We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for table and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snooze

Snooze
3940 Fifth Ave, San Diego, CA
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 3,982 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Diego
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Long wait for table and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Be prepared to wait - we went for lunch on a Tuesday and waited 50 minutes; hostess texted us when table was nearly ready; we walked around the neighborhood during the wait. Once seated it was obvious noise level is way too high. Loud music, voices, bad accoustics. Cheery waitress took our orders relatively quickly but then we waited over 30 min for our simple grilled cheese and tomato soup orders. Our food was tasty, nothing to shout about. Maybe we will try it again when less busy - and perhaps our attitudes will improve when we don't have to wait forever for a table, then wait again for sloooow food prep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    151
    48
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was by far the best breakfast we have had a restaurant. The french toast, breakfast pot pie, and breakfast tacos were amazing. Our server was friendly and gave us the pancake of the day for free. The atmosphere of the restaurant was great as well. It was open, full of light, and clean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The best breakfast ever...worth the wait to get seated. Pancakes out of this world with the blueberry Danish and the sweet potato flavours the best of the lot. So brilliant going back tomorrow and if we were not booked to go back to UK this weekend we would camp outside to be first in every morning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We don't even know where to begin- it was hands down the best breakfast on the planet. We were there early (before 9am) so we had no wait at all. The blueberry Danish pancakes were fabulous, as were the hash browns. My kids raved about the bacon as well. Wish I had room (and calories) to try the sweet potato pancakes, but since I need to go on a food detox after this vacation, I think sticking with one breakfast was more then enough. I wish we had more time to go back again and again. Come to the east coast Snooze!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stick out the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were staying in La Jolla and I asked a local for the best breakfast. I wasn't finished for a millisecond before she recommended SNOOZE. Her words: 'It's a little ways a way, and you should definitely take a snack, but the drive and the wait are totally worth it.' So we took her word for it.

The wait was horrendous - nearly two hours - which will put a damper on any person's experience quite frankly. However, it's not like they were slow-moving. The place was crawling with people. Once we were seated, our service, food, and the overall experience were incredible. It was easy to see that the workers there enjoyed their job. Eager to please, all having a good time. I like that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.