We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice familiar hotel, good situated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   840 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #92 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Cologne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice familiar hotel, good situated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

close to the gaslamp district you'll find this very charming hotel. not too many rooms and very helpful team, they answer you all the questions and really care about their guests.
The rooms are a little bit old-fashioned and dark but clean. Breakfast is very simple, serve in plastic cups/plates. The breakfast room is very small and not very inviting to stay there. Construction of walls very thin, quite load from neighbour rooms and street. room doors don't close entirely, therefore also noise from outside. I would recommend this hotel for its location but I think its too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Ms. Cologne,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and convenient location. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are constantly using the guest comments in improving our standards. In regards to the hotel price, our rates are based on the market demand and are competitive to other downtown hotels.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
33
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Location is good, staff were friendly, breakfast was good. But room was humid and small with thin walls. You can hear everthińg you neighbor does... It was cold during our stay, the heater was loud and cold. They should replace the air conditioner. Overall, we won't go back...

Room Tip: Double bed is only good for one person, don't put more than 2 people in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Abby60763,

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear about your room experience. Your comments have been reviewed with our management and necessary changes in the Preventive Maintenance program has been in place for all the guestrooms.
If you choose to give us another chance, please let our Front Office team know of any concerns during your stay so that we may resolve the issue immediately. Perhaps we could have moved you to a quieter location within the hotel. If you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly at 619-234-6877 or via e-mail at bwcgi@sbcglobal.net. and I will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thank you.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

I stayed with my wife and two boys. Rooms are small, but well appointed and comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This place was so cute - not your usual hotel. The parking was separated from the rooms with a grove of bamboo and lots of potted plants, with teak table and chairs outside the room. The rooms had hard wood floors although a bit small. Breakfast was good and everyone working there was very nice. We were very pleased with the location so close to Balboa park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Traveler0,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
It is great that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the surrounding areas.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

After travelling for four weeks through the United States, we didn't want a to end a great stay in this country in a cheap city hotel. So, we decided to book a Best Western Plus, thinking that the plus meant that this is a upgrade on the usual Best Western standard. During the four weeks in the USA we had used a lot of Best Western hotels and that resultated in a promotion in their awards programme from Gold to Platinum. When we arrived the Platinum status wasn't in their booking, so I had to ask for the welcome-packet for Platinum members. Next, we didn't get the upgrade in the room that usually belongs to a Platinum status in a loyalty programme. The room we got, was small, but clean. The breakfast was average and the hotel didn't have a pool. So, we could not see what was "plus" in this hotel. We have stayed in much better Best Western hotels during our trip that didn't have the "plus-status". Finally, we wanted a late check-out at 5.30 pm, because our plane left San Diego at 8 pm that night. We had to pay a charge of $75 for keeping the room for another couple of hours, although one of the benefits the Best Western Rewards programme offers to Platinum members is a late check-out upon availabilty. And the room was available, because the hotel was virtually empty the day we left San Diego. So in all, a bit disappointing. The member of staff was the only real plus to the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn. He was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y_Chen, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear Willdejag,

Thank you again for your comments and I do apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered at our property. Our goal is to make sure each and every one of the guests is happy and well taken care during the stay. As soon as I have received your feedback I personally sent you a detailed response regarding this matter by e-mail.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions at 619-234-8477 or via e-mail at bwcgi@sbcglobal.net.
Y Chen
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

This place is a find! Clean rooms, reasonable parking, free breakfast. It's not a frills place, nut clean and comfortable. I would stay here again no question. Friendliest staff I've encountered in the last five years!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were able to check in early, upon our request, which was wonderful! The room was a bit small, but very clean. There is no fan in the bathroom, which was very odd. The bathroom was so small, I could barely get in and close the door. We enjoyed the roof top balcony area. It was very nice. Parking lot was a bit dirty with trash etc... Located across the street from a market, which was convenient. Just a short walk from downtown and gaslamp.

When we asked front desk for dining recommendations, she was unable to provide us with a clear answer. She replied with something like "well, there's hundreds of restaurants in the area". It was more difficult than it should have been to get her to suggest a single place. Same thing when we asked what beach to go to and how to get there. Either she wasn't familiar with the area or she really was overwhelmed with all of the choices...

We were in town for a wedding and upon returning from the wedding that evening, there were two parties going on in the hotel. One was two doors down from us on the ground floor and the other was directly above us and two doors down from that upstairs. I quieted the people next to us on my own, but could not get the people upstairs to stop yelling and rough housing. I called night audit who said he did not hear anything when he was outside in the parking lot. Period. End of discussion, I guess. I told him it was 2AM and I needed to sleep, and asked if he could move our room farther from them if he wasn't going to quiet them down. While he was bringing keys to our room, I was outside and the party was throwing things off of their balcony into the parking lot. We were never offered a discount or even an apology for this disruption!

TIP: If you stay here, request an upstairs room- the walls/floors are paper-thin and you can hear EVERYTHING if someone is above you!

Probably will not stay if we ever return to San Diego. This was our first trip to this city. Upon walking around etc, I would probably take a look at the Days Inn next door...

Room Tip: Request upstairs, paper-thin walls/floors can hear everything in room above you if on ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn

Address: 840 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.