We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly, Atten to Detail Lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12032 Scripps Highlands Dr, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 270 hotels in San Diego
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family Friendly, Atten to Detail Lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The property is well maintained and is an excellent location. For persons travelling "leisure", the location is excellent since this property is central to San Diego county, just 15mins south and you are downtown, 15min north and you are in the Oceanside area. Access to expressway is easy and then you are on your way. Business travel - excellent provided there is no sports activity coinciding with your stay.

Stayed over the holiday, after Christmas through New Year. This hotel was 'ground zero' for many teams and families, which this property is well suited for, however this large occupancy over-whelmed the breakfast staff as they did not keep up. During "normal" times the breakfast is well done.

The property is what you will expect given the Marriott brand. Do however INSPECT the extra bedding/blankets as during this stay we had to turn in 2 blankets, #1 for dirt, #2 for an unknown "biological" stain. Not sure if housekeeping cleans the extra bedding which you will find in the closets - be sure to look it over if using. Eve. staff did replace (only after having to search for replacements).

Given this was a holiday period, management did not service rooms on New Year Day, however they did not discount the room price until challenged. While it was nice to recognize the employees, a full service hotel should not have to be asked to adjust the rate if full service is intentionally not provided (night manager did make an adjustment.)

Overall, good location - worth of consideration while staying in the area, just be cognizent of bedding and if "team' activity is scheduled for the area, be prepared since this location is geared toward family activity (good if traveling with family/team).

Rooms - request lower numbered rooms on any of the floors (1-15) as higher numbers are closer to expressway and the associated noise, along with enjoying the 4am garbage truck beeper at the adjacent Chillis restaurant, request a lower odd-numbered room on floor 3 or 4.

Room Tip: Lower, odd number, floor 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
RDGUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Thank you for noting the positive experiences about our hotel upkeep and location. Also, thank you for letting us know about the housekeeping issues. I can assure you that this is not our normal operation and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it further. We strive to deliver the cleanest rooms every day. When something falls short, we appreciate the opportunity to address the issue and take corrective action.

I apologize for the lack of communication around our service on New Years Day. We could have done more to inform our guests and provide more options for service. I was pleased to read that Kyle took care of you.

Please feel free to call me anytime at 858-635-5723.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    44
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
14
6
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family made a last minute decision to stay at this property when we learned our son's soccer tournament games at Scripps Ranch High School would run late Saturday night & start early Sunday morning so we opted for an overnight here versus driving back & forth to Oceanside. Between a beautifully appointed, pristine room, incredibly courteous & accommodating front desk staff and a ridiculously generous continental breakfast included with our stay, this was well worth our impromptu staycation! The free lollipops at check-in (& every time we walked in/out of the hotel) were a huge hit with our kids...really family friendly & conveniently located right off the freeway with several great restaurant choices within walking distance of the hotel! Really pleased with our experience...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Heather B,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short staycation with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and signature Chupa-Chups lolipops!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Overall, a pleasant stay. The staff was pleasant; the room clean. Easy distance to the airport. Small fridge, microwave handy for some. Hint: blow dryers are kept in the closet. The 24 hour fresh coffee and fruit were much appreciated on arrival.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Bassfish10,

Thank you for your review! As a senior reviewer, we can tell that you are an experienced traveler with an eye for detail. We are pleased that our 24 hour coffee and fruit hit the spot when you arrived. Also, thank you for noting that our staff was pleasant. We will definitely share these comments with them.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My sons took me to the Miramar Air Show on Saturday October 13. My two oldest grandsons got to go with us (the whole reason it was so great). They are almost 2 and almost 7 years old. We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Scripps Poway. The suite was perfect for us all. The young one slept great just around the bedroom wall from us. We loved the kitchenette, the breakfast, the pool and spa, and the restaurants right next door to the hotel. The beds were wonderful, the bathroom seemed all brand new, and everything worked perfect. Internet, Flat panel TV (two sets).

