We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique menu but food was only so-so. Avoid Sunday!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snooze

Snooze
3940 Fifth Avenue, San Diego, CA 92103
+1 619-500-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,731 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast marks the beginning of a new day. At Snooze, we believe life is for living and each person and each day is worth celebrating. Our mantra: it only takes a moment to make a difference. From the day we were born, our people - Snoozers - have led the way serving creative twists on America's favorite breakfast classics in a casual, friendly and vibrant atmosphere. The passion of our Snoozers is contagious. Over the past 8+ years it has inspired Snooze fans of all ages across the country.
Ludiak
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique menu but food was only so-so. Avoid Sunday!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We heard great things about this place and knew the wait would be ridiculous (we waited 2 hours and 20 min). Luckily there's an Urban Outfitters next door which helped with passing the time. Once seated, the staff was very friendly and efficient. The menu offered a lot of great choices but the actual food wasn't anything special. We were excited about all the usual pancakes and each ordered a different flavor. Mine, the sweet potato spice pancakes were overcooked near the edges and still raw in the center, plus I tasted no evidence of sweet potato! Out of three egg dishes that were ordered, they only was prepared correctly. The other two were either undercooked or overcooked. The one that was undercooked was comp'd by the manger after he stopped to check in and asked how the food was. That was very much appreciated.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    118
    27
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Snooze is NOT a sleeper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We came to the restaurant because of a recommendation! And we double checked on Yelp! But we are convinced all the reviews were correct. This is a great place for breakfast, the variety, and the place is hopping! We enjoyed the staff and how efficiently they provided service. We had the pineapple upside down pancake and the smores french toast (they apologized because they ran out of graham cracker - the ginger snap substitution was fine.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Eggs Benedict and French toast...
I think I've OD'd on French toast in San Diego, but this and Cody's were the best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Long wait for table and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Be prepared to wait - we went for lunch on a Tuesday and waited 50 minutes; hostess texted us when table was nearly ready; we walked around the neighborhood during the wait. Once seated it was obvious noise level is way too high. Loud music, voices, bad accoustics. Cheery waitress took our orders relatively quickly but then we waited over 30 min for our simple grilled cheese and tomato soup orders. Our food was tasty, nothing to shout about. Maybe we will try it again when less busy - and perhaps our attitudes will improve when we don't have to wait forever for a table, then wait again for sloooow food prep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was by far the best breakfast we have had a restaurant. The french toast, breakfast pot pie, and breakfast tacos were amazing. Our server was friendly and gave us the pancake of the day for free. The atmosphere of the restaurant was great as well. It was open, full of light, and clean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.