We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snooze

Snooze
3940 Fifth Ave, San Diego, CA
619-500-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a great place to have breakfast. We have one in Boulder but frankly it is too crowded to even try to get a table. I was pleasantly surprised when I went to San Diego to visit family and learned that I could actually get a seat in this location. The food was terrific and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    77
    20
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trendy Breakfast hotspot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I found the reviews for this restaurant on Yelp. It is aound the University Village, very trendy and very good food as well. There was a long wait due to the popularity, but it was worth it. The servings were more than enough, and the house mango jelly was a delight. Definitely recommendable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Good breakfast places, well, just breakfast places are hard to come by in San Diego. And when you find one, there usually is a long wait on the weekends so either get there early or settle in and enjoy the great San Diego weather, sip some complimentary coffee and enjoy the people watching.
The classic dinner decor is great, a super fit for Hillcrest. The servers are plentiful, friendly and quick. Lots of options on the menu. We had several at our table and none disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had been expecting great things from SNOOZE. The online reviews were generally favorable and the large crowd waiting to get in appeared to indicate that the place was both good and popular. Despite arriving early on a Sunday morning, we were told that there was a one hour wait for a table. Guests are offered coffee while they wait, but the blend is weak and bland. Once finally seated, a cheerful server appeared immediately, brought drinks and took our order. The wait staff buzz around the tables constantly. There appear to be plenty of servers, but for some reason, food takes forever to come out of the kitchen. The majority of the guests around us waited as long as we did (over 30 minutes) for their food to arrive. A place specializing in breakfast should have the formula down well enough to get food out much more quickly than this. Our meals were OK, but we did have to return one plate because the dish was undercooked. The decor is 1950 coffee shop. Despite a high ceiling, the noise level is high. In summary...not worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Unique eatery with great food, service, and atmosphere. One of a kind for sure.

The Guatemalan coffee is amazing!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.