We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark San Diego

Save Saved
You added WorldMark San Diego to your Saves list
WorldMark San Diego
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark San Diego
1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resort was being remodeled while we stayed there - all new carpeting, The work was done with minimal discomfort to customers but it still detracted from the overall experience. Staff is very helpful. Business office and common rooms including game room were well appointed. The pool is small and in shadow much of the day as it is between sections of the resort. Several restaurants are within walking distance. We used the exercise facilities daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the WorldMark San Diego and could not have been more pleased with the location. We visited Coronado Island, took a yacht harbor tour of San Diego Bay, and went to the famous San Diego Zoo. Everything was a 20 minute drive or much less. The unit (321) was small, but adequate with a full size refrigerator and a 2 burner stove and microwave. No oven. Lovely rooftop deck with a bar (closed while we were here in late February). Watch the planes land at nearby airport. There is a small work out room, but if you go to the Zoo you will get plenty of exercise. We will definitely be staying here again as we drive from Phoenix and have a car. I don't know what the experience would be without transportation.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. There is a McDonalds across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a remodelled hotel - quite charming. No real ammenities, no pool, restaurant etc. McDonalds right across the street and close to the gaslamp quarter (about a 15 minute walk).
If you are afraid of homeless people - take a cab - Parking will cost you $20 a night so check out street parking before you check in.
Overal a decent place to stay - Just bypass the (consierege after check in unless you want to sit and visit for a while)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for the New Year ~ parking is limited and $20.00 per night or if you can find parking on street near timeshare - beware or ask what days the streetsweeper comes by. this location has a very beautiful roof top patio with two bbq's. This property doesn't have a pool or jacuzzi. The rooms are very tiny with a "kitchenette" that has a small frig and no oven, two burners...if you have guest stay with you or small children, you will be using a pull out that has a very small mattress our guest backs were hurting next day also, the only bathroom is located in the bedroom so your guest will have to go thru the room to get to the bathroom. I believe worldmark doesn't have the most comfortable beds especially if you like them soft I like do. The noise from the outside while sleeping was extremely loud. The staff was wonderful. It's approx a 15 min walk to gas lamp district or a 5 min walk to trolleys. Across from resort, is a mc donalds, down the street a del taco and burger king. If we go back, it would be just for a night or two.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has least amount of travel cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a mixed review because there are both positives and negatives to mention:

Positives:
o The staff are wonderful. Friendly and caring. Extraordinarily helpful!
o The hotel is 20 minutes walk from Balboa Park, maybe 15 minutes from the restaurant district and downtown
o The rooms are comfortable, if snug

Negatives:
o Parking is first-come first-served and $20 per day
o This is not an attractive location, with many homeless on the streets as you walk to restaurants, etc.
o The kitchen area is functional but small

Overall, we are enjoying our stay but I doubt we will return to this location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

They have an amazing Front Desk Staff who is very customer oriented, and a great resort management team! I love the location as it sits right by Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo as I love visiting the zoo whenever I am there. You can relax at the roof top and have view of the Coronado Bridge and watch planes land, pretty cool! If you needed to access Hwy 5 and 163, it's right there!

The studios and One bedroom units are decent as they have just renovated the entire resort so all the furniture are much more comfy and ergonomically fit. The mattresses are nice and firm. I only wish that they had renovate the bathrooms and vanity tops, but they did not. That brought the score down slightly. The rooms all have a kitchenette with stove top, fridge, and a dishwasher and microwave. Utensils and pots/pans/dishes/glasses are included. A flat screen LCD TV is available for your viewing. If you have a one bedroom, then there is also another TV in there.

The only problem I keep having with them is their housekeeping department. Apparently, some of the housekeepers are not detailed oriented and not very thorough with their cleaning. I have encountered this problem almost every time I've been there the past 3 years. I hope that they get it resolve soon, so I can update and give them a 5 Circles.

Other than that, I just love this place and looking forward to visiting them again in Jan/Feb 2013!

Room Tip: As it is a resort, they assign rooms in the order of your reservation, but you can request for certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here while at a conference. Large room, friendly staff. Roof has an amazing sitting area.

Although the San Diego weather was dreadful, loved this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WorldMark San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego

Address: 1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your WorldMark San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.