We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband, my daughter, and I stayed at this hotel for three nights.Two things made our stay disappointing.

I reserved a room with two beds but we were given a room with a single queen-sized bed, forcing my grown daughter to sleep in the "living room" area on a cheap, uncomfortable sofa bed with springs you could feel right through the mattress. The sofa bed also took up most of the space in the "living room", which was annoying too. We were told that there were no other rooms available but we felt it was dishonest to pass off that room as suitable for three people.

The hotel overlooks an enormous freeway. Although the rooms had insulated windows to mute the noise, the roar of traffic made the outdoor facilities such as the pool, unpleasantly noisy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank for taking the time write a review of your experience at my hotel on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize that the hotel was not up to par. I will follow through by sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to help improve our service levels for you and future guests. We hope to see you again so that we may provide you with the excellent service you are accustomed to from Marriott.

Sincerely,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    54
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
120
34
9
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this property during a business trip in May 2013 on recommendation from the hosts of our business presentation.
We found the property to be average, and the front desk personnel to be helpful and courteous. We had shipped boxes to the property ahead of time, and they were available and brought out for us promptly.
The room was large and functional. The property was quiet and restful. Views are nonexistent, however.
We took a jog in the area in the mornings, and felt safe. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
We will be returning to the property in December of this year for business again, and we will have no hesitation to do so.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the review! We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad to hear you are returning in December.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

TripAdvisor, you really let us down this time.

After reading all of the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, we were very excited to stay at this property for a week-long family vacation. Unfortunately, we did not share the wonderful experience of the other reviewers. So many problems, and not once did anyone apologize for our inconvenience.

When we arrived at the hotel, our toilet had an internal leak, such that the tank was filling and emptying spontaneously every 20 minutes, wasting water and disturbing us all night. We reported the problem at 8 am on a weekday, and when we returned to our room that evening it had not been fixed (someone later said that he had 'fixed' it, but the problem was unchanged). We called again, and they sent someone else up to fix it. That person said that it needed a replacement part, and went to get it, leaving the toilet tank open with the toilet water continuously running, and HE NEVER CAME BACK, leaving us with no functional toilet. We called again, and they sent someone else to fix it while we were out to dinner. When we returned from dinner, the toilet was no longer running, but there was water all over the floor by the toilet and a dirty wet towel on top of all of our clean bath towels. We called and someone came to clean up the water...but after they left, we realized that the toilet was continuing to leak water all over the floor. By then, it was past my child's bedtime, we were all exhausted & jetlagged, and we had an uninhabitable room. The lone clerk at the front desk told my husband that there were no other rooms. I went down and asked to speak with the manager. I was told that there was no manager available even by phone, and that we were out of luck and just had to keep the room. When I persisted, she said that all she could do would be to look for a room for us at a different hotel (by then it was about 8:30 pm). When I said that this was unacceptable, she produced the keys to a comparable room on a different floor. She said that she would let the manager know about what had happened, and that the manager would speak with us the next day. We have yet to hear from the manager.

Numerous other problems:
- There were no luggage racks in the rooms. On request they scrounged up one, and said that they would call us if they could find another one. They never called.
- One of the bedroom light bulbs was out. That, at least, got fixed on request.
- The first room had some kind of a/c problem - if the bedroom was normal temperature, then the living room was freezing (we reported this, and it was not fixed, but we changed rooms before we had the chance to pursue it)
- The second room that we moved to had a large, dark sticky area of the carpet near the desk. I really don't want to know what was causing the sticky stain. I asked the housekeeper to clean it (I pointed it out to her and also left a note). It was never cleaned.
- The sink in the second room did not drain properly
- Housekeeping came extremely late to make up the rooms. I have stayed at many hotels, and this was the first time that I have ever come back at 4:30 pm to find a room still unmade.
- One day, housekeeping cleaned only the living room and not the bedroom and bathroom. It turns out that they have an unwritten policy that if you keep any of the interior doors of the suite closed, then they do not clean those rooms.
- People were always smoking at the seating area near the pool, and the staff turned a blind eye to it.

There were some positives to this hotel - the location was great (many excellent restaurants in the area - use internet resources to find the ones frequented by the locals), breakfast was excellent (dinners were okay but not great), WiFi was free and worked well even for streaming video, parking was free and ample, decent outdoor pool, rooms were quiet. Unfortunately, the cons greatly outweighed the pros.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
NewYorkTraveler7,

Thank you for expressing your concerns regarding your recent stay! Our belief is that yes, things may break down or malfunction without warning, but our service is measured by our ability to quickly and efficiently repair these issues with minimal impact to our guests. In this sense, we had severely fallen short of the service you expected and what we are used to providing.

I sincerely apologize that our service failed to live up to the expectations that have earned us such a great reputation on this website and other public forums. I believe you spoke with our Guest Experience Manager who rendered compensation that was agreed to be fair although we lament the fact that we can not go back and fix things correctly the first time.

I am confident that if given a second chance, you would see why our reputation is justified.

Thank you and again, please accept my profound apaology!

Genuinely,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
(858) 635-5724
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After spending half of the week-long trip in the Residence Inn in Mission Valley we spent the second half in Scripps. It is near LEGOLAND and the beaches near Torrey Pines. The Mission Valley Residence Inn was very crowded, noisy and some things were dirty. So this was a nice change. Mission Valley is also near the Stone Brewery where I was able to get a nice dinner with friends. The commute traffic is bad so being in this more northern location was quite handy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! We put a lot of effort into being a very clean and quiet place for travelers and are always excited to hear that guests experienced that level of service.

We look forward to serving you again!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Theoretically, a five star review should be for someplace unique, not a chain hotel. But, this Residence Inn did everything exactly right. It was clean, quiet, well managed. The Manager's name is Derek - he took our reservation on the phone. I guess he deserves the credit for a good "culture" a the property. EVERY employees was friendly, smiling and quick to help- which was almost weird!

The room was colorful and nice, very clean and quiet.

Breakfast was good, but the hoards of people eating like animals was a little of putting. People! How about some manners!

Huge amount of restaurants within one or two miles.

Nit picking:
Bed was hard.
Sausage patties on consecutive days.

Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We work very hard to maintain a culture of service and friendliness and we're thrilled that we were able to demonstrate that on your most recent trip. Hopefully we have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is perfect. the rooms are large and the area is very safe. Easy access to sea world and the beaches. Lots of food locations and it is near the mall. The staff is very friendly too. This will definitely be a top choice for our visits to this area. great for families.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the "great" review title. We always strive to be great and are thrilled that you and your family found our hotel to be such a good fit. We love our location and always enjoy hearing that guests do too. Please come visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here with a youth water polo team, visiting San Diego for a tournament. The hotel is located close to a freeway(but far enough away to avoid noise) in a relatively non-congested part of town, giving us access to La Jolla, University City, Balboa Park, all without traffic jams. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast is more expansive than at some other comparable "Inn" families and includes hot offerings with eggs, sausages, and a wide assortment of fruit, cereal, bread and pastries, yoghurt. And, unlike some of their competitors, they keep the breakfast station well stocked. Also, juice and coffee are available 24 hours. The pool is small but pleasant and the Jacuzzi works fine. The lounge is pleasant, wifi is functional throughout. I think this is better value than cheaper motels that give you just a small room, and much less expensive (with more amenities) than hotels in the resort areas of town. As long as you are willing to drive to get where you are headed in San Diego, this is a great way to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
HI and thank you for the 5-star review! As a brand and as individual properties we strive to provide a balance of amenities and value. We are delighted that our style and level of service fit your needs so well and that you had a great stay. Thanks again.

Please come see us again the next time you're in San Diego!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.