We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home for 3 months” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 268 hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Home for 3 months”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Due to a flood in our home, we needed to move out during construction. This hotel was close to our home and provided a full kitchen. We ended up staying at this hotel for 3 full months. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel, the staff, and its amenities. Our 2 bedroom room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Having dinner prepared for us 4 nights a week was especially welcomed. The daily breakfast buffet had a variety of choices and was excellent. The full kitchen allowed us to prepare any meals needed. Laundry facilities, onsite gym, pool, jacuzzi, and a homey atmosphere were all welcomed. The location has easy access to the freeway and local shopping. I would recommend this hotel for both short and longer stays.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally sound proof but top floors do not hear any noise from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Larry M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Difficult circumstances such as floods or fires often bring guests like you to our property, and we enjoyed welcoming you to our extended family. We are glad to hear we helped keep life somewhat "normal" while you were displaced. While sad to see you leave, we are glad that you are back home and would recommend our hotel.

Keep in touch!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    44
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
28
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a relocation for almost 60 days during Oct-Nov 2012. I must say the staff at this hotel are amazing! They are very nice and welcoming to all guests. Also an added bonus, the hotel serves a complimentary breakfast and dinner. In the evening from 5:30-7:30pm they also serve complimentary beer and wine. This hotel also accepts pets. The hotel is well kept inside and out and is right off 15 freeway. If you are relocating or planning on staying in a hotel for a lengthy time frame I would highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: I stayed on 4th floor right by elevator and room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
robert c,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognize our staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our social hour Monday through Thursday and our daily breakfast. We are indeed ideal for extended stays and welcome our short term guests as well.

Thanks you again for the positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that this hotel is far superior to any other hotels I stay at in and outside of the San Diego area. Being a frequent business traveler, I am staying in a hotel 90% of the time and have experienced many different brands and types of hotels - both very expensive and very well priced. The hotel staff and management here is the best I have come across - they will truly go out of their way to ensure the guest is taken care of. The property is very well maintained, rooms are very nice, the dinners are great, location is excellent and other travelers are very considerate and friendly. Out of all the different hotels I have stayed at in San Diego, I now default to this hotel. Great job to all hotel staff members for building and maintaining an environment that continues to draw people to the hotel time and time again and for always going that extra mile that makes all the difference. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to family and friends!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
lovetoskico,

Thank you very much for the review and recognizing our staff! We have a mission to provide the best experience possible to our guests. We know business travel is stressful and we make every attempt to help you mitigate that stress.

Thank you again for your positive comments! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was so thankful that my boyfriend booked this place for our short last minute vacation in California.
The location was great, next to a major highway, and was a midpoint between all of our travel destinations north and south.

For the amount of standard/free amenities given, the value for the suite was awesome!

1) Free breakfast everyday -
Cereal, oatmeal station, waffle maker & batter, pancakes, hashbrowns, potatoes, canadian bacon, bacon, sausage, eggs (cooked in different ways), bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice, milk, yogurt, and white rice & miso soup ingredients! Enough variety to make breakfast different everyday!

2) Free dinner everyday -
We did not partake in this because we were normally out for dinner, but there was a schedule on the refrigerator letting us know what "theme" they had for dinner for which day.

3) Free wi-fi is always good.

4) Don't have to pay for parking (unlike the downtown San Diego hotels).

5) Fitness Center (24 hrs), pool, basketball court, and patio outside.

6) Nearby restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

7) Suite included a full kitchen! (Fridge & freezer, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, sink, cabinet, cutlery, dishes, dish washiing soap, etc.) The only thing NOT there was an oven haha

8) There were many more amenities listed on the fridge we did not use, but were surprised that these services were available: Coin-op laundry facilities, dry cleaning pick-up/drop off, & grocery shopping.

There was a variety of people here. Tourists, families, and business people were eating free breakfast every morning in the large lounge area. This is a great place for anyone.

If we decide to vacation in the San Diego area again, we are definitely coming back here = ) !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Kaysiah-chan,

Thank you for the very detailed review! We love senior contributor reviews because we know you have an eye for detail. Your photos and detailed descriptions confirm that. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.

Happy travels!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week and it was really nice to be in a place that almost felt like home. The beds were comfortable, the evening reception (M-Th) offered a great variety of foods and drinks, the breakfast offering was very complete with a different "main" course offering each morning. This hotel is close to San Diego and the beaches so it is ideal for business or pleasure. The staff was very friendly and anxious to please. All in all a great place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with a bedroom separate from the living room/kitchen area. This was nice since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
TucsonHikers,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. As a TripAdvisor "Senior Contributor" with 25 reviews in 16 cities, we can tell that you know good service and offerings when you see them. It was our pleasure to serve you during this trip and we look forward to welcoming you back in future travels.

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel greatly exceeds our expectations. All employees from management to the support staff are personable, courteous and customer service oriented. The rooms are clean, comfortable and recently redecorated. We appreciate the complimentary breakfast and especially the complimentary weekday dinners, which include beer and wine. One staff member in particular, "Maria", goes above and beyond to make sure we are totally satisfied and well cared for. She is a gem! We have been staying here for 2 months, and if we can't be at home, this is the place we choose to stay.

Room Tip: Because we check in every Monday, we have stayed in many different rooms. All have been completely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Brenda C,

Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding your stay(s). Also, thank you for recognizing Maria's service during breakfast and social hour. We feel that our property is great, but it is our staff that makes the greatest impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, was very pleased with my overall stay, very clean rooms and nice beds will definetely recommend anyone visting town to stay at this hotel, price was also not bad at all. Also the staff was very helpfull in suggesting me good places for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Lori K,

Thank you for your positive comments and your recognition of our staff service. We enjoy letting people know about the great dining options we have here in our area beyond the typical chain options.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations completed October 2011! New Rooms, New Lobby! We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.