We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #7 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and I enjoyed my stay. All the employees were extremely friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that they encourage you to be green by reusing towels and not getting new bed linens every day. This doesn't both me because we do it at home but there were no towel bars by the sink to hang up either hand towels or washcloths so I ended up using the robe hook. Also, I never put the card on the bed to have the bed linens changed but they were changed everyday anyway. It is very close to a lot of bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,156
    475
    98
    44
    25
See reviews for
312
511
100
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Omni for a week while I was in town for a convention. It is located right across the street from the convention center, and made going to and from breakout sessions very convienent. You are right next to Petco park, and 1/2 a block from the Gas Lamp district. You couldn't ask for a better location.

The hotel itself is nice. The carpets are old but clean. The decor in the hotel is dated. The staff are all very friendly helpful, and responsive. You are right next to the train tracks so try and get the highest room you can to help with the noise. The walls are a bit thin, but no more so than a lot of moderate value hotels you stay in. You definitely want to sign up for their rewards program. It's free on their website, and you get complimentary internet, coffee delivered to your room at whatever time you select free of charge.

I'm not sure the experience was worth what I had to pay for the room, but nothing that would keep me from staying there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Jeff W.
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. We completed a guestroom carpet renovation earlier this year and will be updating our meeting space and public area carpets in 2014. We hope you will consider us on your next visit to San Diego.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Omni for a business conference and was extremly pleased. The staff was extremely friendly and provided many recommendations on nightlife, dining, and things to do. The concierge service was great and arranged for my rental car to be delivered at the hotel. The facility is beautiful and in a great location with walking distance to seaport village, gaslamp quarter, and water views!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is located right across the convention center where my husband was attending a conference. The location is great for walking by the water, catching the trolly (right across the street from hotel) and walking the gaslamp district. The rooms were very clean. The front desk and concierges were very helpful and always pleasant. I would recommend the on/off trolly if you would like to tour the area. The first day I took the trolly to Coronado Island to visit the hotel and beach. The next day I went back to the beach using the bus (catch it by the watch tower). Way cheaper. On the way back I took the bus to the ferry landing and took the ferry back for about $4.50 (it lets you off by the midway so be prepared to walk. On our way to LA we took the trolly to the Amtrak station (3 stops) and took the train to LA. Views were very nice but not spectacular BUT way better than driving. We rented a car one day and drove to La Jolla cover, fun watching the seals. Had dinner at the Hake which was very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel and beautiful area. The hotel is situated at the entrance of the Gaslamp Quarter - rigt across the street from the convention center. Two blocks and you are walking along the San Diego Bay. Rooms are beautiful - staff is extremely friendly. Pool are is lovely and has great views of the city. Restaurants are upscale - food delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've stayed twice at the Omni in San Diego and have had a great experience both times. The staff is friendly and quick to help with check-in, or anything that is needed. The rooms were very clean and the views of the bay are amazing. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Friendly personnel, very clean and up to date rooms and building. A great location next to Qualcomm and the Gaslamp Quarter. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Also Known As:
Omni San Diego
San Diego Omni
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#7 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Business Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.