We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Apr. 8 - 19th inclusive. It had good curb appeal when we drove up, the staff were very friendly throughout our stay, our room was clean and nicely laid out and we found the location ideal. It seemed to be 1/2 hour from wherever we wanted to go so found it to be convenient even though it wasn't in the heart of Downtown. There was a small shopping centre only 3 minutes drive away for groceries, banks, etc. The room was very clean and well laid out with full kitchen facilities, including dishes, utensils, etc. We had a studio suite with a king bed that had updated bedding and was very comfortable. Air conditioning was regulated by a thermostat and worked well. All windows opened for fresh air. We loved being in the "back" facing the hill as it was quiet and did not get the evening sun. The living area had a sofa, big chair, coffee table and footstool with a large flat screen TV that swiveled to accommodate livingroom or bed viewing. There was also a table and chairs for eating and a large desk for computer and paper work. Plenty of drawer and closet space. Also clean laundry facilities on the 2nd Floor. Included was a full breakfast with hot and cold choices. Also from Mon. to Thurs. they provided a complimentary light dinner from 5:30 - 7:30 PM including free beer on tap and red and white wine. Meals in the evenings were either a pasta dish, barbecued hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken breasts, macaroni & cheese, etc. Accompanied by a fresh spinach salad with all the fixings. After a long day of sightseeing this meal was all we needed. The menus were posted in the room when we arrived. There was a pool which was kept very clean with lounge chairs and clean towels available at all times. An exercise room was included as well, even though we chose to get our exercise outside. Ample free parking was available. We ate at Chili's restaurant several times as it was barely a 5 minute walk away....food and drinks there were good. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting San Diego and have already mentioned it to several of our friends. Special thanks to the Sr. Sales Manager, Tamara, for her sightseeing recommendations and friendly assistance. Kudos, also, to the friendly front counter staff. They were always smiling and greeting us as we walked by. One night I poured us both a beer from the "tap" and seemed to get more foam than beer in our glasses. We chuckled about it and sat down. Within a minute the front desk clerk came to our table with 2 full properly poured beer. She said she didn't want to see us drinking foam ! Just one example of the "up and above" service that was provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Helen W,

It's wonderful to hear that you felt well taken care of during your recent trip to San Diego! Thank you so much for the positive review and comments. I don't think I could describe our hotel any better! We are lucky to have a great hotel and an even better staff to share with our guests and it always feels good to be recognized for our "up and above" service. Hopefully we will get a chance to see you again if you visit San Diego in the future.

Happy Travels!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    53
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
118
33
9
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a week in the very impersonal setting of Las Vegas, it was a breath of fresh air to one and stay here. The staff were amazing - polite and helpful. The room were nice. You had the option of self catering as each room was equipped with a little kitchenette. All crockery and utensils were provided. There was also a dishwasher in the room. The guest laundry room was also really cheap. Breakfast was included and was lovely. Dinner was also included but we ate out everyday.
The pool was small but heated so people were enjoying a dip even when it was quite cold out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
just5ofus,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. It's good to hear you and your family enjoyed San Diego and our hotel. Hopefully we can provide better weather the next time you come to visit us!

Warm Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a full week from March 11th through to the 18th. I was nervous at first about the location of this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to drive to SeaWorld, Legoland, the Safari Park and any other attractions we wanted to take in, from this area. It has easy access to / from the freeway, yet we could not hear any of the traffic noise. There were also plenty of restaurants and shopping centers nearby, so we will gladly book this hotel again for our next trip. We were travelling with a 2 year old and a 5 year old and the complimentary breakfast and evening dinners were not just a great convenience but a fantastic meal as well. The rooms were very comfortable for our family and the kids loved the swimming pool. The staff working the front desk and looking after the breakfast / dinner area were very friendly and always helpful. They always welcomed us as we'd arrive for a meal, ensure we had everything we needed and wished us well as we'd head back to our room or out for the day. We had an allergy emergency (self inflicted by something we had bought to eat in our room) with our 2 year old which required an ambulance to take her to the hospital. When we realized what was happening, we rushed her down to the front desk and Derek, whom was the manager on staff at that moment, took immediate action. He called the ambulance, kept us informed with the information and instructions he was getting over the phone. He remained on the line with them until the ambulance arrived a short time later. It was extremely frightening for us to go through, but we will be forever grateful for how Derek and the staff handled this situation. We were extremely fortunate that only 5 hours later we were all back from the hospital and able to carry on with our vacation. San Diego is one of our favorite vacation destinations and we know which hotel we will be staying at on our next visit. Thanks again to all of the staff and especially Derek.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
CoryS,

What a pleasure it is to read about your recent stay with us. We are proud to offer quite a few extra amenities and we are delighted when they are enjoyed. I realize that there are a lot of hotel choices in San Diego but I am glad you chose to stay with us and had a great experience!

We don't deal with emergency situations often but we like to think that if they arise, we are trained to handle them the best we can. I am glad I could help you and your family, especially your young daughter, and it's good to know she is doing just fine.

We hope you can make it to San Diego again in the future and we will make sure you and your family are well taken care of!

We Wish You All The Best!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved every minute of our 3 night stay here. Staff are super friendly, breakfast had a great variety and our beautiful spacious room was spotless and had everything we needed. The hotel is close to the freeway so easy access to all the area's attractions is another plus. We will stay here again if we ever return to the area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property and the location to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. We look forward to your next trip back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. My granddaughter had a volleyball tournament at Alliant International University and the surrounding hotels were booking fast. After reading the reviews and knowing the Residence Inn reputation, I was able to reserve a 2 bedroom suite. What a great room with 2 separate bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. It had a full kitchen, 3 TVs, and sofa bed. This hotel is in a great location. Restaurants within walking distance. Beautiful area, with major grocery stores. The hotel is just off the freeway, but there wasn't any freeway noise. People at the desk were very helpful with directions and even making copies of directions to different locations for us. I had read one review that the person couldn't find the entrance, but it was VERY obvious where to enter into the lobby. The manager was at the check-in desk along with a very friendly young lady when we checked in. What a great welcome! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We left early one morning in a rush for the tournament and felt bad that we left a mess. Returning later that afternoon, we found a our room in mint condition. I immediately called to let Housekeeping know how much we appreciated their high standards for cleaning the room. We did eat breakfast one morning. There were many choices, including hot items.Thank you to the hotel manager and his staff for a great stay! We'll will definitely return to your hotel!

Room Tip: Our 2 bedroom suite was wonderful. We had 3 adults and 2 teenagers. Enough room for everyone. And it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
beach4nut,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your granddaughter's vollyball team! Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with everyone else on Trip Advisor. It's excellent to hear that you enjoyed the amenities we offer and that the room was perfect for you and the other travellers. Unique service is our specialty and we hope we get a chance to serve you again in the future.

Thank you and all the best!

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I made my decision to stay at this Resisence Inn property based on three factors it's high rating on trip advisor, location, and the amenities. I made the right choice every morning breakfast was great and offered a variety. In the evenings they provided dinner which was a added bonus. The rooms are clean and accommodating but one drawback they are not as large as your Residence Inn rooms on the east coast. In the hotel circle is another Marriot property, a gas station/convenience store, and a Chillis restaurant. It is centrally located and allows easy to access major attractions like the Zoo, Seaworld, Legoland, Balboa park, and Point Loma. The hotel offers tickets to different amusement parks but go to smart destinations and get a go card it makes more sense and cost effective. This hotel was simply a good choice.

Room Tip: Exit hotel left there is a Costco Warehouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Greetings, and thank for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. At Residence Inn, we aspire to meet the high expectations travelers have come to expect of Marriott, and we're glad to know we met that goal. If you're ever in the San Diego area again for business or leisure, we'd love to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Looked at several hotels reviews for staying in San Diego and picked the Residence Inn in Poway. It was an excellent choice for our family with two teenagers since we were able to get a suite with two bedrooms. It was very clean. The staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful - seemed to know everyone who stays there. The first night we were there we spoke to Tamera (I think) and she gave us a tour book for San Diego with tons of coupons - also the front desk has discounted admission for several places in the area. Wednesday night was BBQ night. I figured fried hamburger patties off a grill - nope! - one of the staff members actually grills over the BBQ! Nice! Kids were very happy and wanted to stay at the hotel and play on the half court basketball hoop instead of travel the area. The lady who tends the dinner area with the shoulder length black hair was very attentive and works very hard to make sure everyone has what they need. The few suggestions would be: not to allow smoking by the fireplace outside the cigar smoke and cigarettes kept us away), an extra tp roll in each bathroom, inflate the basketball a little more, and to double check under the beds when people leave (there was a small piece of candy that was not ours under one of our beds - that was the only infraction of uncleanliness - everything else was spotless). A great experience and good choice for our family. Overall, because of the staff, price, cleanliness, and the included amenities, we felt it deserved 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
jaysquares,

I am glad you decided to stay with us after comparing different hotels in the area.We are proud to offer amenities that most other hotels do not such as the weekly Barbeque with great food choices right off the grill.

Tamara, our Senior Sales Manager was who you spoke with the first night you were here. She is quite knowledgable of the local area and I hope you were able to take advantage of some of the deals in the book.

We will take a close look at some of your suggestions and also continue to improve on our housekeeping service.

Thank you for complimenting our staff, especially Cindy our Social Hour Attendant and I am delighted you and your family enkoyed your stay. Please come back and see uss soon!

Best Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.