We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Clean Quiet Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Clean Quiet Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great Place to stay while vacationing in San Diego. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. They have barbeques to fire up for grilling. The pool was almost always empty. They also sell tickets to all of the local tourist attractions for a better price. I would definitely stay here again next time I visit San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyndalljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of my hotel on Trip Advisor. I have passed along your wonderful feedback to my staff and they could not be happier to know that their hard work was recognized and that they were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope you stay with us again soon!

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Riverside County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Last weekend we rented two rooms, each with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The place was clean, quiet, and very very nice. Each place had kitchens, three TV's, and a fireplace. The finishing touch for me was the filled candy jar sitting there on the coffee table. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickMoVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. We look forward to your next trip back.

Thanks Again,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very new, clean, large bedroom. Excellent complimentary breakfast.
Nothing to complain at all.
Staff are perfect.
Easy location to find. Swimming pool and spa are nice and clean.
20 min north of San Diego downtown.
A perfect stay.
Only one thing missing : there is no safe in the bedroom.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Greetings. Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to hear that our property met the standards you've come to expect from Marriott. We hope you'll come visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Residence Inn Scripps Poway for 8 nights during a vacation in San Diego. There were 2 adults and 2 kids (5 and 7 year old) in my family and my brother, his wife and new born daughter stayed in the next room. The hotel is located just off the I-15 making it convenient to visit all the attractions (Sea World, La Jolla) in 20-30mins. The included breakfast was great including both hot and cold items (bagels, eggs). The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We stayed on the top floor (Room 404 and 402) which were close to both the lifts and the stairs leading conveniently to the parking lot. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on our breakfast and quality accommodations. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Apr. 8 - 19th inclusive. It had good curb appeal when we drove up, the staff were very friendly throughout our stay, our room was clean and nicely laid out and we found the location ideal. It seemed to be 1/2 hour from wherever we wanted to go so found it to be convenient even though it wasn't in the heart of Downtown. There was a small shopping centre only 3 minutes drive away for groceries, banks, etc. The room was very clean and well laid out with full kitchen facilities, including dishes, utensils, etc. We had a studio suite with a king bed that had updated bedding and was very comfortable. Air conditioning was regulated by a thermostat and worked well. All windows opened for fresh air. We loved being in the "back" facing the hill as it was quiet and did not get the evening sun. The living area had a sofa, big chair, coffee table and footstool with a large flat screen TV that swiveled to accommodate livingroom or bed viewing. There was also a table and chairs for eating and a large desk for computer and paper work. Plenty of drawer and closet space. Also clean laundry facilities on the 2nd Floor. Included was a full breakfast with hot and cold choices. Also from Mon. to Thurs. they provided a complimentary light dinner from 5:30 - 7:30 PM including free beer on tap and red and white wine. Meals in the evenings were either a pasta dish, barbecued hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken breasts, macaroni & cheese, etc. Accompanied by a fresh spinach salad with all the fixings. After a long day of sightseeing this meal was all we needed. The menus were posted in the room when we arrived. There was a pool which was kept very clean with lounge chairs and clean towels available at all times. An exercise room was included as well, even though we chose to get our exercise outside. Ample free parking was available. We ate at Chili's restaurant several times as it was barely a 5 minute walk away....food and drinks there were good. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting San Diego and have already mentioned it to several of our friends. Special thanks to the Sr. Sales Manager, Tamara, for her sightseeing recommendations and friendly assistance. Kudos, also, to the friendly front counter staff. They were always smiling and greeting us as we walked by. One night I poured us both a beer from the "tap" and seemed to get more foam than beer in our glasses. We chuckled about it and sat down. Within a minute the front desk clerk came to our table with 2 full properly poured beer. She said she didn't want to see us drinking foam ! Just one example of the "up and above" service that was provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Helen W,

It's wonderful to hear that you felt well taken care of during your recent trip to San Diego! Thank you so much for the positive review and comments. I don't think I could describe our hotel any better! We are lucky to have a great hotel and an even better staff to share with our guests and it always feels good to be recognized for our "up and above" service. Hopefully we will get a chance to see you again if you visit San Diego in the future.

Happy Travels!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a week in the very impersonal setting of Las Vegas, it was a breath of fresh air to one and stay here. The staff were amazing - polite and helpful. The room were nice. You had the option of self catering as each room was equipped with a little kitchenette. All crockery and utensils were provided. There was also a dishwasher in the room. The guest laundry room was also really cheap. Breakfast was included and was lovely. Dinner was also included but we ate out everyday.
The pool was small but heated so people were enjoying a dip even when it was quite cold out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just5ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
just5ofus,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. It's good to hear you and your family enjoyed San Diego and our hotel. Hopefully we can provide better weather the next time you come to visit us!

Warm Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a full week from March 11th through to the 18th. I was nervous at first about the location of this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to drive to SeaWorld, Legoland, the Safari Park and any other attractions we wanted to take in, from this area. It has easy access to / from the freeway, yet we could not hear any of the traffic noise. There were also plenty of restaurants and shopping centers nearby, so we will gladly book this hotel again for our next trip. We were travelling with a 2 year old and a 5 year old and the complimentary breakfast and evening dinners were not just a great convenience but a fantastic meal as well. The rooms were very comfortable for our family and the kids loved the swimming pool. The staff working the front desk and looking after the breakfast / dinner area were very friendly and always helpful. They always welcomed us as we'd arrive for a meal, ensure we had everything we needed and wished us well as we'd head back to our room or out for the day. We had an allergy emergency (self inflicted by something we had bought to eat in our room) with our 2 year old which required an ambulance to take her to the hospital. When we realized what was happening, we rushed her down to the front desk and Derek, whom was the manager on staff at that moment, took immediate action. He called the ambulance, kept us informed with the information and instructions he was getting over the phone. He remained on the line with them until the ambulance arrived a short time later. It was extremely frightening for us to go through, but we will be forever grateful for how Derek and the staff handled this situation. We were extremely fortunate that only 5 hours later we were all back from the hospital and able to carry on with our vacation. San Diego is one of our favorite vacation destinations and we know which hotel we will be staying at on our next visit. Thanks again to all of the staff and especially Derek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
CoryS,

What a pleasure it is to read about your recent stay with us. We are proud to offer quite a few extra amenities and we are delighted when they are enjoyed. I realize that there are a lot of hotel choices in San Diego but I am glad you chose to stay with us and had a great experience!

We don't deal with emergency situations often but we like to think that if they arise, we are trained to handle them the best we can. I am glad I could help you and your family, especially your young daughter, and it's good to know she is doing just fine.

We hope you can make it to San Diego again in the future and we will make sure you and your family are well taken care of!

We Wish You All The Best!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing