We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 268 hotels in San Diego
NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So many amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was so thankful that my boyfriend booked this place for our short last minute vacation in California.
The location was great, next to a major highway, and was a midpoint between all of our travel destinations north and south.

For the amount of standard/free amenities given, the value for the suite was awesome!

1) Free breakfast everyday -
Cereal, oatmeal station, waffle maker & batter, pancakes, hashbrowns, potatoes, canadian bacon, bacon, sausage, eggs (cooked in different ways), bagels, muffins, coffee, tea, juice, milk, yogurt, and white rice & miso soup ingredients! Enough variety to make breakfast different everyday!

2) Free dinner everyday -
We did not partake in this because we were normally out for dinner, but there was a schedule on the refrigerator letting us know what "theme" they had for dinner for which day.

3) Free wi-fi is always good.

4) Don't have to pay for parking (unlike the downtown San Diego hotels).

5) Fitness Center (24 hrs), pool, basketball court, and patio outside.

6) Nearby restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

7) Suite included a full kitchen! (Fridge & freezer, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, sink, cabinet, cutlery, dishes, dish washiing soap, etc.) The only thing NOT there was an oven haha

8) There were many more amenities listed on the fridge we did not use, but were surprised that these services were available: Coin-op laundry facilities, dry cleaning pick-up/drop off, & grocery shopping.

There was a variety of people here. Tourists, families, and business people were eating free breakfast every morning in the large lounge area. This is a great place for anyone.

If we decide to vacation in the San Diego area again, we are definitely coming back here = ) !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Kaysiah-chan,

Thank you for the very detailed review! We love senior contributor reviews because we know you have an eye for detail. Your photos and detailed descriptions confirm that. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.

Happy travels!

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    44
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
110
28
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week and it was really nice to be in a place that almost felt like home. The beds were comfortable, the evening reception (M-Th) offered a great variety of foods and drinks, the breakfast offering was very complete with a different "main" course offering each morning. This hotel is close to San Diego and the beaches so it is ideal for business or pleasure. The staff was very friendly and anxious to please. All in all a great place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with a bedroom separate from the living room/kitchen area. This was nice since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
TucsonHikers,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. As a TripAdvisor "Senior Contributor" with 25 reviews in 16 cities, we can tell that you know good service and offerings when you see them. It was our pleasure to serve you during this trip and we look forward to welcoming you back in future travels.

Warm Regards,

Trent Selbrede, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel greatly exceeds our expectations. All employees from management to the support staff are personable, courteous and customer service oriented. The rooms are clean, comfortable and recently redecorated. We appreciate the complimentary breakfast and especially the complimentary weekday dinners, which include beer and wine. One staff member in particular, "Maria", goes above and beyond to make sure we are totally satisfied and well cared for. She is a gem! We have been staying here for 2 months, and if we can't be at home, this is the place we choose to stay.

Room Tip: Because we check in every Monday, we have stayed in many different rooms. All have been completely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Brenda C,

Thank you so much for the positive comments regarding your stay(s). Also, thank you for recognizing Maria's service during breakfast and social hour. We feel that our property is great, but it is our staff that makes the greatest impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, was very pleased with my overall stay, very clean rooms and nice beds will definetely recommend anyone visting town to stay at this hotel, price was also not bad at all. Also the staff was very helpfull in suggesting me good places for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Lori K,

Thank you for your positive comments and your recognition of our staff service. We enjoy letting people know about the great dining options we have here in our area beyond the typical chain options.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My sons took me to the Miramar Air Show on Saturday October 13. My two oldest grandsons got to go with us (the whole reason it was so great). They are almost 2 and almost 7 years old. We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn Scripps Poway. The suite was perfect for us all. The young one slept great just around the bedroom wall from us. We loved the kitchenette, the breakfast, the pool and spa, and the restaurants right next door to the hotel. The beds were wonderful, the bathroom seemed all brand new, and everything worked perfect. Internet, Flat panel TV (two sets).

Room Tip: Tip the breakfast servers, they may look busy, but they take great care of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
PBBigBear,

Thank you for the great review! We are pleased you enjoyed the suite layout and other amenities. We want to especially thank you for recognizing our breakfast staff. Many rooms are similar but we believe our staff set us apart.

Please look us up on your next visit to San Diego!

Sincerely,

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great hotel for the family, Staff was super friendly and allowed us to check in early 2hrs. Got the one room suite, kids stayed in the living room on the pullout sofa bed (which was pretty comfortable) the room had very nice setup and decor. Breakfast was good (nothing special) seating was nice for the fact, I could sit down (problem with other hotels was small eating area) Location just off the 15 freeway, a little north of San Diego ( this is my only compliant, but it made up in not pay resort fees or parking fees). Loved it and will be the hotel we stay at for are yearly San Diego trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Wasco2go,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. Although we are not downtown, we are central to all San Diego attractions. We like so say "we are about 20 minutes from almost anythiing in San Diego!".

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Trent Selbrede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located off a major freeway so going anywhere is very easy. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms very comfortable. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel to families visiting the San Diego area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aries808,

Thank you so much for your review! It appears you are an avid traveler and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Also, thank you for taking the time to recognize our friendly staff. They are the key to a great experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

-Trent Selbrede, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations completed October 2011! New Rooms, New Lobby! We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.