We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in the Gaslamp District” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #9 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in the Gaslamp District”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are in San Diego for an event at the convention center or to party in the Gaslamp and want a modern and convenient place to stay, the Omni is a good choice. I am a Starwood member and often stay in Westins; I found this hotel to be comparable. The customer service was above average. We were initially put in a double room and told the front desk that we preferred one king bed. There were no king rooms available yet, but they allowed us to use the double room until the king room became available. Since we were traveling with an 8-month old baby this was beyond helpful. The room was not large, but not any smaller than a typical city hotel room. Bathroom was larger than expected. The views are either of the pool/harbor or the city. My fondest memory of this hotel is lounging by the outdoor pool. We found the poolside bar/food menu to be very reasonably priced. We ordered the crudite, which was a generous portion of veggies, olives and dip. The pool area is clean, relaxing and well-staffed. We didn't use the gym facilities, but did check the gym out briefly, which appear decently sized and new. Really the only downside of our stay woke us up in the middle of the night. Though we were staying on the 17th floor, we could hear club music blasting from the streets that lasted from about 11:30 pm to around 2 am. Again, if you are here for the nightlife the noise probably won't be a problem for you. Overall, this is a nice, contemporary hotel well-situated in the Gaslamp district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Being in San Diego for a convention one can not stay in a better location. Incredibly close to the convention centre the hotel adds some very decent rooms, a good restaurant with excellent breakfast, and a decent gym and a beautiful pool. I have stayed in other hotels during the conventions in San Diego, but this one remains the best so far!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wllmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Modern rooms. Good gym. Beautiful pool and deck with a fire place. Across the street from the convention center and Petco field (San Diego Padres). Dozens of restruants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for work for a week and it was fantastic. The hotel itself was beautiful and in a fantastic location. Within walking distance to lots of restaurants and stores.

The rooms were really nice and well stocked with anything you might need and they were really sleek and modern. The hotel and the rooms were really clean and you could tell that the staff really cares about their hotel. It was a pleasure staying here and I would not hesitate to do it again, if ever in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

In the heart of downtown and still quiet, clean and best attention. We loved our stay. Just dont forget you have to pay parking. Still worth it. Great view to the convention center. We loved the city more.

Room Tip: Great price at priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafaelabril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We wanted to stay in the Gaslamp District. This hotel was very clean and conveniently located. Wish the pool and hot tub had a better view, but at least it was near the water. We will definitely stay here again on our future adventures in San Diego.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this place for the perfect location and extremely pleasant service. The pool is very nice and the snack/food selection at the pool, is reasonable and good. Our appetizer was a little late, and they made it complimentary, which was not necessary, but a nice surprise. They are courteous and willing to work with you if your room is near a "noisy" patron. I can't wait to stay there again and will definately reccommend it to other visitors to SD. My only complaint would be the beds are doubles, instead of queens, which can make it tight if you are sharing.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing