We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

In San Diego for one day and Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Pkwy. was the perfect place to stay for the night. While Residence Inns are set up for longer stays, this hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. For an added perk they have dinner as well as breakfast. Both were delicious. When returning to San Diego, we would not hesitate to stop and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We value our guest's comments, and were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    54
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
120
33
9
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Ruth is very attentive to our needs especially during the breakfast hours. Loved how Ruth made my mom feel at home and the conversation they had made it a more memoriable trip for my mother and myself. Ruth, has great customer service skills and we look forward to coming back because she welcomes us back here soon. The beds are comfortable and the front desk staff also very helpful. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites that have an added Kitchen is an awesome addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on breakfast. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkerville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just spent 9 nights at the Residence Inn. The perfect place for an extended stay in San Diego. The room was more like a small apartment then a hotel with lots of space and full size kitchen appliances including a dishwasher. Things we especially liked were the ample free parking, free internet, and the first class complimentary breakfasts that set the bar for all others. To our amazement the hotel even provided complimentary dinners on week nights that were an unexpected treat. The bed was excellent and everything was very clean and well kept. Staff were always friendly and more then helpful. Although the hotel isn't immediately next to any major attraction, it is about 20 to 30 minutes by freeway going south to downtown San Diego, the Zoo, Seaworld, the USS Midway and Balboa Park, while going north 20 minutes gets you to the Safari Park and going west 20 minutes gets you to the Beaches. If we return to San Diego we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review! We work very hard to maintain a culture of service and friendliness and we're thrilled that we were able to demonstrate that on your most recent trip. Hopefully we have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The room was very spacy, and had all of the amenities you could want or need for a long term stay. The best part of the hotel was the staff. The front desk were very helpful with any questions I had about deals (they sell discounted tickets to Legoland, Sea World, the zoo) and restaurants near by. Laura (front desk) gave us a detailed restaurant list and recommended this restaurant called Yanni's which ended out being really great and delicious. Maria (front desk) greeted us with a smile every time we passed by the desk, and Ruth (breakfast) had a clean breakfast area. The food was delicious! I will be coming back to this area in my future travels.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose one of the rooms facing the hill. No noise, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. I have passed along your wonderful feedback to my staff and they could not be happier to know that their hard work was recognized and that they were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope you stay with us again soon!

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews on this site and the proximity to San Diego sights. We stayed for three nights and were not disappointed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a double which was great for the little one to be in to sleep whilst us oldies were able to make a snack and watch tv without disturbing her.

Wifi was ok for us and we managed to skype the UK from our room a couple of times without issue; not the best signal but useable.

Chilli's is across the road but better is 1 mile up the hill where there is a Von's supermarket and a range of restaurants.

Time to the zoo and sea world was about 30 minutes (or less if you leave after the traffic) and a little less in the opposite direction to the safari park. We did all three on a combined ticket on separate days which worked out well and saved money. There is plenty to see at each but food and drink is dear so I suggest taking a picnic. I recommend the combined ticket if you like animals but if one day was enough for you then just go for the single.

My only minor issue with the hotel is he use of plastic knifes forks and plates at breakfast. When travelling on business, one reason I tend to choose Residence over say a Springfield suites is the use of crockery over plastic so I am not sure why this one was different. It is just so wasteful! Other than this, I recommend this hotel for both families and business.

Room Tip: Away from the lift is always good to get a quiet time. Always worth asking if there is a double room...
See more room tips
Green Features: As in my review, my only disappointment was the use of plastic knives, forks and plates at breakfast which are then binned. A terrible waste all for the lack of a little washing up.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. Hope you to see you again in the future.

Thanks Again,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. Was particularly impressed with the way each employee greeted me, regardless of what they were doing. Front desk was especially helpful with getting discount tickets to Legoland and the Zoo. Room was great, clean and spacious. Breakfast was good with sausage, eggs two ways, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cold cereal, waffles, and breakfast potatoes. Gas station right next door had the cheapest gasoline in the area. Right off I-15 with easy access to area attractions. It was 20 minutes to the zoo (going south) and 40 minutes to Legoland (going northwest). Great place to stay for a family vacation!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We were simply delighted to read the wonderful review you shared on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing service so memorable, and we're glad it showed. Thank you for the kind words. Thanks for staying with us.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Affordable, equipped CLEAN rooms that felt like home away from home. Excellent service, great grounds from basketball court to sitting around the fire, my family enjoyed it all. Great breakfast's that changed up from day to day and the staff was warm and accommodating! The 24 hr. gym was great too! I recommend any family to stay here. It's close to everything and there is everything to do in SD!!! Will be coming back, high five to the Residence Inn Team!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. Hope you to see you again in the future.

Thanks Again,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.