We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Joint Roll Rocks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Joint

The Joint
4902 Newport Ave., San Diego, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #664 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Joint Roll Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Joint Roll is made with fried crab and its a tad spicy with shallots and green onion it was the best sushi roll I have ever tasted!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Tapas-Sushi-Great beers- what more do you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our son and his gf, who live in OB said we had to try this place since we were going to nearby concert. Only regret is we had to leave just as place was starting to rock n roll. This place may not be for purists- the tapas werent typical spanish tapas though they had some eg they had a burger and mac n cheese and we got a mushroom/white corn polenta plater. huge portion. Same w/ sushi. No sashimi and only 2-3 nigiri options and their rolls were mostly their own creation but were they good. we got stuffed. great choice of micro brews. Place had a great vibe. Would like to see what its like later in the eve. If get to OB gotta try it

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I noticed The Joint on my first day in Ocean Beach. The menu in the window said Sushi and Tapas Bar. Not a usual combination! Added to this were numerous awards for Best Sushi, Best Tapas, Best Drinks and some more, all won multiple times. By day 4 I convinced my Mother in law (who does not like sushi) and husband to try it out. Well, what an experience!
The atmosphere is casual and unpretentious. The waitress was exceptional in a casual but highly efficient manner. We were never rushed, our bill not brought to the table while we were still eating! The sushi was unlike anything i have ever seen. A fabulous mix of traditional and fusion. Fresh micro greens, ponzu sauce for a delicate flavour boost, peanuts for crunch and a delectable selection of cooked, raw and vegetarian. I left even more of a Sushi lover than before. My Mother in law asked: 'When can we come back'?
(We did not try any of the Tapas but from what i saw around me, it's a hit also)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back Three Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stumbled upon The Joint as we cruised Newport Ave in OB and were delightfully thrilled with the friendly service, casual atmosphere and delicious food. The Joint Roll w/ soft shell crab was yummy, the Catalonia Mussels de-vine, Spicy Salmon/Tuna scrumptious, a fresh and lovely, perfectly dressed Arugula Salad, Rasta Roll, OG Mango Madness, Filly Mig Skewers, Salmon Cakes, Goat Cheese Polenta....3 times....we went back....for more...
Thanks to CJ and Joe for welcoming us from Cape Cod...!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

wow, the food was great ,the drinks are great ! The people that work there are amazing!!!!!!! Thank you

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.