We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #103 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Clean and nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed this place. This hotel is different than most Fairfield's I've stayed at in the past. There is an interior courtyard with fountains, tables and chairs, and a pool area. The hotel looks like it was built quite a while ago, but was recently renovated and updated. It has a lot of charm, and really makes the most of the beautiful San Diego weather with the outdoor space.
The room was clean and nice, and the bed was very comfortable. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the pool. There is parking under the building for a fee, but it is low clearance, so if you have an SUV it may not work. The location is very convenient- it is right off of the freeway, and walking distance from old town attractions. Breakfast is included, but we didn't try it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    93
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
45
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Or
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've had bad experiences at Fairfield Inns in the past, see East Rutherford, but I was very happy with this hotel. It is newly renovated from a Holiday Inn Express, which is how my GPS still sees it, and it shows that they've done recent work. We stayed here bookend-ing the Labor Day weekend.

The reception area was standard for this brand of hotel. We were at first told our room wasn't ready when we arrived around 12:00pm. We were offered a different room, facing the street, if we wanted one immediately, and they offered to hold our luggage. I declined this, but as we waited in the lobby devising our plan for the day, the front desk made a couple calls to have the room status verified. Happily the room was ready, and we could unload our luggage directly.

The rooms we had, 315 and 317 respectively, were identical two king rooms. They had mini-fridges, microwaves, and mini balconies. The balconies were not big enough for a chair, but they did give a good view of the pool, so we could see how busy it was before going down. The balconies also gave a good view of the fireworks over Seaworld (a Summer only event). The beds and pillows were nice, and the bathroom was clean (bathroom cleanliness is a big issue for me).

The pool was relatively small compared to the size of the hotel, but this was only a problem on Labor Day itself. I would imagine the place is packed on weekends, but we also used the pool on Tuesday and we were the only ones there.

The breakfast area was small compared to the size of the hotel, but again I imagine this is only a problem on weekends. Again on Labor Day, the breakfast area was packed, but on Tuesday there was ample space. The breakfast options were standard continental, with three waffle makers and frozen Jimmy Dean sandwiches (also a microwave to warm said Jimmy Dean sandwiches).

We used the garage each night we were here. There was available street parking each night on the blocks directly against the hotel. However, for ease of accessibility, the garage was our best option. The entrance to the garage has a peak in the driveway, so be sure to approach it at an angle if you're in a sedan. Also, the spaces in the middle are extremely tight. The spaces around the outside can be significantly larger, with the best spaces along the south wall. There were a few single spaces as well, protected by pillars, but these were generally full.

There is of course lots of places to eat in this area, and a happening night life. Generally, you shouldn't need a car once you arrive, if you don't want to leave the area. The hotel also offers a shuttle to Seaworld which covers the non-Summer park hours well. However, during the Summer you could easily miss the shuttle, which explains the number of taxis waiting around Seaworld.

Overall, this was a very good hotel for us. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and the staff. The hotel photos are very accurate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel - located a couple of short blocks from the Old Town area of San Diego - just enough out of the way to stay out of the night life in/outside of Old Town.

We are normally Marriott guests - so this is one not much different than other Fairfields -- amenities are basically the same, and our room was clean and in full working order. This hotel is not very big - but cute, very tipical of the architecture of the area.

There is indoor parking at the hotel (for a daily rate). There is street parking - but it's very tight - and you need to pay attention to the parking signs and the color indications on the curbs (ie. red means no parking).

Room Tip: Hotel has both indoor and outdoor entrance rooms - so ask for the type that you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while in town for a baseball game. First, the grounds are beautiful. There is such a sense of peace while walking around the hotel. Some people prefer the bustle of the city. I am happy to be off the beaten path a little!
You could walk into Old Town which is very convenient for dinner and some light shopping. While we were there we went to the zoo (VERY quick drive and easy to get to). There was laundry on the premises which was helpful as we had been travelling already for about a week when we arrived here.
Breakfast is the usual continental fare, with fresh waffles (always a hit). Front desk was helpful with maps and information. Check in/out was smooth as possible. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We requested a roll-away, and while it was snug, it worked with the two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a great time at the Fairfield Inn in Old Town. While it's not in the middle of all of the action in downtown San Diego, it's in a safe, quiet neighborhood and is very close to Old Town bars, restaurants, and cultural sites. It's also only about a half mile walk to the trolley, which can take you into downtown San Diego. The hotel is right off the freeway, which makes it very easy to get to via car. Considering the proximity to the freeway and to some bars in the area, it is very quiet. We had no trouble sleeping.

The room was clean and spacious; however, we did feel that despite having the air conditioning on all day, that the room was a bit damp. That is probably my only complaint about the hotel. The room was otherwise great-- the bed was comfortable, the blackout shades really let us sleep in when we wanted to, and the toiletries were high quality!

The staff was friendly and offered us a few suggestions about places to visit in the area. They were also kind enough to inform us that if we didn't want to pay the $15 per day parking fee for garage parking that we could park anywhere on the street for free, because there are not many parking restrictions in the area. We stayed for 3 nights and never had trouble finding a spot right next to the hotel.

The breakfast was standard continental breakfast fare. The pool was a standard hotel pool. The facade of the hotel was cute and had Old Town charm. Otherwise, it was a good stay and in line with what you would expect at a Marriott chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked our room through the Marriott website and chose the Cafe Coyote Package which included continental breakfast, gift certificate to Cafe Coyote in Old Town, and what they called "self-parking". We misunderstood and thought this meant parking in the hotel's underground garage. We parked on the street which was not a problem; however, Marriott's marketing of this package was deceiving in my opinion and I think we overpaid for this room so call first to ask questions before booking. Also we would not recommend the Cafe Coyote at this time. We have enjoyed this restaurant in the past but feel it has gone downhill. On the positive side, the hotel staff was very nice and rooms were very clean. Nice being in Old Town and also close to Mission Hills, Hillcrest, University Heights, downtown San Diego and Balboa Park. Be aware that this hotel does not have in-room safes despite what it says on Marriott website.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing courtyard and fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a Beautiful California Inn. Maybe 4 miles north of downtown, close to the 5 and 8 freeways. Newly renovated, well maintained. Friendly staff, great location. Good value. Close to old town restaurants and park. Very comfortable beds, really accommodating staff

Room Tip: We stayed near the street...but it was still quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town

Address: 3900 Old Town Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Inn Old Town)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#45 Family Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the culture and history of Old Town, this charming Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego Old Town provides the traveler with an escape from reality and the opportunity to experience the true birth place of California. Inspired by a historic Spanish Mission, this San Diego hotel provides refreshing accommodations with Marriott’s renowned service at an excellent value. We provide you with just what you need, and skip what you don't, so travel is easy and productive. Take advantage of our complimentary breakfast in our breakfast room or under our covered patio. Our convenient location provides you easy access to the Convention Center, San Diego Gaslamp, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park and over 70 miles of San Diego's most famed beaches. Experience something new in Old Town- Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Diego Old Town
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Old Town
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.