We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Stanford, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The last review posted here requested an extra waffle maker. But with all they had to offer at breakfast, we didnt even touch the waffles! Besides a great selection of juices, yogurt, milk, bagels, muffins (ooh, was that chocolate and cheesecake?), fruit, rice with furikake and miso soup (if you're so inclined), they offer a different selection of warm items- egg, ham and cheese muffin one morning, a yummy sausage and potato scramble the next. It was such a delightful way to start our day. We could not find a tip basket at the breakfast area, which somehow conveys the message that it's their pleasure to serve! But perhaps we just overlooked it?

I was skeptical about the complimentary dinner that many people have mentioned. But it was delicious and substantial (I've posted a picture of their menu for the time we were there- ranging from lasagna, meatloaf, fajitas, Kung pao chicken, eggplant Parmesan...) and a welcome gesture when we had been travelling the whole day.

The room exceeded expectations. Ever since we started a family, we stay in suites. This suite offers a full kitchen- not just a microwave and a full-sized fridge, but 2 stove top burners and a dishwasher! The cupboards are stocked with glassware, dishes and flatware. And paper towels, kitchen towels and sponge/dish washing liquid are all provided! The armchair in the living room reclines too :) Our window overlooked the highway but we did not hear a sound throughout our stay. We stayed in 423, at the end of the hall.

It is a good 20min drive to town, and not negligible. But if you plan your day, and you're not coming back in the middle of the day, it's excellent value. When I saw the traffic downtown, and the cars piled up just waiting to exit their centrally located hotels, I figured we did good!

Room Tip: We were in a "higher number" room, 423, directly overlooking the highway. But we did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
FriesAndFoieGras,

First off, I love the name and thank you for the great review! The fact that you are a senior contributor and have 22 hotel reviews tells us that you know quality when you see it. It is a great compliment that you thought highly of our hotel.

We are pleased you loved the breakfast. Chocolate Tuxedo muffins are often a popular choice! We are also pleased that you enjoyed the Monday -Thursday social hour. Our food variety is a signature of our hotel. We don't have a tip jar. Indeed, we just love to serve our guests.

A fully ready suite with cooktop, dishwasher, and the dishes one would need to cook a few meals is great for families. It affords the option to eat healthier, and save money instead of dining out every meal.

As some travelers point out, we are not right in the heart of the city, but as you noticed, we don't have the problems that come along with that such as traffic, parking, and noise. We are 20 minutes from virtually any attraction, including those in the north part of the county such as the San Diego Zoo Safari Park and LegoLand. From Downtown San Diego, those may be 40 minutes away so we are actually quite central.

We appreciate the thoughtful and detailed review. Thank you for sharing that with the rest of the TripAdvisor viewers! We look forward to a return visit soon.

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    44
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
112
29
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Chose this hotel because of it's high family rating on TripAdvisor and the stay surpassed my expectations. We used almost all the amenities from breakfast to evening social (with tasty barbeque!) Modern design of lobby, breakfast area was warm and inviting. Used the basketball court and jacuzzi. For as close as it was to I15, it was surprisingly quiet. Also was surprised how easy it was to get to hiking trails, La Jolla and even downtown SD. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Kevin T,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities including our sport court and spa. Our Wednesday night bbq with hamburgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken, and salad is always a favorite.

Some may see our location as far outside the city, but the reality is that we are about 20 minutes from virtually everything and quite central. Thank you for pointing that out to other travelers!

We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Consistently excellent service, from check-in to an attentive manager to a friendly staff to checkout. Very nice "manager's special" with food and beverages -- always fresh and hot, and a good variety too. I travel to SD regularly on business and this is my first choice of hotels to stay at -- it's an easy trip from the airport, has good access to shopping and dining, and is in an attractive area in the north. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for the lower number rooms (e.g., 201, 203, 103) which are at the end of the hall farthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Eric N,

Thank you for the great review! We are pleased that we are your first choice when travelling to San Diego. I think we enjoy our Monday through Thursday social hour almost as much as our guests as we have an opportunity to get to know everyone better. Thank you for the compliments to our staff. They are our most important asset.

We will see you on the next trip.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Marriott's are great properties and what makes this one stand out is their service. The people are friendly, helpful, and will attend to your every need in a timely manner.

You won't be disappointed with this property, and it's location is ideal for getting to the beaches, downtown...

Steve

Room Tip: The back side might be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Steve A,

Thank you so much for writing a review and recognizing our staff. Also, thank you for letting other travelers know about our very central location.

We miss you and your family and hope to keep in touch!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Tripadvisor comes through again for me! We stayed here 4 nights in the middle of our 2 week trip to Vegas/San Diego/LA and this was a highlight. The hotel had everything a family with small children would ever want. A kitchen with a full size refrigerator, separate sleeping area for the kids on the pull out sofa bed with their own nice LCD TV, coin operated laundry (huge when trying to pack light with a family), awesome free breakfast that eliminated the need for lunch or a big dinner, and a great staff that was always willing to help those who needed it. Seriously, this is everything a family would want when away from home.

The hotel is about a 20-25 minute drive from the Midway Museum, Sea World, Zoo, Safari Park...but for the cost and great hotel it is more than worth it.

The ONLY downside...please add another waffle maker. :) There were a few times where I thought someone was going to get hurt when line jumping over waffle use. The hotel only has one waffle maker and with the time it takes to make them lines formed everyday and we just had to give up a few times waiting. For a hotel this wonderful, an extra waffle maker should be an easy request to grant...otherwise this was one of the best hotels I have stayed at for our family and we have been at hotels all over the planet so we know a good one when we see one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
scooterpie77,

Thank you for the awesome review! As a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor, we can tell that you know what is best for your family! The fact that you mention that our hotel was a highlight is a great compliment. We are pleased that our hotel had everything you needed to make your trip pleasurable.

Thank you for mentioning the waffle maker. Our waffles are very popular and we will definitely look into adding another one.

It looks like you travel quite a bit. If you ever return to San Diego, we will look forward welcoming you back with 2 waffle makers!

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's never much fun traveling for work, but whenever I arrive at The Residence Inn Scripps Poway Parkway, I feel like I'm at my 2nd home! The staff is always so courteous and helpful, offering me anything I need to make my stay more comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: I always go on the internet and search the hotels first, along with the variety of rooms to make my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Virginia D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the willingness to recommend our hotel to others and we always look forward to welcoming you back every week (hopefully in your favorite room)!

Thanks again!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here based on the glowing reviews that we read on Trip Advisor. We were glad we did. We've never before seen a free mini-dinner anywhere else besides a full American plan resort--but you get one here! The soup and salad was delicious and complimentary and it hit the spot. The large, clean suite was comfortable. Most of all, though, we were impressed with the extraordinary service at this motel. The asst manager Derek promised us he would find for my wife a chocolate almond ice cream bar for later that night, and he did not renege on his promise! Thanks Derek! Would stay here over again many times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
larrygever,

Thank you so much for the positive review of your stay! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Monday-Thursday social hour and our clean rooms. Most of all, thank you for recognizing Derek for going above and beyond to find that ice cream bar for your wife. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations completed October 2011! New Rooms, New Lobby! We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.