We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel, so well located!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel, so well located!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are going to spend any time in San Diego, I recommend the Omni Hotel. It is attached to their their baseball stadium, Petco Park (one of the nicest stadiums around), and at the bottom of 5th Avenue, which is the start of Gaslamp district. Walk up and down 5th and over a couple of blocks, and enjoy the restos, the bars, the shops, the people, the scene - very San Diego! If you are going to be at a convention, Omni is steps away from the San Diego Convention Center. A short walk and you are along the harbour boardwalk which is very scenic, and full of buskers, pedicabs …. and I highly recommend The USS Midway, a great aircraft carrier permanently moored along the waterfront.

As for the hotel itself, I found it very clean, very modern, the staff were attentive, service was great, the lobby small but comfortable … just the way I like it!

Room Tip: Ask if there will be any games or concerts at Petco Park Stadium during your stay, and then choose i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear janiceb11_12,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great downtown location and proximity to the Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center and PETCO Park.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    603
    130
    52
    27
See reviews for
417
677
119
882
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Omni Hotel is so convient to great food and Petco Park. Easy access into the park, via a walkway. Staff was excellent, room was clean. The 16th floor has an amazing view of the park, you can watch batting practice from your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Karlene S.,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great downtown location and PETCO Park. We have a wonderful staff and I'm so happy to hear you think so too!
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Omni San Diego sits in a fantastic location, overlooking the San Diego Convention Center and the bay beyond. Bay views from the upper floors (I was on the 18th, near the top) are spectacular. During my stay, the staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful, and the room itself was clean and very comfortable, with good quality furniture. I could have done without a connecting door to the next room, but I guess it proves useful for a group of guests traveling together, and there was very minimal noise from adjoining rooms. Being an Omni Preferred guest is well worth it, as check-in can be done online and the room key is hanging up when you arrive, meaning no queuing on arrival. I like that Omni prepare your bill and have it hanging on your door, having already charged your credit card account, on check-out morning, as again it means no queuing to pay.

I only have two minor quibbles really - my room window didn't appear to be able to open (perhaps a precaution, given I was on a top floor?), and it would have been nice to have had a small tube of toothpaste in the bathroom along with the other toiletries which were provided by the hotel. But these were very small points, and overall this is an excellent hotel, with one of the best views in San Diego and a location that is hard to beat. I certainly hope to stay here again when I visit next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view, and near the top of the hotel, have a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Scotch_Advisor,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great downtown location and views. The windows in our guestrooms do open a few inches but if that was not the case in your room, please email me back the room number you were assigned and we'll investigate. Also, we have complimentary travel sized toothpaste available on request.
We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
canderson@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

On the nearby train/tram station they used an air horn. They started with this at 6 in the morning (or even earlier). It woke us up every morning. Very annoying. We was not informed by the staff on this matter, or they don't have any information on their homesite about it.

I am on their guest list program and should have had free wifi, but on some well hidden rules it says that you normally don't get it if you don't do the reservation directly through them. I went to the desk and got it anyway, but on check out they had still billed me for it. Those kind of things really annoys me. Staying at a hotel, you should not be on guard for them ripping you off. They should have their stuff together. They removed it, together with a very arrogant "goodbye, sir". They have to step up their game.

They were very hard to reach on the phone.

Other than that, the hotel was good. San Diego in it self was great, especially the people, and the beer. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Stay away from the air horn.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Oslo_hiker,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your experience. I apologize that the external train/trolley noise was disruptive. We do our best to mitigate this impact when possible.
We recently had a policy change with our Select Guest program and for full benefits to be recognized, the reservation must be made through the omni hotels.com website. I apologize that this added unnecessary frustration and that you were unhappy with the service at the Front Desk. We will certainly review this as an opportunity with our team.
We appreciate your business and I'm glad you enjoyed San Diego.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for a conference, so I was able to get a conference rate, which made the hotel much more affordable. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The cleaning service is attentive to detail (for example, they noticed I was drinking regular coffee every morning, so provided extra pods of regular coffee the next mornings). The location is right at the edge of the Gaslamp district, so the conference center is right across the street, while all of the stores and restaurants of the Gaslamp are within easy walking distance. I was on the 17th floor facing the Bay, but I did not find the train noise disruptive at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Susan M.,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our great downtown location and proximity to the Gaslamp Quarter and San Diego Convention Center. I am also pleased to hear that our housekeeping staff took such great care of you. We'll be sure to share your comment with the team.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice location and right across the street from convention center. Lots of great little eateries close by that you can walk to and shopping as well. Great views. Right on the public transportation line as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is the best hotel experience, that I can remember, ever having. I only have one suggestion. Tea drinkers, like myself, like to have some kind of black tea. May I suggest Twinings English Breakfast. Other than the lack of a good tea, this hotel is the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.