We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed here for five nights in May for an international conference. The location is simply perfect. I could leave my room and five minutes walk later I was in the conference session in the convention centre. Perfect!

The room was lovely, well appointed, modern and clean - everything I could want.

Breakfast buffet was a little pricey but pretty decent.

Tip: register for free as an Omni Select Guest before you go and you get a drinks voucher for coffee in the lobby coffee shop each day.

I had hired a bike for a couple of days and there was no problem storing the bike in the room overnight.

Anytime I'm back in San Diego for a conference, this will be my number one choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tim J-W,
Thank-you for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had such a positive experience with us while attending your conference. I'm proud to interject that our hotel was the ranked #1 among all Omni Hotels & Resorts for Overall Experience as rated by meeting planners on the company's feedback surveys for all of 2013. Regardless of whether you are visiting for a conference or for a much needed personal getaway, we take pride in providing a hotel environment that surpasses all of your expectations.
We hope that you'll visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    590
    128
    51
    27
See reviews for
411
659
117
865
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Omni San Diego is a large but quaint feeling hotel in downtown San Diego. My wife and I had a stay-cation during an August weekend and were pleasantly surprised. Would have loved to go to a Padres game (right next to Petco Park) but thy were not home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear DadofTwins,
We're so pleased that your stay-cation was a success! A battery re-charge is essential from time to time and we couldn't be happier that you chose our hotel and that you had such a positive experience. I hope that you'll make plans to stay with us again when the Padres are back in town. In the meantime, thank-you for submitting this review!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean, very friendly staff, comfortable beds and pillows, feels new. Only comment is that you can hear hallway noise while in ones room. I carry earplugs and they did the trick. Great location!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear janemJ2078IP,
We appreciate your feedback very much. Thank-you for acknowledging our housekeeping team's hard work, our comfortable beds and our friendly staff. These are all essential elements of a positive hotel stay and we're very pleased that we made such a positive impression. I'm sorry that there was noise in the hallway and hope that it did not cause a long term disturbance or impact your sleep.
I hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Liked it a lot. Good location. By the water. Across from convention center.
Friendly people, day and night. The rooms are OK. Lots of restaurants nearby. Concierge was extremly helpful. They arranged everything we asked for. Dovey liked it too. He was travelling with. us. Dovey does not like everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Omni in San Diego. From check-in to the valet returning our car (with bottles of water for the onward journey) on departure the service was faultless. Rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and the food was of a consistently high standard. Small touches - such as providing milk and cookies for my daughter at bed time - were the icing on the cake.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear R8SKM,
Thank you very much for your glowing review! We're delighted that you were delighted. We take pride in attending to small details (water in your vehicle and cookies at bed-time for your daughter) as well as the important requirements of cleanliness, efficiency, safety and friendliness. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to acknowledge these accomplishments; it makes us proud and hungry to provide more memorable experiences in the future for you and others.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family (3 adults, 1 child) stayed here during ComicCon. If you don't know - ComicCon is insane. So many people cram into the San Diego Gaslamp district I can't believe it doesn't sink into the ocean. I have stayed at several hotels during past ComicCons and when I've needed anything literally been told "You know it's ComicCon, right. You'll have to wait". This was my first time staying at Omni and it was a world of difference. I will never stay anywhere else! Despite the insanity - it was quiet once we got to our room (granted we were blessed to have a room at the very end of our floor so maybe that helped, but I think it was pretty quite on the floors). We ordered room service at least once a day and it came correctly and in less than an hour. Given the situation - that's incredible! Anything I needed from the front desk or concierge was attended to politely (I only had small requests - but still!). We made a same day reservations at the hotel restaurant and were told they were full but they would try. When we returned at our requested time our table was ready and our service was great. I can't say enough about how gracefully they handled this crazy week!

Room Tip: If you stay during comic con and want quiet, ask for a floor about 7 (don't even know if there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Margaret B,
Thank-you so much for acknowledging the stellar efforts of our team in handling the unique circumstances that ComiCon brings. We take great pride in tailoring our service to the needs of all of our guests throughout the year. Certainly ComiCon is extraordinary but we have a tenured team of professionals who have become good at planning for the annual event.
We hope to have you back with us again next year, if not sooner!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here of for four nights in late-June for the BIO Conference and couldn't find a thing to complain about. The property is very clean, rooms are modern and spacious, bathroom amenities 1st class, gym is excellent (cardio machines, free weights, cross fit stuff, high ceiling for skipping) and the restaurant and banquet food was excellent.

Front desk and front door staff were knowledgable and helpful from top to bottom. Elevators can be a bit slow after a Padres games -- as the hotel has a bridge direct to Petco park -- but this was a minor inconvenience. Right in the heart of the Gaslamp district, directly in front of mass transit and just across the road from the convention centre, this is probably the most central hotel (it was for our purposes) in San Diego.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat and look forward to my next visit ... this is a diamond jewel in the OMNI Chain of hotels!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear WJR-041,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us over the BIO conference. We are thrilled that every aspect of your stay with us met your needs, and in some cases exceeded them. Our team is proud of the feedback you provided and undoubtedly are motivated to provided a similar experience for future guests, including you, we hope!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.