Room Tip: Tip the breakfast servers, they worked hard to please, and I doubt they get many tips when the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
PBBigBear,

Thank you so much for the positive comments about your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and many amenities while attending the Miramar Air Show.

We look forward to welcoming you and your grandsons back next year (or sooner)!

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our group of 24 stayed 4 nights and 5 days at the Springhill Suites Marriott over the Thanksgiving weekend. Our stay was a great experience and the staff is very helpful. They helped us with our Thanksgiving dinner in the meeting room, which the staff set up just for us. They made us feel at home, while traveling far away from ours. The rooms were very clean and were kept clean throughout the week. I would recommend small groups and large groups to stay here while traveling, this hotel will take care of you. If we travel to this part of the country again, we will be staying at the Springhill Suites Marriott of San Diego!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Davenport_WBball,

Thank you for your staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your group stay at our SpringHill Suites. We realize that it is tough to travel over the Thanksgiving Holiday but we are glad to hear that we helped make your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I live 3 miles away from this hotel and pass by it everyday on my way to work. I never thought I will spend 3 nights at this hotel, because why would I stay at a hotel that is only 3 miles away from my home?

Well, it turned out we need a place that is really close to my house for a few nights. About two weeks ago a termite inspector came over and showed me termite drops from my attic. My house needed to be tented for gassing the termites. We need a hotel really close to house for work, school, etc.

I used my Marriott points and booked 3-nights stay at this hotel. When we checked in (and through our stay) the staff were extremely friendly. We stayed at a room on the 1st floor. At first I was little worried about the noise from I-15 but it turned out the room was very quiet. The room was very nice with separate wash and shower area. I asked for a 2 double bed room and there was still a desk for my kids to do their homework (not a vacation after all). The hotel was very clean and well maintained.

The breakfast was very good. I went to the Residence Inn next door, their breakfast has fewer selections.

The hotel has a great location with easy access to I-15. Scripps Range village is within walking distance. You can also have a great walk by crossing the Scripps Poway Parkway and walk uphill to the neighbourhood. You will have great views once you are up there.

My family really liked this hotel! I think you will too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Gigabit,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. With 42 reviews in 16 cities, we can tell that you are a savvy traveler with an eye for detail! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and explored our beautiful local area while your house was tented. Hopefully the house is back to normal now but please keep us in mind for future needs for you or visiting relatives.

Regards,

Trent Selbrede, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a king suite with the whirlpool. Very comfortable. The front desk was very friendly at check in and helpful when I called and asked for more pillows. 'No problem, how many would you like, I will have those sent right out to you." and truly they were there in 5 minutes. Room was clean and had a frig, microwave and coffee maker as well as a dish clothe and paper plates and forks in the cupboard. "the market' by the front desk has little sundery items you may need as well as water, pop and snacks. You can just charge them to your room for convenience, a bit pricey but sometimes you just need cheezits'. Also they offer Paul Mitchell products for your shampoo and conditioner. It's a little thing but they add up to a big, we care about your stay in my book. By the way the lotion they leave is wonderful. The breakfast options are fantastic. Plenty of bread items as usual, but also, fresh fruit, eggs and ham and potatos one morning, eggs and sausage with waffles another. They have a very attentive attendent too. She was most helpful in keeping the stations well stocked and tidy. Although the hotel is bit off the beaten path, it's just off the freeway. It was 14 miles north of Seaworld and a bit farther from the Zoo. We had a rental car and no trouble getting to the hotel from the Zoo and to Seaworld the next day, it was only 20 minutes. There is a Chili's right next door that made a tasty and convenient dinner option too. I really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Randy R,

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay. We are indeed about 20 minutes from everything in San Diego and we are also central to both south county and north county. Be sure to check out the San Diego Zoo Safari Park that is 20 minutes north on your next visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway Hotel San Diego
Springhill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway Hotel
Springhill Suites San Diego
San Diego Springhill Suites
Address: 12032 Scripps Highlands Dr, San Diego, CA 92131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations completed October 2011! New Rooms, New Lobby! We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Springhill Suites by Marriott - San Diego / Rancho Bernardo / Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.