We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall off the bone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nathan's Smokehouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nathan's Smokehouse
524 Island Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7014
619-544-1524
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best ribs in San Diego...they truly were fall off the bone. Value for money can't be beat. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very different experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Looking for a place to eat in downtown San Diego .especially on a budget.. then there was a man flipping a sign pointing to Nathan's Smokehouse I had the pulled pork with slaw on top it was good and tender. And it did not cost us an arm or a leg! Don't just count my word on see for yourself..Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice pulled pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We checked this place out as it was near to our hotel. Friendly service and food was was served quickly. Good choice of beers/ale. Porked pork sandwhich was really nice - not the best we have had but quite good value. Good place for a quick meal or l

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food was served fast and tasted good. You probably are not going to San Diego for BBQ but if you have the urge, I would try Nathans.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Child Labor Laws Apply?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all, all the indoor seating was filled, so we had to eat outside. This is usually fine, but the outside seating was similar to that of a mid-west church ice cream social. The chairs were rickety, the tables dirty, and the ambiance non-existent. A kid no older than 13 served us our sub-par bbq pulled pork sandwiches and then explained that they had no bbq sauce. Really? The sandwiches were bordering on cold, and the ice in our sodas was melty. Perhaps if we could have sat inside, this would be a different review. The people inside seemed to be pretty happy with the place, but we were not. To sum up, avoid the outside seating. As for the children working there, I have no clue what was up with that. Strange.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathan's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.