We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3860 Murphy Canyon Rd, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #167 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

First room smelled of stale dog and overwhelming air freshner, almost gave me a panic attack. Requested a different room and was given a handicap access room. It was a double vs. single queen. However dishes were markedly dirty. Bathtub/shower and bathroom with mold and mildew. Had to move fridge to one side in order to open and the then to other side to close - markedly move fridge. Dish drying unit was on floor under sink pipes - not sanitary. Exterior corridor, every time I heard a noise I felt I had to jump up to make sure things were ok. Vagrants were all around exterior on picnic tables/areas. Did not feel safe. Comforters disgusting with red multiple red markings on them. Notable not cleaned recently. Absolutely disgusting and feels unsafe with the other "guest" in the area. parking not ideal - more units than spaces.
Breakfast 'served' in completely separate building.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost. Afraid of what might happen overnight and what I may wake up with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
29
7
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

room was really nice in clean, will definitively go back to stay
bed was nice an comfortable.There was kitchen with stove and refrigerate to cook it i wanted to. also had pots and utensil available to use

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

of the non - smoking rule by having ash - trays placed in most entry walks. That results in smokers even feeling invited to smoke. Smokers tend to socialize in entry ways, smoking, drinking AND chatting. Very aggravating particularly during night time.

In addition, hotel offers rooms with windows not to open.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Room was top drawer , very happy with stay, will be happy to be able to get to see San Diego again, maybe stay for a longer period of time, room was clean and every thing was overall very professional and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Prices have got up, but not the maintenance.

Light over the desk was not working and it took about 24 hours to replace. It worked for a while, then went out again.

Kitchen sink barely drained. Bathtub faucet leaked badly. These were fixed in 24 hours.

No coat hangers in the room. They never arrived after being requested. A second request also produced no coat hangers.

No TV channel guide in the room. Requested and never provided.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced in your room. As well, I am sorry to hear that your requests were not addressed by our staff. I will be meeting with our staff to discuss your comments and to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me, at mvl@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a week and found everything to exceed our expectations. Tanya the GM was so helpful in accommodating us as this was a bereavement visit. The grab and go breakfast didn't suit us so we brought our own food into the room which was adequately set up with a large fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and all utensils. Vons Supermarket (opens very early and closes very late) is within walking distance as well as Einstein's bagels and other restaurants. For the price we paid, I'd say that this is the best value for the dollar in this area. We will definitely return and stay here in the future and highly recommend the property

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had a wonderful experience@ this hotel. The management is excellent. I had a major prblm at a different location and the management refunded all my money plus gave me nearly a week free at this location. The staff is AWESOME.. Its nice, quaint and very accommodating...

Room Tip: rooms facing the front parking lot are much sunnier..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Tiffiny - I appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. I am sorry that your experience at another of our hotel's was not ideal, but so glad that we could offer you a great one! The staff and I truly enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium

Address: 3860 Murphy Canyon Rd, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Extended Stay, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Extended Stay America San Diego
Extended Stay San Diego
San Diego Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - San Diego - Mission Valley - Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.