We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay if in San Diego for a convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good place to stay if in San Diego for a convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Upgraded to a suite for $50 daily. Worth it. Nice room. Exercise room reasonable. Nice little pool. Breakfast, usually a high point of US travel, very disappointing. Very small lobby but position near the main drag with restaurants and bars and shopping makes up for most issues

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,324
    529
    113
    48
    26
See reviews for
367
573
110
721
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pt. Richmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had a great experience with this hotel. Ideally located to the convention center & Gas Lamp District, with everything just a short walk away. The corner rooms offer excellent views with a balcony and additional space. Staff was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Found this one on Priceline, it was the only 3.5 star in the Gaslamp so was pretty sure which hotel it was, so rate was excellent. Staff was great - free upgrade to bayside king so that I could check in early. Rooms were nicely decorated, location is excellent especially if in town for a convention. Only complaint was walls were a little thin but average for similar hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a couple days off before I hit Las Vegas for the SEMA show so me and my wife decided to hit San Diego for some R&R. The Omni is a great hotel in a prime location in the heart of the action in downtown San Diego. Very clean and warm room with one great view. Not much for dining options but with-in walking distance to the Gas Lamp district. Baseball season is over but with in glimpse of Petco park. Will defiantly stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I visited the Omni this past weekend to celebrate our anniversary/birthday weekend. The hotel is clean and nicely decorated although you can tell that they cater to business clients. The decor is modern and business-like which was fine for us. The best part of this hotel is the amazing service. Check in was prompt and friendly. They sent us a bottle of champagne with a dessert for my birthday after we checked in. We loved the morning beverage service that was provided with the newspaper every morning. When we had a slight discrepancy about the parking on the bill the nice woman at the front desk was able to take care of it quickly. We also loved that it was close enough to walk to the gaslamp district and that we didn't have to get our car out of the garage all weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone I know who is planning a trip to SD.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is located in the San Diego Gas lamp area. It is very convenient if you are at the San Diego Convention Center or are going to a San Diego Padres Baseball Game. It is also very convenient if you are doing business downtown or wish to enjoy the very lively evening atmosphere of the Gas Lamp area with many dining and entertainment options. It is also close to San Diego Bay and Seaport Village. The staff is nice and the rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ok let me start by telling you im a bit of a Marriott fan. Really their beds are so so comfortable but a collegue of mine told me to try Omni saying that it was great and close to the convention center. I am so so happy I took her advice. A couple of the lectures were in the Marriott and let me tell you there were tons of people pouring in and out of that hotel. There was a wedding and a ball of some sort and everyone was tripping over themselves. The Omni hotel was right on the Gas Light district across the street from the convention center. When you arrive at the Omni you walk up to a wonderfully kind gentleman who kindly greets and guides you to the front desk. Several people wait to assist you. The hotel is very stylish and elegant. I had asked for a ocean view room. For a couple of dollars more I was granted a room overlooking the coronado bridge. I got to the hotel at 9am in the morning and they allowed me to check in. They have valet but im cheap and I parked right across the street and walked the 25 feet to the hotel. The room was large and the bed very very comfortable (as good as Marriotts :) ). They have a very nice pool and fitness center that are very clean. I love that I listened to my friend and was able to experience a different type of hotel that fit my need for quiet clean elegance.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you like. The worst they can do is say no or charge a touch more-- remember nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.