We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service, and rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location, service, and rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pros:
-Great location- center of everything in Gaslamp district
-Fantastic gym
-Super quick elevators
-Customer service: We had 804 but after a very noisy nap they moved us to 1131 which gave us a great new and QUIET room. This was all done with a smile
-Fast valet (but expensive at $38!)
-Very comfy bed and linens
-An over abundance of big fluffy towels
-Modern and sleek furnishings
-Complimentary morning coffee and internet when you sign up for their loyalty program

Cons:
-The toilet of the first room was a bit dirty- like a cleaning lady had ashed a cigarette in it?
-Loud first room but they moved us no problem
-We ordered yogurt and fruit with our coffee the first morning but it was never delivered

Room Tip: Get as high a floor as possible, away from stairs, elevator, ice machine and maid's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    677
    154
    55
    32
See reviews for
453
737
122
1,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is immediately beside the ball park and the gaslight district, neither of which is worth it. The staff was very courteous I ordered a wheelchair accessible room with a roll in shower. It was fairly nice, the roll in shower had a sturdy plastic bench with suction feet Several of the light switches and the thermostat were not accessible. The bed could be two inches lower
I was there for a conference. It would be nice if the interior decorators of hotels, especially those with conference facilities would borrow a wheelchair and attmpt to push down the miles of impossible carpet they torture us with. Why can't they install a three foot wide tile path through the conference area?

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the ballpark side of the hotel, not only do you get noise and lights from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Wheelchair-Bandit,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that the noise from the stadium affected your stay. I appreciate you sharing your suggestion about the conference access/carpeting and will pass this information along to the design team for future consideration.
We appreciate your business and hope you will consider us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a basic room that was clean and comfortable. All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were having a good stay. The location is very convenient to the conference centre and the Gaslamp area as well as a trolley station. My only mild complaint would be that rooms facing the baseball stadium are very, very close to the stadium and a parkade, and the noise on game nights can be a bit of an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for over a week at this hotel, location is very cnvenient if you are travelling on business or leisure. Right accross from Convetion Centre , Gaslamp District, Downtown and PETCO stadium makes this a great place to stay. Friendly service and great food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a suite. Hotel is nice and well run and there are alot of nice things about it. Location is ideal. The Bed was nice and comfortable. Service was generally very good. Restaurants and food were good. Pool is fine although had no food/drink service for 3 days we were there. Main issues we had included a smell in the bathroom (we think it was the water) that wouldn't go away. We complained and were told it would be looked at, but never heard anything back. Also, lighting in suite was terrible. Only had 4 lamps in main room which was not even close to sufficient. But that was a minor inconvenience. I guess our main comment would be that for $400/night, we expected a better hotel experience. But, location is great especially if you go to a Padres game.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Patrick F.,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
I'm very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience especially as it relates to the plumbing issue and poor lighting in your guest room during your stay.
We do show that the plumbing issue was reported during your stay and has been corrected.
I apologize that you weren't notified before your departure.
We value all guests input and will continue to strive to improve the guest experience.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I truly love Omni Hotels. Our experience at the San Diego-Gaslamp District was awesome. All of my requests made when I booked online were met. The staff was very attentive. Made us feel welcome and made it hard to leave. The rooms are spacious and the beds were comfy. I would highly recommend the OMNI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very confortable rooms, rooms service were not so impressed but staff at the hotel are really nice and professional. Great location in a very safe area.
Nice bar and restaurant at the bottom of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.