We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word ---- WONDERFUL!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #7 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“In a word ---- WONDERFUL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've determined after a recent 4 night stay at the Omni that it will be my home base for each subsequent visit to San Diego. The room was spotless and very well cleaned each day, so have no worries in that area. The hotel is directly across from Petco Park and there is a connected sky bridge from the hotel to the park if you're there to attend a Padres game. The hotel is also close to anything and everything that the Gaslamp District has to offer ----- clubs, restaurants, bars, etc., can be found within walking distance. The staff was very nice and accommodating as well. This is a great hotel, but please be advised that there is a ridiculous $38 per day valet parking charge for your vehicle. Fear not!! There is also an ACE parking garage directly across the street (L Street) from both the hotel and Petco Park. It is actually the same garage your $38 is paying for because most of the hotels in the area valet there. So, save a fortune and park there. the charge is $1 per hour with a maximum of $15 per day for Sun - Thurs. On Fri and Sat, the $1 per hour still applies, but the max per day goes up to $25. Other solid hotels in the immediate area that you could also consider are Hotel Solamar and The Andaz San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    670
    152
    55
    30
See reviews for
452
730
122
1,011
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My stay at the Omni hotel in San Diego was an outstanding experience! From the front desk, to housekeeping to the bell staff, everyone could not have been more helpful and the appearance of the hotel is first rate! It is very conveniently located adjacent to the Gaslamp district of the city and right smack next to Petco Park, home of the San Diego Padres. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone venturing to San Diego for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for my birthday. Because I'm a Select Guest member they left a special treat since they knew it was my birthday. What a great touch! We had a beautiful view of the harbor and the room was spacious and very comfortable. If you don't like city sounds, don't request a harbor view room because the trains run late and you can hear revelers from Gaslamp District. These things don't bother me, so I was fine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel is fine but a bathroom with a pedestal sink and no counter top is totally unacceptable to me. I should have left and gone somewhere else and I still wish that I did. The staff is awesome and the hotel is in a great location but that does not overcome the lack of a bathroom counter top. The bed was a super budget model unbecoming a quality hotel as well

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Doug W.,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and on our internal guest survey. Hopefully you received my email response already? I'm pleased that you enjoyed our staff and service levels but I was sorry to hear about your frustration with our bathroom design and bed comfort. We don't anticipate any design changes to the sink/shelving in the bathroom but I can certainly investigate the age of that particular mattress and replace as needed.
We appreciate your business.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We really had a great time. The hotel was very nice, the staff friendly and helpful and I liked the location near the Gaslamp and bay, and Seaport village. Room service was great! Parking was a bit pricey but the valets were all very nice and got your car quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Convenient to San Diego convention center for business travelers, close to bay walking paths, clean rooms, roomy bathrooms, everything works in rooms, good lighting, in Gas Lamp district (if you care), room wi-fi, but no LAN/ethernet

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
520 helpful votes 520 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here on our trip around America, and found everything to our satisfaction, except parking.
The rooms are of a good size, modern and clean. The staff can't do enough for you and make you feel very welcome. Location is excellent around the corner from the Gas lamp district and a small walk to Seaport Village and USS Midway.
Pool area really nice good for sunbathing.
Parking is not a problem, just don't use the hotel valet service, they charge $38, park yourself in same car park across from hotel $15.
Would I use again, Yes no problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.