We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good, Convenient Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Good, Convenient Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel has all the basics and amenities that one would expect in a big city. Location to shops and restaurants good, and if you're coming for a game....perfect. My only observation is that there are any number of other boutique hotels around that are far more appealing in terms of architecture and cool factor. And the hotel restaurant, McCormicks and Schmidt....overpriced, bland, flat service....not at all impressive.

Room Tip: get bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    563
    123
    51
    27
See reviews for
399
630
115
788
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

No car park of own, valet parking only, but there are car parks close, the rooms are lovely and really comfortable, not overly noisy even though near train tracks, Very central to downtown. Good alternative to the Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in August 2012 for a conference and it was insanely clean and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The Starbucks was very convenient, loved having it in the lobby. GREAT location! The room was so modern and had a great view of the baseball stadium. I ordered room service one of the days I was there (got the mini waffles) and they were outstanding. Would love to stay here again next time I'm in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the time my shuttle pulled up and left me until i left 3 days later, I was treated like royalty. I needed special accommodations for my power wheelchair since there were no ADA rooms available because of the conference and the staff did everything they could to accommodate me. I had a shower chair, and they even lowered my bed to the floor since I could not manage the raised platform. The room maid understood my needs and had everything down low for me. She did not tuck sheets in so I could get into bed easier. The conference wait staff was excellent. Always there to help, but not hanging over you. Obviously the staff had received some training on working with people with disabilities.

Room Tip: Either look at San Diego baseball stadium or the convention center - all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I travel a lot for work and stay at many hotels, this is in my top 5 hotels to stay in. It is beautiful, clean, and the staff is very very good! Attentive, super friendly and helpful. I think this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I live in SD but stayed here for a weekend during the "Color Me Rad" 5k run. Loved the hotel, nice rooms, great clean stylish decor, LOVED the bathrooms, very large, nice set up & premium bathroom tolietries. They give a very good government rate, too.

McCormick & Schmidt (sp) restaurant you cannot beat their happy hour deals, like 15 food options under $5!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Very nice lobby, newly renovated hotel but I must say for people used to 5 star or 4 the service lacks a bit! Confused staff , reception was good though.. Bell men stand around in the already small lobby talking to the front counter girls and ppl waiting is not classy! Rooms are nice and clean but I would ask the bathroom contractors for my money back!! Stayed in a high floor room And a suite both with nice showers but the water pressure feels like they didn't pay the city to get enuf water... Anyways dinner at the restaurant was fantastic with Fernando their manager very attentive... He knew how to look after his guests ( coming from a restaurant owner) .. All in all a good experience nothing to rant and rave about the hotel it's average if you get a good rate, good location for everything but once again except the restaurant it was just like little better than holiday inn service with fairmont pricing... Lots of other omnis are way better so please don't discard the brand

Ps quick room service but no drinks or service by the pool...

My opinions are purely based on hotels I've stayed with the groups reward program that's why the bell staff seemed lil rude

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear "Canfirstclass1,"

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate the opportunity to learn about what impressed you while a guest in our hotel as well as where you felt we had room to improve. Fernando in our restaurant, McCormick & Schmick's, is regularly recognized by hotel guests for being a dynamic, engaging professional. I know he will be happy when he learns of your feedback. Also, your observations of the actions of our Bell Attendants make it clear we have room to improve and I thank you for bringing those to our attention. Our goal is to serve our guests at a 5-diamond level yet we fell short of that goal in your eyes, and for that I would like to apologize. We'll discuss your review as a team and focus on continuous improvement, as always. Thank you again for your input and for choosing the Omni San Diego Hotel. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when your travel plans allow it.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
tkermabon@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.