We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12032 Scripps Highlands Dr, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #70 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel isn't glamorous and it doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles. But it is comfortable, clean and conveniently located and the staff is very hospitable. We were visiting San Diego for a wedding in Escondido, CA but were able to visit Del Mar, la Jolla and downtown San Diego - all within a 20-30 min drive from the hotel.

And while there isn't a restaurant in the hotel there is a Chili's next door and a gas station next door in case you're in a dire situation.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a great, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings, and thank for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We aspire to meet the high expectations travelers have come to expect of Marriott, and we're glad to know we met that goal. If you're ever in the San Diego area again, we'd love to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    55
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
18
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First I want to say that the customer service was fantastic! The room was great and the atmosphere was great. We really enjoyed our time and of course the breakfast was great. There were some hiccups, like the elevator broke down and the bathroom sink backed up and was noisy. But overall experience was really good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on our breakfast and quality accommodations. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.
Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I just returned from a recent 6-day stay at this property. My mom and I traveled together and we both used Marriott points and a free night to book our stay there. The staff was very accomodating with keeping our reservation all together, even with using free nights/points, etc - there was a special note at the desk about us. We were very impressed with the breakfast staff - they worked hard and were friendly with us. The breakfast was exceptional! The quiche and skillet were delicious 'different' options, than most free hotel breakfasts have. It is nice to have the fresh fruit and coffee in the lobby at all times. The convenience of being right off the highway was great, and we never heard any highway noise while sleeping. I am very picky about cleanliness of hotel rooms, and I walked freely barefoot in the room and was not grossed out at all. :)

A few small minor issues: one weekend morning there wasn't any hot water for a shower, but it was ok after waiting about a half hour (we weren't in a hurry that day), the walls near the desk in the room were paper thin - I could hear everything our neighbors were saying to one another, and the one day I wanted to use the hot tub, the jets were not working. However, the good things far outweighed the bad, so I am still giving an excellent review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
sjwinkle,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 6 day trip to San Diego. I'm glad you felt well taken care of and comfortable using your well deserved Marriott Rewards points. I apologize that you did run into a few minor issues but I am glad to know that they did not effect your stay negatively. You were able to experience the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff but we are also quick to resolve any issues should they arise and I thank you for bringing these to our attention.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had to house 16 girls competing in a local Color Guard competition. The room configuration (king bed + pull out sofa bed) was perfect for four girls in each room. Rooms are new and very nicely decorated and appointed. Hotel is only three floors, so you are all pretty close together for safety.
Free full hot breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi made everyone happy.
Front desk staff is exceptional. They all could qualify as General Managers :).

Room Tip: All rooms were good. I was next to the elevator and didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
131Joanne131,

I am very glad to hear that you and your group had a great stay! We enjoy working with teams, tournaments, and competitions which brings out the very best in our staff. It is also good to hear that the room design was pleasing and able to accommodate your group comfortably.

Thank you for complimenting our staff, it's great to know when thier abilities are fully recognized. I will make sure this review is shared with them and thank you for sharing it with us and everybody else who reads it.

Sincerely,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Spring Hill Suites. I was part of a church retreat but have stayed here in the past. The staff was awesome and responsive to our group. The location is great because of the restaurants and freeway access. The room was very clean and quiet. We travel to San Diego several times a year and I look forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
C D,

Thank you for staying with us again and we enjoyed hosting you and your retreat very much. Our sales manager Carly deserves much of the credit for the success of your retreat. Hopefully you are able to visit us for a third time soon!

Please don't hesitate to contact Carly or myself for any future accommodations.

Sincerely,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was part of a Church Men's Retreat arranged by Carly McCormick (Sr Sales Manager) who made the accommodations for our group and meeting space.

Very professional and welcoming. Thanks for exceeding our expectations.

Room Tip: Chiles, Wendys, KFC all in walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
john29079,

Your church group was a pleasure to work with and we are so glad you decided to stay with us. Carly is one of the reasons we have and maintain such great business relationships with groups like yours.

Hopefully we get to see you guys again very soon!

Warm Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was part of a men's church advance arranged by Carly McCormick (Senior Area Sales Manager) at this property. Carly was very professional and helpful in all aspects of planning the event, and ensuring the needs of our group were accomodated. The staff were very friendly, hospitable, and responsive. I have been a Marriott Rewards Gold member for over 20 years, and have stayed at lots of Marriott properties globally. The location, cleanliness, accomodations, and staff was outstanding. Thanks so much to Carly and the local service team for doing an awesome job helping to make our church men's advance a very positive experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
RonN991,

Thank you for sharing your recent trip to San Diego with us and I am glad you had such a positive experience. Carly and the rest of our associates certainly know how to provide the top notch service our guests expect which is something I am most proud of. Your compliments are wonderful to hear, especially from a seasoned traveller and Marriott Gold Elite Member.

Your group was great to work with and we hope to host your next visit to San Diego.

Warm Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12032 Scripps Highlands Dr, San Diego, CA 92131
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel offers 137 Marriott studio suites each with living, sleeping and a kitchen area with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Our all-suite San Diego hotel offers wireless high-speed Internet, daily complimentary breakfast, outdoor pool and much more including the newly redesigned inspired lobby and public spaces. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Springhill Suites by Marriott - San Diego / Rancho Bernardo / Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.