We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food but pricey!”
Review of Snooze

3940 Fifth Ave, San Diego, CA
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
50 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    150
    47
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Snooze
See the most recent reviews
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible food but pricey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You must go here but be prepared for significant wait times and a fairly large bill. The food is delicious and it's difficult to choose from the extensive menu but everything is great! We went at 8.30am and had to wait 40mins. Try the OMG French toast!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“You have to go!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is the best!! My husband and I were in San Diego for a short trip and decided to try Snooze out. We got there around 9:45 on a Friday morning and had a 45 minute wait. But it was totally worth it!! The decor is chic and fun, and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I had the OMG French toast and it seriously was the best french toast I've ever had. My husband ordered the Breakfast pot pie and also said it was the best breakfast he's ever had. It's definitely worth the wait, and eating at Snooze is a must if you're in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A 45 minute wait at 10 AM on a Thursday...?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

...and well worth it!

The two 9 year-old girls breakfasting with me went with pancakes from the kids menu: Pineapple Upside Down Pancakes and Coffee and Donut Pancakes. Both girls raved. (I stole a bite from each and their assessments are accurate.)

I ordered the Loxness Benny and had some bites stolen from me. Both girls raved and, again, their assessments are accurate.

As great as the food was, the service was even better! Our server (Ariel?) warned me of the aggressive ticketing at the parking meters and, rather than calling children services, kept an eye on the girls while I dashed off to feed the meter.

We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You SNOOZE, you LOSE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After telling us we had a "20 minute wait", we waited one hour to be seated and then another 45 minutes to get our food. The 'Host" was extremely rude - and the service was really unbelievably slow and inattentive. The food, once it arrived, was nothing special. The Sweet potato pancakes were dense and heavy and I doubt that one person could eat the large potion that was served. In fact, all the portions were quite large. The breakfast pot pie sounded much better in the description than it tasted in real life -it was watery and bland. Yes, they do have 'gluten free' and vegetarian items on the menu --- and you will be paying extra for them. I would say that this restaurant is grossly overrated and, unless you want to spend 2 or 3 hours of your precious vacation time waiting, and waiting and waiting for mediocrity --- go someplace else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This place is worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fortunately, our party of 8 arrived at opening time for breakfast, so we were seated right away. This is a clean, hip place with the food to match. I ordered the "pancake flight", an assortment of different pancakes with names like "pineapple upside down" and "coffee and donuts". These were the best pancakes I've ever had. The chicken sausage paired with it was excellent. My cousin runs a premium butcher shop in North Hollywood and this chicken sausage gave his homemade ones a run for its money. The atmosphere was great. The food was great. The prices were very reasonable. I will plan on visiting this restaurant every time I come to San Diego!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooze also viewed

 

Been to Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snooze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.