We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Kids and Convention Goers...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Niagara Falls, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for Kids and Convention Goers...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

The Omni is a first-rate hotel. We stayed there with a toddler and they were so accommodating. Brought him milk and BIG cookies each night and folded his blankie and straightened the toys we had brought, when they cleaned up the room. Note... there is a small playground on the grounds of Petco Park. It is open most days sunrise to sunset and closes 4.5 hrs. before a game on game day. Great place for the kidos to play away some of that energy. We would definately stay here again. We stayed on the 18th floor on the bay side, had a spectacular view of the Bay and the mountains, and never heard any train noise. I do see the point of the sliding leuvered bathroom doors. It wasn't a big deal for our family and was actually convenient when my husband was at his convention but if I was sharing a room, it would be quite uncomfortable. Pool was wonderfully warm for this time of year. The DVD in the room came in handy as well. We felt as if the staff was clearly here for us. Can't say enough wonderful things!!!

  • Liked — The attentivness of the staff.
  • Disliked — The leuvered windows on the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    606
    130
    52
    27
See reviews for
418
678
119
883
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

We were there with 4 children over Christmas - hotel was not fully booked. We had 3 rooms (got an incredible price through Expedia just 1-2 weeks before the trip!) and all of them were terrific - clean, great beds, good views, good ventilation, etc. The bathrooms are modern and clean, and the location of the hotel can't be beat. Even though we have all those kids - ! - they treated us extremely well.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Service, Great Lobby with Sport Mementos!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

The Omni is a nice hotel very close to the convention center, in the gas-lamp district. It is a very nice area of the city where it is a youger crowd, upscale and active.
The hotel is clean and adequate for a short stay. There is a roof pool terrace with a nice view. Did not eat at the seafood restaurant there--seemed very expensive and many other choices available within walking distance.
I would stay there again if I got a great rate.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — kind of plain-bussiness hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

One night stay for business in early Dec. Had not stayed there before (previously in the G Hyatt or at Valencia in La Jolla - great place, by the way), but room was good size and well thought out. Clearly a great baseball location, but only suggestion I would make is (and this repeats comments below) concerns room location ...

When I checked in I asked for a harbour view, thinking it would be a good option. In reality, from the hotel you don't see much harbour - more convention centre (and I was on a higher floor) than sea. Plus - and quite a big one - a main rail track runs right outside the hotel. I thought it looked quite quiet, but then a massive train came through v slowly and hooting - hence not quiet at all + other smaller trains frequent as well + hooting as they approached a crossing in front of the hotel. Hence, for light sleepers or with children, maybe better to be in a non-harbour room.

Aside from that, all fine and front desk staff were great.

  • Liked — Room size, convenience, front desk
  • Disliked — Rail noise in the front
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho mirage, ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Fabulous upscale hotel downtown San Diego. Close to everything. Beautiful room, excellent view. Got a $99 dollar rate for a $300 room thru priceline.

Two faults: Very expensive parking. A bit too close to a noisy train track.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

I've loved Omnis in other cities, so happily booked 4 nights in a suite at the San Diego Omni for my husband, myself, and our 5 year old son. Nothing about this hotel--except a handful of helpful staff--really seemed up to the standards I've experienced elsewhere.

THE ROOM
Our Junior Suite was certainly large enough (520 sf), but it wasn't designed with travelers in mind; it's the equivalent of a hotel McMansion--space but no useability. Want to unpack for a few days? Good luck--no dressers, no drawers. Maybe just want to keep things in your luggage? No dice there either--no suitcase stand. We ended up stashing clothes on every available shelf including bedside tables and the TV stand. There's a huge bedroom, but no closet in it, and only one chair. So strange.

The couch folds out into a bed, but in order to unfold it, you need to move an extremely heavy round glass table (I couldn't move it alone) and a side chair. Not a typical arrangement at all.

The bathroom is enormous (with a good shower!), but almost unusable. The pedestal sink with tiny shelves (about 6" x 4", full of towels) mean there is nowhere to put a toiletry bag, makeup, etc. Also, no towel bar, and exactly one robe hook, located--I counted, eight steps--across the very large room from the shower and bath. So, I guess you should leave it in a heap on the floor?

Who on earth designed this mess?

THE HOTEL
Attractive, modern lobby. Oddly laid out (are we sensing a theme here?) The concierge desk is waaaaaaaay over in the corner where you'd never find it without signs and directions. McCormick's and Schmick's restaurant is very good. Room service was great, fast, typically expensive. The menu seemed especially limited, though.

THE SERVICE
Uneven. Big compliments to the bell staff and the concierge. All were full of helpful suggestions and anticipated our needs. The front desk and housekeeping staff--not so much. Read on. .

THE LITTLE PROBLEMS
As a Select Guest, I've been treated very well at other Omnis. Here I was denied an upgrade (even though I had a valid voucher) because of availability, though the hotel was absolutely deserted for the time we were there (Jan 1-4, trust me, no one was in downtown San Diego the weekdays after a holiday).

The OmniKids rolling backpack of activities never arrived. The bedtime milk and cookies arrived twice in one night, not at all another. Morning coffee/juice was twice left outside the door with no knock, so I eventually discovered the tray much later (and colder). Sometimes there was service for two, sometimes for three. Turndown time varied wildly from 5:30 to 9:00. At other hotels, they seem to aim for a more consistent (and convenient) 7-8 o'clock.

We arranged for late checkout (rare rainy day in SD meant we had a few hours to kill and couldn't really walk around in the cold drizzle), but then had FOUR separate housekeeping staff knock on the door as we packed.

None of these incidents, individually, was a Major Problem, but in aggregate they made for a stay that was consistently full of small annoyances and not what I expect from a purported five star hotel.

Some dining suggestions--be advised it's far from the heart of the Gaslamp district and downtown. Nearby, eat at Mary Jane's Diner at the nearby Hard Rock (casual). Dussini Mediterranian Bistro a few blocks away was lovely for dinner (upscale).

In sum: This hotel may be fine for game night or a convention,
but don't go here with a family or for luxury. The suites are so poorly designed as to be a waste of the extra money--maybe the standard rooms are better. Other Omnis do a great job, but not this one. I trust Trip Advisor ratings, but in this case they're deceiving--Look hard at hotels that are more centrally located and more thoughtfully designed.

  • Liked — New hotel, aesthetically pleasing
  • Disliked — Design made the stay unpleasant, service was inconsistent at best, Select Guest status doesn't matter here
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

The Omni in San Diego was fantastic (unlike the Omni in Phila - old, dark and dusty). The service was exceptional, the rooms reasonably spacious and immaculately clean, the restaurant delicious with some of the best waiters/waitresses I have encountered (although expensive for dinner), and the rest of the facilities great. The view is fantastic, overlooking the water. It is right next to the Gaslamp district (lots of shops and restaurants) and the trolley. The only minor downsides are 1) No indoor pool, 2) strange system for valet parking in which every time you valet park, they have to go through the whole routine of getting your name and room number and writing it down, giving you a new ticket (instead of giving you 1 ticket for the entire stay), and 3) the lobby is a bit simple and small (not the grand lobbies in many of the hotels nearby). However, these are all truly minor flaws in a near flawless hotel. They do accept pets, a plus for pet owners (although if you have allergies, not sure if they have pet free rooms - they never brought it up nor did I). A few of the rooms on each floor have balconies (ask specifically if you want one). Overall, wonderful experience which will bring me back to them when I return to San Diego.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Parking system
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.