We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located off a major freeway so going anywhere is very easy. The hotel itself is very nice, the rooms very comfortable. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel to families visiting the San Diego area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Aries808,

Thank you so much for your review! It appears you are an avid traveler and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Also, thank you for taking the time to recognize our friendly staff. They are the key to a great experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

-Trent Selbrede, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    47
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
115
29
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything was wonderful here. Very nice staff. Quiet. Delicious continental breakfast (waffles, eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit, breakfast sandwiches, cereal, juice, etc.)

The rooms are huge! Plenty of living space. Kitchenette with plates, silverware, cups, soap. Full size refrigerator. Flat Screen TV and even nice pieces of art to make it feel like home.

Parking was limited, but I always found a spot. Chili's and a sports bar within walking distance.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel. I stayed on the first floor, but had no cell reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
jallen1788,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Residence Inn and letting us know you had cell phone service issues. We have been talking to Verizon about potential solutions in the back bottom floor of the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and large rooms and look forward to your return on your next visit!

-Trent Selbrede, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We wanted a weekend in SD, mainly for the Zoo. Our typical hotel was booked, found this place via TA. We rolled in around 3:30pm, no wait at the front desk, check in was easy. They asked about room location preferences...there was some construction going on in the courtyard (new BBQ/fireplace!) and they put us as far from that as possible so my son could finish his nap. Only bummer of being so far from the center was the WiFi came in and out. The room was unique...colors, decorations, all made it feel more like home, less like a hotel. Everyone felt very comfortable. Couch/chair/desk/bed/kitchen table. Kitchen was very nice, stove/microwave/fridge/freezer/sink/dishwasher/etc. The bed was ok, a bit soft for our taste, but comfy. They have coffee/juice 24/7.
Morning was good - Breakfast was really yummy, eggs/potatoes/sausage/waffles/yogurt/cereal/etc.
No real heavy interaction from the staff, but everyone seemed nice enough.
Parking seemed a bit tight as the night went on.
There are some decent restaurants in that plaza and down the road a bit. We hit up the Vons down the road as well. I will be staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: If you want strong WiFi, try to stay near the center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Rocker562,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Residence Inn. With 6 reviews in 4 cities, we can tell that you are an experienced traveler with an eye for detail. Our outdoor fireplace will be up and running this week, in plenty of time for fall/winter!

We are glad you enjoyed the decor and amenities and that it didn't feel like a hotel. We say "It's not a room. It's a Residence".

We look forward to welcoming you when you return!

-Trent Selbrede, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I just completed a long term (3 year) stay and it was like leaving a family/ Trent, Derek, Cathy, Liz and everyone made me feel like I was home. The rooms were refurnished last year and everything is top tier. If you are looking for a great place for an extended stay, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Residence Inn on Scripps Poway Parkway and were happy to see so many familiar faces from our last stay 4 years ago. The staff is so friendly and accommodating to the needs of their guests. The new renovations give the hotel an even cozier feel. Its a great hotel for family as well as your dogs. The breakfast and and the light dinners (Mon.-Thurs.) are delicious and filling. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the San Diego area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am always stumped when it comes to planning anything nice for the hubby as far as his birthday goes, but this year I had a brilliant idea. I figured why not go and stay at the Residence Inn that was just a block away from our house and take the kids and make a mini vacation out of it. Boy, I finally had one great idea in my 47 years. We ended up getting a two bedroom suite which was super clean, and very nicely decorated. My twin boys were having a blast going from room to room, commenting on how cool and nice the place was. The front counter staff was also very pleasant and you can just tell that this particular Residence Inn is very well managed. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Their location could also not be any better. We walked to Chilis which is in the same mall and could even have drinks without worrying about driving home. I also have to admit that the bed was more comfortable than ours at home and the towels much softer:).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Trent and Cathy help make your visit to San Diego a wonderful experience. I can not express enough how wonderful everyone is at this hotel. I have stayed here many times and it always a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSDMarriotts, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
woettinger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your positive experiences with our Residence Inn. We take tremendous pride in delivering great service and our Suite rooms!

We look forward to welcoming back to your home away from home soon.

-Trent Selbrede, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations completed October 2011! New Rooms, New Lobby! We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;