We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views and so quiet and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Point Loma Lighthouse

Old Point Loma Lighthouse
Point Loma, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Activities: Getting married
Attraction details
Kansas City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Incredible views and so quiet and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I recently visited the lighthouse and surrounding area. The views were incredible as you overlook San Diego on one side and the Ocean on the other. You do drive through a base to get there so watch your speed. You can walk up the lighthouse, but not all the way to the top. There is a quick view of how the lighthouse keepers lived when it was active their is also a little museum off to the side. There are trails to walk and you can drive down the oceanside for more trails to walk. Very peaceful place.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    181
    29
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views both from lighthouse & tidepools!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

Well worth the $5 fee. Try to go when the tides are out so you can see all the sea creatures in tidepools. The lighthouse is a must see. I made the mistake of not allowing enough time in my schedule to spend here; give yourself several hours to explore. Wear shoes for walking with good traction for the slippery rocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history and beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went to the lighthouse and down to the tide pools. $5 entrance fee and well worth it. The light house is wonderful. Views are amazing. Worth taking the road and short walk down to the water. Amazing to watch all the military ships come in. Kids enjoyed it too!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty lighthouse and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Old Point Loma Lighthouse is what brought us out to Point Loma in the first place, and I'm glad we went. Beautiful old lighthouse, you can go right up to the light, and I guess one day a year they have it open where you can actually go up into the light/turret. Anyways, beautfil setting and views of the city. Would definitly recommend to anyone who loves history and/or lighthouses.

There are other things in the area too, not just the lighthouse. Such as the tidepools, old WWII coastal defense bunkers, and other little hikes in the area.

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“AWESOME VIEWS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Don't miss this one. It's a $5 entry fee into the park. Only open from 9-5 which is disappointing because it would be so beautiful to see at sunset. You can tour the lighthouse and the grounds. The views are incredible. Definitely worth seeing.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Point Loma Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Old Point Loma Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Point Loma Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.