We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #103 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I chose the Fairfield Inn for it's location; easy to drive to and navigate back and forth to without being in Downtown traffic. The Hotel is easy to find and the location is good because it's near the I-5. Lei at check-in could not have been nicer. Very pleasant & friendly and he was very helpful to those Guests calling the Front Desk & those Guests waiting for assistance. I had one of the rooms you enter from the outside, so not sure if the interior rooms are any different. The room was very nice, not really large, however adequate for the one night. Everything was clean and working. The new shower offers the removable hand held shower head, so that is always great. Those rooms have a very small balcony overlooking the courtyard and fountain. SO, with that said, if you don't mind noisy guests and children, then those rooms are OK. In the future, I will ask for a room as far away from the Courtyard and Fountain as possible. Beginning at 7am on Sunday, all I heard was kids yelling, running, playing & adults having loud conversations & that was with my balcony door closed. Unfortunately, other guests can be grossly inconsiderate & rude & think it's OK to let their kids run up and down the hallway from 7am to 10am. I tried to sleep in on Sunday, however, I was awakened at 7am by loud, inconsiderate guests & children in the hallways and on the courtyard. I concluded that the walls are very thin too.
Other than lousy guests with no manners, the Fairfield Inn is a good place to stay. Rate for booking last minute was good @ $118.00.

Room Tip: I suspect the Interior Rooms will be quieter than the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    93
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
45
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can't explain away the few negative reviews. We liked the shuttle, we never had obnoxious neighbors, and they put us where we requested on the ground floor. But I can say we have been most happy here. The staff is superb, the rooms are clean and classy, and the location is within walking distance of Old Town. It is close to the I-5 and not far from the airport. And then of course there's that combination deli and liquor store right across the street (the deli offerings are limited, but the liquor side is well stocked).

We did think their breakfast a bit skimpy. As we recall, the main hot-breakfast offering was fresh cook-yourself waffles. Perhaps we're spoiled by other, cheaper hotels that offer sausages and scrambled eggs as well.

Room Tip: The hallways are rather long, so we asked for one close to the elevator. That gets us close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel was recently converted and renovated but still maintains its essential elements. Its location is perfect--2 blocks from the freeway in one direction and 2 blocks from Old Town in the other. Just far enough from Old Town for quiet and privacy. The rooms are very comfortable and also quiet, and nicely furnished, but the bathrooms and tub are small due to the original floor plan. The lobby is well decorated and the staff is accommodating. The paved central courtyard and swimming pool/hot tub area is less than charming. The free breakfast in the morning is good. There is a fee to park in the parking garage but there is usually plenty of free parking on the street. Mission Bay, Sea World, downtown and the Gaslamp District are all a 5-10 drive away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Reviews previously written about this establishment conviced us to stay for our spring mini-vation. The location is great as far as proximity to the zoo and other attractions, also minutes away from d/town San Diego.
The unfortunate experience is about the room at the hotel. After requesting a room on an elevated floor, we were assigned a room at ground level. To make the case worse, the neibourghing room was occupied by some unconsiderate individual who was making phone calls early (5:30-6:00) and loud enough to keep us awake. Complaints were made at the front desk, but we did not insist. Overall,a disappointment as a place to stay for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Make sure you will get the type of roomyou are asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This newly renovated location is the perfect choice for those of us that just want to go "walkabout" for a few days and enjoy the "Old Town" atmosphere. Situated right on Old Town's main street, you can walk just a few short blocks to the best Mexican fare to be found here. The Old Town Cafe and Coyote restaurant are area favorites. There is a complimentary airport shuttle, but be aware they do not operate between noon and three. Freddy and Alberto at the front desk were very accommodating, and the rooms and common areas were clean and well maintained. A liquor/convenience store is directly across the street and the pool and spa was adequate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights and had no problems with noise; we were upgraded into a small suite; the presentation of morning breakfast left something to be desired but the variety was good and tasty. Best of all, I left my computer mouse in the room and left town and the chaps on duty were responsive to my phone calls and gave me progress report. Mouse arrived at my home in fine working order. Internet speed seemed to be rather good compared to some of the Fairfield Inns.
We didn't need to use the shuttle but we enjoyed a leisurely walk around Old Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 8:38 pm at the curb ready to be picked up by the airport shuttle they advertise on their site. Hotel says shuttle service ended at 8:30 sorry, cab is the only option. Rooms are mini sized, but very clean as it was newly baptized a Marriott property. When I discussed the shuttle situation with the front desk the next morning they indicated the shuttle service ran until 9. They were going to discuss paying for the cab with the MOD, never heard a word back from them. Sadly errors in the shuttle schedule make it dangerous to plan to stay here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town

Address: 3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the culture and history of Old Town, this charming Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides the traveler with an escape from reality and the opportunity to experience the true birth place of California. Inspired by a historic Spanish Mission, this San Diego hotel provides refreshing accommodations with Marriott’s renowned service at an excellent value. We provide you with just what you need, and skip what you don't, so travel is easy and productive. Take advantage of our complimentary breakfast in our breakfast room or under our covered patio. Our convenient location provides you easy access to the Convention Center, San Diego Gaslamp, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park and over 70 miles of San Diego's most famed beaches. Experience something new in Old Town- Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.