We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #8 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The omni san diego is in a great location, has nice size rooms, friendly staff, great gym and pool with views of the gaslamp district, petco park and the marina. Can't ask for much more in a city hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jfinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
corona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have frequented this place for a variety of reasons, all pleasure, but most recently, stayed for a quick anniversary getaway. Front desk knew of this, and sent up an excellent bottle of wine with chocolate strawberries. Kimi, (the front desk receptionist) was even able to offer a complimentary upgrade. Through and through, this hotel delivers, whether its amenities, ambience, staff and location. Will always and forever, only stay at this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The rooms and the hotel itself were very attractive. The staff is friendly and helpful. As someone attending a conference, it would have been helpful to have more readily available information on the hotel's services and also better lighting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Evan,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Our guest's feedback is of the utmost importance to us. I apologize you were unable to locate the the guest compendium that features the hotel's amenities as well as our in-room dining offerings. This brown binder is stored in the desk drawer. I will ensure that your room's compendium is back in place so no other guest's are inconvenienced in a similar way. Thank you for alerting us to the issue.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our associates.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was very near the convention center, petco park and gas lamp district. I could see into petco park from my room. The beds really left something to be desired. I felt like I was sleeping on a 20 year old mattress with all the support worn away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alycia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos,
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The staff was incredibly courteous, wonderful views, spacious rooms, SUPER clean! and close to everything. They treated us like royalty. Thank you. We will stay there again because we can walk to the Gaslamp District

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely hotel and glad it wasn't during a sports event. it was a little subdued which worked out perfect for me. I love sports, I am just not a San Diego sports team fan. The hotel had nice views with some minor noise from the transit lines but tolerable. Located near the Gaslamp restaurant district. Mostly 20 somethings venues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hallway smelled extremely bad as there were multiple room service trays left out all day in the hallway. The room next to us had a full cheese tray that looked like it had barley been touched - but reeked. The same was said of multiple trays. These trays were there when we checked in mid afternoon - approx 3 - 4 pm and were still there at 10 pm when we got back to the room. We chose the Omni for its reputation. The walls were paper thin and we could hear entire conversations and snoring from rooms on both sides. Further when we were in the shower the people above us flushed and the water turned scalding. We travel quite extensively for business and this was our first time trying out the Omni. In the four days we were in San Diego we stayed at the Hilton at Torrey Pines, The Inn at Rancho Sante Fe and the Pelican Resort in Newport Beach. The service at the Omni was not very good. We had to wait a long time to check in - and there was no one in front of us. The gentleman behind the counter was extremely rude and wanted to go on his break. The girl next to him finally helped us get into our room. We called ahead when we were leaving to have our call pulled around by valet. However when we got downstairs it was another 25 minutes before our car showed up. This waste of our time is unacceptable. As to cleanliness the shelves in the bathroom were covered in dust and there was fecal matter on the wall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jennifer -
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. As I stated in my personal email to you, we strive to exceed the guest's expectations and put tremendous value on our customer feedback.
I appreciate your willingness to return and look forward to delivering an exceptional stay for you.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,766 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing