We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Top star quality hotel. Staff were very helpfull. The room was large, clean and with all amenities including free wi-fi. Very well located near Convention Center, trolley station and Petco. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,299
    526
    109
    47
    26
See reviews for
362
565
106
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was at the OMNI for several days for a conference. Overall great...wonderful staff, great food, great location, a wonderful location for a meeting or conference though it's so close to the ball park that the noise could be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is linked to the SanDiego baseball park. That is the only highlight of the hotel. The rooms are no more then average, but at a four to five star price. Its a little dated. The front desk people were not very helpful and even rude. We checked in at 9:00p.m. (two adults two kids for three nights) our room was suppose to be non smoking and when we finally made it all the way up 10 floors, it was obviously a room that had been occupied by a smoker. They changed rooms for us only to find that this room had a broken pull out sofa bed. We waited in the hallway for over a hour for them to find us a room. At 10:00 p.m third room now, we finally have a winner. Only to find it to be average and lack luster. The next morning I went to speak to the hotel manager and was told he was busy (out of sight out of mind approach, I guess) and that he would call our room later. (never did) Breakfast was good at the the hotel, we ate there three mornings. I would check other hotels in the area. For the price and the condition of the hotel you can do a lot better. I think Omni needs to send some upper management to check this one out. It could be great, but its not. Its a shame.

Room Tip: Call ahead to double check on your room. Its not fun to stand in the hall for over a hour waiting on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Spencer -
First of all, thank you for taking the time to sumit a review regarding your stay last year.
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. I'm delighted to inform you that the hotel has just completed a room renovation (March of 2013) and the rooms look fantastic!
I do hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity when next in San Diego as I'm certain you would have a much different experience.
Thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Omni San Diego Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Flew in from London for six days before going on a cruise to Hawaii. Excellent service at the front desk, all the resturant staff, people helping with the luggage and room staff. I had forgotten how friendly American service all the staff couldn't do enough to help. Did not notice any noise problem beds very comfortable.
Definitely stop again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

What can I say? Friendly helpful staff. A fantastic view. Perfect location. Expectations exceeded. Pretty comfy bed too! They have a McCormick and Schmicks for room service! Also the gym was well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I were in San Diego for 3 nights. We booked this hotel on Priceline. Hotel was beautiful. Rooms were beautifully decorated. Pool area was really great. We were in the jacuzzi every night.

The concierge, Justin, made dinner reservations for us and helped us get tickets to the zoo. Extremely accommodating and even sent us a bottle of champagne for our 1 year anniversary! Make sure to stop by the concierge. They're hard to find. All the way on the opposite end of the lobby from the check in.

Wi-fi is actually relatively inexpensive, but if u sign up for their loyalty program the Internet is free.

During our stay, my husband had a medical emergency that required an ambulance. Hotel security was at our door almost immediately and stayed on the phone with 911 until they arrived in our room. It was the day we were checking out, but the hotel was so gracious they offered us an extra night if we needed it (we ended up not needing it). They were even so sweet as to call the room when we returned from the hospital to see how everything went.

Really a great group of people. Loved this hotel and would gladly stay here again.

One quick tip - the parking dr k across the street was perfect. The daily rate was $10! And if you're seeing a game, you don't even have to leave the hotel to get to the stadium. There was so much going on in the gas lamp district you didn't even need to leave to 16 block area! Had a great trip! Thanks, Omni!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchard, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Love the Omni! Hotel is conveniently located in the Gaslamp District, within walking distance of everything. Transportation via bus, train, shuttle, or tram within walking distance. Concierge service was fantastic! They helped me plan my sight-seeing tours, as well as offered discount tickets. They even scheduled a shuttle ride to the airport! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.