We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Pie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snooze

Snooze
3940 Fifth Ave, San Diego, CA
619-500-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 4,058 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Try the Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The breakfast pot pie was superb. The recommendation to put a sunny side up egg as your egg choice on top was right on. I loved it. It was a little on the light side when it came to sausage in the pie but it was really good. I also tried some of my wife's side of bacon and it really was the best bacon I have ever had. I added some to my pot pie and it was perfect. They do usually have a long wait but it was worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    61
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Oh, the pot pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What I ordered: Breakfast Pot Pie (Snooze’s Homemade Rosemary Sausage Gravy Smothers a Flaky Puff Pastry, Topped with a Sunny Side Up Egg) and Hash Browns

I ran to Snooze and back from my hotel (The US Grant), which was 4.6 miles total and I am sure didn’t put a dent into my caloric intake at Snooze. Oh well. This pot pie was FREAKISHLY good. The sausage gravy is genius and I wish I had thought of it. While I was having a food haze moment (I know you know what those are), I was getting excellent service from the host to the server to the food runner that only registered later after the haze had lifted. Snooze is a must visit in San Diego.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Astonishingly good breakfast - try the chilaquiles benedict!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

As a Brit visiting San Diego on business for a couple of days, I'd been awake since 4am and so was after a good breakfast a few hours later. What I found at Snooze impressed me hugely.

Talking to the friendly waitress about whether to try one of the eggs benedict creations or the tasty looking pancakes she convinced me to do a half portion of each.

The chilaquiles benedict was sublime - tender barbacoa beef topped with a poached egg and hollandaise on a base made from tortilla rather than muffin/brioche. Paired with the very tasty hash brown (potato rosti, I would argue), I really should have stopped there, pleasantly full after a rich, surprisingly good dish. However, my single pancake was too tempting and so I embarked on the ~12" diameter monster; very good it was too. I didn't quite finish it as I could feel my arteries clogging up fast.
Cappucinos were tasty too though perhaps not quite as exceptional as the food; San Diego's a city crawling with fantastic independent coffee houses after all.

I'll certainly be coming back, perhaps after a 10 mile run to build up the appetite for a guilt-free breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pebble beach
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“breakfast at snooze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

this is now my favorite place to have breakfast .five of us had adult beverages and really good food .i had the the breakfast pot pie ,my family had eggs benedect others had the best bacon !!!!my mother had a bloody mary she loved i had the snooze julius which i loved. next time i go there i will order more adult beverages there is so much to choose from. my very picky mother loved loved this place all in my party were very happy. oh by the way there will soon be a Amicci's pizza opening soon next door to snooze.YAAAAAA!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I love this place! Although the wait is kind of long, the food is really good, and reasonably proved. They have a unique variety of pancakes that are delicious. (Especially the cinnamon roll one). Our waitress was amazing, so the service was great! It really made the experience. We took some friends from Texas the time before and it was one of their favorites as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.