We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location and a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here for a show at the Convention Center and it was great. Perfect location - a short walk from the Conv. Ctr. and then to evenings out in the Gaslamp. Street side room was a little small but nicely decorated and new. Gym area was great as was the pool. Do check the bill as they tried to charge $10 to receive a small UPS package - they were nice enough to remove it. It got a little noisy on Friday night when the clubs let out and then some of them happen to be staying on our floor. The walls aren't thick so TV from neighboring room could be heard as could the shower and a phone conversation. We got a great deal on Priceline (less than $100 per night) so I won't sweat the small stuff. Overall, it is a very nice hotel, with a great staff and superb location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    606
    130
    52
    27
See reviews for
418
678
119
883
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

My colleague and I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the convention center. The hotel is pretty new and well maintained. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. Bayside rooms offer a nice view of San Diego Bay.
If you like to sleep with the window open you may want to stay elsewhere though. The hotel is beside the commercial and light rail train tracks and next to the baseball stadium so it is very noisy with the windows open; with the windows closed though I didn't hear the trains much (double-paned glass) and they didn't wake me up.
Shower in room was one of the best hotel showers I’ve ever had. Good water strength and it had one of those curved shower curtains rods so the curtain didn’t stick to you. Don’t recommend you share the room with a colleague though as there are only shutters between the bathroom and bedroom so it is NOT sound proofed.
Hotel is within walking distance of the Gaslamp area, which contains a good variety of restaurants and the light rail transit is a 1 minute walk.
Hotel restaurant food is good but very pricey. No breakfast buffet is available so we had room service for breakfast, which was very expensive. Those on a budget would probably not want to stay here, but if you have a reasonable expense account it's a good place to stay.
You should definitely join the Omni Select Guest program so you don't have to pay $10/day for internet service (membership is free). Membership also entitles you to a free morning beverage, but double check you bill before you check out because room service didn't give me the appropriate credits.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Located a short walk from the convention center and one block off of the Gas Lamp district, but connected to the ballpark makes this an ideal location to entertain clients.

Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax, va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I brought my wife here on a bit of a surprise birthday vacation, and mentioned something about that in passing when requesting a bay view room. When we checked in, there was a piece of cake, champagne, and two glasses waiting for us on our bed, along with a very sweet happy birthday card signed by several staff members. Way to start on the right foot, Omni!

We had a room on the 19th floor with a wonderful view. True, the Hilton blocked a bit of the bay view, but I can't fault the Omni for Hilton building a hotel there. The train/trolley noise that other people have mentioned didn't bother us at all, and we didn't once notice it in the middle of the night. The location was fantastic, close to shopping, restaurants, night clubs... so much to do in the Gaslamp. A little tip, try the veggie nachos at Maryjane's, a coffeeshop/restaurant on 5th, attached to the Hard Rock. Sooooo good!!

The only downside we experienced AT ALL was that one of the window shutters on the bathroom didn't really like staying closed, but that's a very minor inconvenience compared to all of the positives. All of the staff was incredibly helpful, and very friendly, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

This is a great place to stay if you're looking to hit the nightlife in the Gaslamp district of San Diego, or are staying for a conference. It has quick access to the convention center, Petco Park, and the trolley system as well.

The rooms are on the small side for what I paid, but WOW, what a view! Watch them, however, as they will nickel-and-dime you to death for everything from Internet access to parking ($30/day? are you kidding?). I was not overly impressed with the pool and hot tub, or the fitness center.

The staff members were extremely helpful and friendly, the best I've encountered in San Diego. I would stay here again, but plan to leave the car behind next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I don't understand why this hotel gets such good reviews here. I reserved a BayView room and even paid extra for this experience. What I got was a view of the train yard and the big Hilton in front of the bay. This hotel is really too far away to have a bayview, even on the 12th floor you really didn't see much but Hilton, convention center, train yard and a thin strip of ocean water out on the horizon. The rooms were a good size, but were noisy from the trolleys running most of the night...plus the bed was so uncomfortable and the pillows put a kink in my wife's neck.

The bar closed down early at 10:30 when we arrived and the hotel was dead. I know they can't change their location, but a bar closed at 10:30? They should not mislead people on their website into thinking that this place has nice Bayviews, as it doesn't.
The good reviews here must be for a different Hotel than what I stayed at...as I was not impressed and checked out early.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband, son and niece stayed here just before Christmas. We spent 5 weeks in the USA (west and east coasts) and this was the best hotel we stayed in. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and had a beautiful view of the harbour. Staff were always very friendly and had a smile and kind words on our return to the hotel every day. Check-in and out not a problem.

Only negative comment is that we were woken on the first few nights by the loud and incessant horn from the nearby train track/ trolley line. Once we got used to the sound (around 2 nights), it was easier to get back to sleep straight away. Maybe a room facing away from the train line would eliminate this problem but then you would miss the beautiful harbour view.

Would definitely stay with Omni again - wish we had them in Australia.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.