We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni San Diego HITS it out of the park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Torrance, Cambodia
1 review
“Omni San Diego HITS it out of the park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hotel was extremely convenient for us to attend a San Diego Padre Game. Just one escalator up to the bridge that allows entry into Pet Co Park. Hotel was clean, service was spot on and having a Mcormick and Schmick's connected to the property was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Seth D,
We're so appreciative of your awesome review of our hotel. We love baseball and baseball fans at the Omni San Diego. I hope you had an opportunity to view the incredible memorabilia collection on display throughout the hotel. Thanks also for your acknowledgement of our housekeeping team, the Skybridge in to Petco Park and our partners with McCormick & Schmick's. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    606
    130
    52
    27
See reviews for
419
678
119
884
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Omni San Diego for the first time. The staff was wonderful from the moment we arrived to the day we left after a four-night stay. Everything that we requested in our room was there, including a welcome note. We really enjoyed having 24-hour access to the 6th floor gym, which was surprisingly large for a hotel. It was very clean with lemon water, fresh fruit, towels, and sanitizer wipes for the equipment. The hotel location was perfect. It was across the street from the convention center so we were able to come and go anytime during Comic Con. It is also connected to Petco Park by a bridge. We loved the baseball memorabilia on several floors. We were impressed at how well the staff handled all the convention guests, as well as the outside guests using the premises for parties and other convention functions on various floors. We were able to get a good night's sleep despite the craziness of the Gaslamp during Comic con. Thank you to the Omni and their great staff for a wonderful stay. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear sfslinsky,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us including our fitness facility (we understand the importance of a clean, attractive and well equipped gym when you travel!), our location and our helpful staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We spent two great nights here recently as part of our honeymoon. The location is great, right in the heart of the Gaslamp without being noisy. Unfortunately for us on arrival the ball game was just starting so traffic was mental with everyone looking for parking. However the valet was great which you'd hope they would be given the price you pay! (Parking is a nightmare in San Diego in case you didn't know).

The rooms are the biggest we've known for Omni hotels and so comfortable. The concierge had Zoo tickets available at the desk which saved us messing around at the gate.

There 100's of places to eat nearby so we just headed to the one's we liked the look of (casual dining mostly). The broken yolk has superb food and service for breakfast. We also ate at Barley mash & Henry's which were both great.

Wish we could have stayed longer, San Diego is great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear jsddvd,
Thank you for the great review! And it was so much more meaningful to us knowing that we made a positive impression during your honeymoon. You wrote an excellent review that others will find valuable, so thank-you for that and for entrusting us for such a landmark journey in your life. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Omni is a wonderful hotel. The location is absolutely perfect and you can walk to everything you would want to do. Bubs down the street is a great little local bar with good booze and good bar food. The heated pool area on the sixth floor is outstanding and the bar located there serves a nice drink.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Flemm325,
Thank you so much for the great review! We value our guest's experience so much and are really happy to see you enjoyed the hotel's location and pool.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a regular exhibitor at Comic Con for many many years I've stayed at almost every large hotel in San Diego. The Omni is my favorite. I like the quiet floors which is very helpful after a day of media overkill at the convention itself. It's also conveniently located to my spot in the Con hall, which counts for a lot in a hall that size. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear mswuff,
Thank you so much for the great review! We're so pleased you had a great stay over ComicCon....it's one of our favorite times of year!
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Have stayed here for many years for Comic-Con. Very convenient walk to convention center. Restaurant has very good food and service. All around a very well managed hotel. Even though it is their most busy convention, hotel and restaurant never felt short staffed. Other restaurants in the area did suffer from staffing shortages. Nobu across the street being amongst the worst. Not many people will care about this problem, but I have trouble using the elevator. I always ask for a low floor and call ahead to make sure it is ok to use the stairs (many hotels only offer private access to stairs). On the Saturday of my stay, I was rudely denied access to the stairs. I was told that celebrities were using the floor so I would have to use the elevator. After much persuasion, staff agreed to escort me the mere 10 steps to the stairs. Again, not a problem for most people, but wanted to share my experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear JeffS.,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to see that you are a fan of the hotel and it's proximity to the Convention Center. I was sorry to hear about the frustration caused by the inability to access to the stairs. That should not have been an issue and will personally follow up with our staff to ensure we handle better in the future.
We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again next year.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location, modern, hip, clean, friendly staff, and highly recommend. Its close to everything and an ideal place to stay. The fact that my view of Petco Ballpark was awesome made an even more ideal place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear RicardoN.,
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and especially our fabulous location at PETCO Park. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.