We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in Convenient Location In Gaslamp Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #4 of 269 hotels in San Diego
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in Convenient Location In Gaslamp Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had a pleasant 2 night stay at the end of December 2011 at the Omni San Diego. We arrived in the early evening and was pleasantly greeted by the valet. The check in process was quick and easy. We were quickly out walking in the Gaslamp Quarter. It was hard to choose from the many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is located near a railroad and we heard a freight train in our room around 10PM but did not have any trains disturb our sleep during our stay. The hotel is near a San Diego Trolley station. We used the trolley to visit Old Town area and Qualcomm Stadium during our stay. It is a great way to get around without driving. During check-out, a charge for water that we did not use was quickly removed from the bill after explaining we did not actually consume the water. We had a nice stay at this hotel and liked the very convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear "AaronI,"
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on TripAdvisor. We're happy you enjoyed your stay, were provided with a clean and comfortable room, and found our associates to be responsive and pleasant. Please also accept my apologies for erroneously charging you for a bottle of water you did not consume.

We hope to have another chance to welcome you back when your travels bring you to America's Finest City in the future.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,299
    526
    109
    47
    26
See reviews for
362
565
106
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here a few times since they opened a few years ago. Awesome location - right in Gaslamp. Great hotel overall.

It isn't cheap, and what adds another $20 a night is the parking. Kind of annoying. But worth the money if you can shell it out, in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear "euroUSA,"
Thank you for submitting your enthusiastic review on TripAdvisor. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and would consider returning should your travel plans bring you back to San Diego. We most certainly would be pleased to have you return. Regarding parking options and pricing, guests are welcome to valet park overnight at our hotel for $35 with unlimited "in and out" privileges. Additionally, guests have a convenient self-park option, located directly across the street, in a facility not managed by the hotel yet one that offers overnight prices in the $17 to $25 range based upon day of week and local event activity. I can completely empathize with guests who are not accustomed to having to pay these considerable sums for overnight parking. In our urban city center and after regularly comparing our prices to other establishments, we feel we are competitively priced. Of important note, we often offer packages via our website that include discounted parking in the overall rate.

Thank you very much for your time. If I can be of any assistance here at the hotel for any reason, I hope you will not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
(619) 209-0292
tkermabon@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed there one night prior to our Mexican Riviera cruise. We had a suite on the 17th floor with a great view of the bay. Service was excellent as was our stay. I'm a frequent guest of the Omni chain and they always treat us well no matter the location. The somewhat trendy Gas Lamp district is within walking distance. There are numerous dinning options and plenty of bars to choose from. There is also a walkway which directly connects to Petco Park where the Padres play. There is a parking garage just across the street from the hotel if you're like me and rarely use the valet. I can't remember for sure, but I think parking was $10-15 a day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for about a week during Sep, 2011. The location is wonderful, views are really nice (Coronado bridge, the bay and the pool) and the rooms are spacious and modern. The pool area is great, too. The only downside perhaps is the the railroad but with the glowing ocean right in front of you, it doesn't really catch your eye.

In addition to the niceties of the hotel, I actually wanted to point out the professionalism of the hotel management during the black-out that affected the entire South CA area and some parts of Mexico (my good fortune!). The electricity was gone everywhere from 4-5 pm till 2-3 am or so the next day. I was really impressed by how the hotel management handled the situation. They provided free snacks and sandwiches (even cheesecakes and ice cream), bottled water and soda to every guest. One of the elevators always kept running and a nice queue was set up for using it. We were staying up high (really high) so unfortunately our water slowly drained out. But, the toilets in the lower floors were running fine. I wish there were some lighting in the rooms for these type of emergencies but it wasn't a big deal. Another great thing was that we had a window that we could actually open up (you don't come across those a lot, especially in high rise buildings). This was really important as I heard that in other hotels where this isn't the case, it really got bad when the AC's went down. It is also nice being able to smell the fresh ocean. All in all, a great experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the ocean view definitely and high up so the other buildings don't block the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

With one caveat, this a great hotel. The location is prime, the service outstanding, and the accommodations very nice.

The location is close to everything in downtown S. D. You can walk anywhere and if you're driving there is valet parking or the really handy parking lot right across the street from the hotel. You're right at the gate of Gaslamp Quarter, the historic district of downtown.

You're also mere minutes from some great neighborhoods, like the mostly forgotten Little Italy (the largest in the country) and Balboa Park.

Everyone from the valets to the front desk are very hospitable and friendly. There is a very handy McCormick and Schmicks inside the hotel, just off the lobby. They do a fine happy hour there with some good microbrews on tap.

