We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Front Desk staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Villa Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Villa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Villa Inn
5142 West Point Loma Blvd., San Diego, CA 92017 (Ocean Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 269 hotels in San Diego
AZ City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Front Desk staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Service: Ocean's Villa's employees CARE about customers and give extra efforts to make a stay relaxing. Special note is Staff Member Lydia, who is always cheerful, respectful and professional. She efficiently and accurately helps all even when super busy. She remembers us, long time repeat customers and our pups which is an admirable trait demonstrating retention appreciation and guaranteeing repeat business especially in the slow times as we usually visit S.D in winter off season. We always clean our rooms before we depart as we are happy to make employee's tasks easier because we are treated so well by front office staff, Matt and Robert were great too. Thanks to Ocean Villa Inn for empowering Leaders who make your establishment stand out from competitors.

Location: steps from an off leash dog beach, which emits a pungent doggy odor, ha, but is great if you have furry loved ones

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and especially for recognizing our amazing staff...we think they're amazing too! It's great folks like you that make us want to work harder and do better. Hope to see you all very soon!

Kind regards,

Jennifer Baker
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    21
    18
    26
See reviews for
42
73
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TEMPE
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
453 helpful votes 453 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ocean Villa, from top to bottom, is dog-friendly, so not surprisingly, you get a lot of dogs there. That means the dogs may bark when they encounter one another. On this trip we did not bring our dogs, because we wanted to see what the place was like without the distraction. We would definitely go back.

The room was a decent size and faced the marsh and dog beach beyond. Our second-floor room had a deck that is big enough so you can go out and enjoy a drink and look at the view. Just a wonderful place to relax. First floor units have patios, but I'm betting that most of them have only a decent ground-level view of the marsh and sand -- nothing like what you get on the second floor.

The beds were older and kind of soft, but afforded us a decent night's sleep. The room contained a fridge which (unlike the refrigerator in any other hotel room we have been in) blasted us with cold air when we opened it. The bathroom was well-kept, but the shower walls needed a good scrub-down. Also, the ventilating fan in our bathroom did not work. I mentioned it to the desk clear when we left, and she said they would get right on it.

Speaking of the desk clerk, they were friendly and helpful. There is a small pool outside the office. We didn't go in, but it was clean. Breakfast in the morning was heavy on carbs, but with a decent selection.

The location is good. If you want to go to Dog Beach, it's just a walk through the marsh and you're there. To get to the main part of Ocean Beach is a pretty decent walk or a very short drive. You just have to understand that parking at Ocean Beach can be a real challenge.

We'll go back -- with our dogs next time. We love the location, and that view is wonderful. It may not be squeaky clean all the time, but the good far oetweighs the bad.

Room Tip: Second floor, for the view from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
All of us at the OVI are very happy that you will be returning! We truly respect and appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our INN. We look forward to your return and can't wait to meet your furry family!

Kind regards,

Jennifer Baker
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The room was very large and comfortable, it had a walking closet integrated with bathroom. It had a big balcony facing the beach. The staff was nice and the hotel was well located. The hotel was dog friendly and we were scared that the hotel was dirty or very noisy. However, we did not see any dogs and/or hear any noises. Very good hotel, I would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the review and we hope to see you back at the OVI soon!

Kind regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Yes this hotel is right on dog beach but the infections and disease you expose yourself and dogs to might be consideration to find a cleaner rental - FYI, there are many listed on VRBO (Ocean Beach). People let their dogs run freely outside & staff/management do not enforce dog & people safety - ppl do not monitor their dog's activities or pick up their dog's feces- the grassy dog run is saturated with urine, feces and some kind of small worms. One person's large dog kept barking at our room's screen door then pushed it in to get at our 2 small dogs, luckily we saw that and my husband grabbed that large dog and threw it in the run- we should have thrown it out in the front parking lot for management to deal with. We were there last week and our backs are still hurting from sleeping on the stiff, hard 'new' mattress. The people upstairs were especially noisy and one group next to us were pounding the walls all night - VERY thin walls and ceiling here. Family rooms are wayyyy overpriced for what you get. Plus: breakfasts are better than in past.

Room Tip: Go test several room's mattresses before you get booked into that room - you will regret it if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff of the Ocean Villa Inn we would like to convey our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in our dog run. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are working diligently to correct this problem. We express our heartfelt apologies and hope that you give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stay here 3x a year with my 3 large dogs at this 2 star Inn. Christmas is great at OVI as the weather is usually wonderful in San Diego. The beds, sheets, towels are a bit worn and I bring my own sheets and towels. The bed spreads get washed after every use because the dogs are allowed to lay on them and they do get full of sand. The floors are tile and they'll give you a broom/dustpan to sweep the sand if you want. They now provide a doggy gift basket at check in and dog towels at the dog wash on the side of the Inn. The price is great value....although I expect an increase after the renovations. Many restaurants in the area have patios that allow dogs and offer water and doggy menus (grilled burgers or chicken). See you there!

Room Tip: The studios allow dogs, but there is no dog run there. With Dogs? stay down stairs at the large end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Villa Inn. The rooms were serviceable with tile floors for your dogs. A great dog wash area and a fenced dog run area behind the ground floor units. The beds need some upgrade and were very used in our room. The best feature of this dog friendly hotel is it's location. It is right on Dog beach. The staff is friendly and willing to help in any way they can. This hotel is built for people with dogs.

Room Tip: The bottom floors have tiled floors and a dog run in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are traveling with your pet and need a clean place to stay this is it! No, it isn't a fancy 5 star hotel but it is clean and the people are nice. They are located right on dog beach which is the best part. We have only stayed here once but we hope to return with our "fur" children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villa Inn

Address: 5142 West Point Loma Blvd., San Diego, CA 92017
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villa Hotel San Diego
Ocean Hotel San Diego
Ocean San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Villa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.