We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   641 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Of course we were pretty much just sleeping there, so we weren't looking for a place to hang out. We found our room to be very clean as well as the exterior of the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. Really only dealt with the front desk, as we rarely saw other workers. I know they were there because the cleaning was done.

The hotel building is pretty old, and if you get a top floor, and easily get motion sickness, just be prepared. It felt like the building was swaying and I often felt nauseous.

It would have been nice if the king suite had a door between the living area and bedroom. With the layout we had, it easily could be done, but would be a disadvantage to anyone staying on the sofa bed to use the bathroom.

My only complaint is breakfast. It is the same diabetic nightmare over and over. I chose this hotel because they advertised a hot breakfast each morning, I'm thinking scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage. It is nothing more than a continental with waffle irons. As a diabetic, I try to watch the carb and sugar intake. They only thing I could eat there was cold hard boiled eggs. After two days of that we went to the cafe up the street, I needed meat.

The hotel did seem to be an 11-12 min drive from every thing. Zoo- 12 min, downtown 11-min, Qualcomm 12-min. Beach was 10 min.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    148
    80
    51
    25
See reviews for
236
71
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this La Quinta while i was visiting my son. We drive from Arizona and got into town early called the hotel and they let us check in early! Thanks a lot for that because i had small children traveling with me. Location is great close to the zoo, Seaworld,mall, beaches and downtown. The front desk staff was very accommodating! The young lady who checked us in Shay, happened to check us out as well and she was very friendly. She had great customer service! The pool was nice as well! We will stay at this location when we visit San Diego again! Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was very happy with the room. Very clean and quiet. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. Convenient location for Seaworld, Zoo, Balboa Park, The Mission, USS Midway, Coronado, etc. Nothing was more than about 15 minutes drive away. Breakfast was waffles, toast, bagels, bananas, apples, cereal, hard boil eggs, juice and coffee - could have used some yogurt at least. Lots of nearby restaurants a couple minutes drive away, but would be a pretty long walk. Parking was $8, and tight if you are stuck with a spot in the garage. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

OK if you have a pet and you have a good back! There are many, many hotels in S.D. that are just as close to tourist locations as this one. We live in SD and had to move out for termite tenting with our pet, we were near the elevators and the breakfast rm (crowded), so we had many noisy people walking a few inches away from our windows to the rm. Oh, and ventilation was not so good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staying in San Diego near the Zoo or Sea World - this motel is handy. It is easy to navigate about this city and this La Quinta is so convenient. They also takes pets at NO charge! The breakfast is an extended breakfast - though wish they had yogurts as may do! They also have an outside pool and hot tub! Nice place for the value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Old and seedy. Badly in need of ...everything. Cramped parking, aging rooms, musty smells. Fuzzy television reception, a toilet that my husband had to fix a musty odor in the room. Bad experience overall and we will be looking elsewhere next time we spend a few days in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Address: 641 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
La Quinta Mission Valley
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.