appointed. The pool is small and in shadow much of the day as it is between sections of the resort. Several restaurants are within walking distance. We used the exercise facilities daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the WorldMark San Diego and could not have been more pleased with the location. We visited Coronado Island, took a yacht harbor tour of San Diego Bay, and went to the famous San Diego Zoo. Everything was a 20 minute drive or much less. The unit (321) was small, but adequate with a full size refrigerator and a 2 burner stove and microwave. No oven. Lovely rooftop deck with a bar (closed while we were here in late February). Watch the planes land at nearby airport. There is a small work out room, but if you go to the Zoo you will get plenty of exercise. We will definitely be staying here again as we drive from Phoenix and have a car. I don't know what the experience would be without transportation.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. There is a McDonalds across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a remodelled hotel - quite charming. No real ammenities, no pool, restaurant etc. McDonalds right across the street and close to the gaslamp quarter (about a 15 minute walk).
If you are afraid of homeless people - take a cab - Parking will cost you $20 a night so check out street parking before you check in.
Overal a decent place to stay - Just bypass the (consierege after check in unless you want to sit and visit for a while)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for the New Year ~ parking is limited and $20.00 per night or if you can find parking on street near timeshare - beware or ask what days the streetsweeper comes by. this location has a very beautiful roof top patio with two bbq's. This property doesn't have a pool or jacuzzi. The rooms are very tiny with a "kitchenette" that has a small frig and no oven, two burners...if you have guest stay with you or small children, you will be using a pull out that has a very small mattress our guest backs were hurting next day also, the only bathroom is located in the bedroom so your guest will have to go thru the room to get to the bathroom. I believe worldmark doesn't have the most comfortable beds especially if you like them soft I like do. The noise from the outside while sleeping was extremely loud. The staff was wonderful. It's approx a 15 min walk to gas lamp district or a 5 min walk to trolleys. Across from resort, is a mc donalds, down the street a del taco and burger king. If we go back, it would be just for a night or two.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has least amount of travel cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a mixed review because there are both positives and negatives to mention:

Positives:
o The staff are wonderful. Friendly and caring. Extraordinarily helpful!
o The hotel is 20 minutes walk from Balboa Park, maybe 15 minutes from the restaurant district and downtown
o The rooms are comfortable, if snug

Negatives:
o Parking is first-come first-served and $20 per day
o This is not an attractive location, with many homeless on the streets as you walk to restaurants, etc.
o The kitchen area is functional but small

Overall, we are enjoying our stay but I doubt we will return to this location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WorldMark San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego

Address: 1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your WorldMark San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.