The views from most of the rooms (I've stayed here several times) are scenic, unless you're facing the rail yards.

There is a light rail system outside the hotel that takes you to points beyond downtown, so that you don't have to deal with parking or traffic.

And that brings me to my one caveat: the rail system. If you get a room too low to the ground facing the ocean, you may have troubles sleeping because of not only the light rail but the freight trains (the great offender) that come through the area regularly.

If at all possible, snatch yourself one of the rooms on the higher floor and enjoy a little more quiet and a better view of downtown.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors and try and get away from the rail yards. The ocean view is nice on one si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Steiger,

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor submission. We're thankful you've taken the time to outline all that you enjoyed about our hotel as well as your sentiments regarding train noise in our neighborhood. I'm very pleased to know you feel we're doing so much so well, and know our team will feel the same when we celebrate your positive feedback with them. Additionally, rest assured we are in complete agreement with you related to the challenges that come with having a train line nearby, so much so that nearly two years ago our General Manager supported a considerable community effort to have a quiet zone implemented, voted on and authorized by local officials. We are told that by late Spring of this year all of downtown San Diego will benefit greatly from the reduction of train horn noise. I'd be happy to provide more detailed information related to this much anticipated project, if you were interested.
Thank you again for your input and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to future opportunities to provide you with the experience you've come to expect while in residence at the Omni San Diego Hotel.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
tkermabon@omnihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed recently at Omni in downtown SD/gaslamp. We usually stay in La Jolla, but wanted to try staying DT this trip. Check in was easy, did it online 24 hours ahead of time. when i arrived, i was surprised not to see my name on the board with my key, when i went up to the front desk, it was because they were waiting to get the room that i had requested! it was a great room and still checked in early relative to other hotel check-in times. room was wonderful, had a great view over SD bay and DT. front desk service was great. small but nice pool on the 6th floor. hotel is extremely clean. We've stayed at Ritz, 4 seasons before, and the service here was on par if not better than those hotels. Location is great -- far enough away from all the bars and restaurants, yet still close enough to walk to them. and petco is across the street. Definitely will stay here again on our next trip to SD.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear "golferinsf,"

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your recent review on TripAdvisor. We were thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay. I am especially pleased that your online Check-In was efficient and that your experience with our associates upon your arrival was warm and welcoming. That is our goal and it is rewarding to hear we achieved it.

We are hopeful of a future opportunity to serve you at the Omni San Diego Hotel.

Sincerely,
Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Omni San Diego is a *big* hotel with many floors, towering over the rail lines on the southern edge of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter and even dwarfing the adjacent Petco Park baseball stadium (the upper levels of which are connected by private skybridge from an upper-floor lobby of the hotel). In fact the whole precinct seemed to be a mecca for baseball fans, Petco Park being the San Diego Padres' home ground.

The proximity of the rail lines makes it very easy to get to the hotel by public transportation. I arrived on the Pacific Surfliner from LA at San Diego Union Station (the one with the famous 'Santa Fe' sign), jumped on the Orange Line trolley - a short train of light-rail vehicles running on railway tracks - and no more than ten or fifteen minutes later arrived at the Gaslamp Quarter stop which is virtually on the hotel's doorstep. Oddly, there is no train to the airport, but it was easy to get a cab there from the hotel's front entrance.

The Gaslamp Quarter itself (the old downtown of New Town San Diego) has been reinvented in recent years as a glossy old-worlde restaurant/bar precinct seemingly popular with tourists and locals alike. If you become tired of eating out and crave fresh food, fruit and vegetables etc., there's the Ralphs grocery store a few blocks' walk to the north-west between Market and G Streets which the helpful front desk staff at the Omni directed me to.

The immediate neighbourhood seems very neat, clean, orderly and safe (with the usual sensible precautions of course). It may be a tad glossy for travellers who are looking for a grittier urban experience, but heck, that's the Gaslamp!

My room was on one of the upper levels and faced south. The view from the compact private balcony was pretty stupendous: the hotel pool directly below, then the rail ines (which I never tired of watching being something of a trainspotter - both the trolleys and 'heavy' freight trains run through here). Then, past the Hilton hotel and dockyard areas, the magnificent San Diego Bay and the Coronado Bridge. The changes in the view as the sun rises and sets are really something to see.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom well-appointed and the decor conservative and tasteful. I didn't notice any significant noise from within the hotel. Although other reviewers have commented on noise from the trains, it just blended into the general ambience for me and I slept well.

The Omni struck me as pretty good value (incidentally, I got complimentary morning coffees through joining the loyalty program when booking online). It's certainly not 'budget' accommodation, and is more a business class-type place, but I'd stay there again.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Family Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.