We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1865 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #58 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
South Dakota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in a 1 bedroom with 2 Queens. While the location certainly is not scenic it was quick to most everything we wanted to see. Shopping mall & several restaurants nearby (driving). The room was clean, staff were all friendly & room cleaned each day in a timely manner. Pool is good size and the pool area is nice. BBQ's outside for guest use. Exercise room looked nice but didn't use it. We all slept fine & didn't have any issues with noise (we were on the 4th floor not near stairs or elevator).

Breakfast is fairly extensive and was a great start to every morning. The evening meal is served Mon to Thurs with Salads and a main course being served from 6-7:30. Drinks if you want. My only comment (which I did visit with Staff about) is that the Hot food was not Hot. It was luke-warm at best for both breakfast & evening for any of the hot items. After a few days of that (yes I get the food is free) I stuck to make your own waffles & cold items. Otherwise the food all would have been fine and is a nice option for guests.

This hotel is a good value and overall we liked it very much. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write us such a great review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your comments for improvement. We are always trying to find new way to make our guests experience a better one. Look forward to seeing you again the next time your in town.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    192
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
333
37
15
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed out in the residence inn from its excellent rating and guest reviews. All hotel staff were very professional and made our stay an unforgettable experience. It was friendly, clean and relaxing.

Thank you so much to all the staff at the hotel for making my first visit to San Diego so wonderful. It was exactly what we were looking for. Would we recommend the residence inn hotel? YES!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I love to hear that you had a great time here at the Residence Inn. I will be showing my staff this review to our next meeting. The best part is that I get to thank all of my staff for such a great job they did. I’m so happy you had a great time with us. We can’t wait to see you the next time your in San Diego.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My friends and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend for a bachelorette party. The hotel was clean and served a decent enough free breakfast but all that was so not worth it. We realized that the staff who cleaned our room stole money and other valuable goods. Such a shame! We would never think that this would happen at a family friendly hotel....but nope...it did. I will never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Rubina M.,

Thank you for your review. However I understand that you encountered a situation that we take very serrious. I have checked all our records and asked all my employees that were working the dates of your stay, and no one was aware of anything missing from any of the rooms in your group. I would love to speak with you personaly to gather the details of the incident that occured so we can do an investigation to ensure this never happens; as we have never had this occur in the past do to our strict security process that we have in place. My direct phone line is (619)881-3615.

At Your Service,

Thom Mosher
General Manager
(619)881-3615
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The good:
Great size of room
Having fridge, microwave, a plus
Hearty breakfast
Nice staff
Clean
Pack n play for our toddler

Down sides:
Limited/tight parking and having to pay for it
Small pillows
Thin walls

All in all, I would stay again though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for writing us this review. I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff and I will see what we can do to improve and make your next stay even better.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

After driving four hours in L.A. traffic, Bryan Mertalto met us at the desk at 10:30 p.m. with a smile and welcome to the Residence Inn! He checked us in quickly, near our other relatives. Throughout our stay he greeted us, and asked if he could do anything for us. What great service! When we left he thanked us for staying with them, and encouraged us to stay there again, which we will! The rooms are nice, the free breakfast is OK, hey, it's free! The drinks were cold, as was the ice cream! The hotel is centrally located. The price was average for San Diego. The best part was the service. I wish EVERY hotel had a Bryan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I love hearing what a great job my staff is doing for our guests. I will make sure Bryan will receive great review at our next meeting. I’m very fortunate to have him as a part of our team. Thank you for the kind words and great review. We hope to see you the next time your in San Diego.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice rooms, nice breakfast, and the staff is always happy to help you and your needs. you also get the points using your marriott rewards. Fair prices. The best is after you´re tired from shopping..... the free drinks from 6 to 7:30 pm.

Room Tip: All good. Dont worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for writing us this review. I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you and your family will visit us again soon.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

First of all I would like to say that the staff at the hotel were pretty friendly and approachable. However we were in a room right by a gate and EVERYTIME someone went thru that darn gate, it sounded like it was coming through the room...which was consistent till 1am . We stayed there 2 nights and then we were moved to a much better room with a much better experience. The hotel is very well located & very clean. I thought the price was a little much and there were no gluten free options with the food other than eggs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMVGM, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Teampalmer_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very valued. Our team is always striving to better accommodate our guests needs. The information you provided has created opportunities for us to improve our hotel. We hope to see you again soon here in sunny San Diego, so that you can see the improvements we have made.

Kindly,

Jeri Vezina
Assistant General Manager
sandiegoagm@ih-corp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1865 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;