We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shino

Shino
838 W Ash Street, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 4,046 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
La Quinta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Sashimi was very fresh and the service was excellent. We sat at the bar and the chefs were very friendly and I enjoyed talking with them.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“BEST SUSHI IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I think it is the best sushi restaurant in San Diego.
The food is prepared mostly by the owner. Excellent service. The food is pricy but you have never had such a big and fresh pices.
Downtown San Diego. It's really worth to go.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This location had very fresh sushi/rolls. The location is perfect if staying near the bay. Service was great. They event have tips on some unknown San Diego places to visit. Will definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic. Real deal. Good stuff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Having lived in Kobe, Japan and having experienced what sushi is to the culture that invented and perfected it to the art that it has become, I would highly recommend Shino. They will absolutely make you the kind of amazing stuff you'd expect in Japan - or at least with 97% accuracy. The chefs are the real deal, hands down.

My advice: stick to the nigiri and sashimi menu. Forgo the rolls. They'll happily make them for you, as any SD sushi place will, but they're not the stars of the show. As far as I can tell, they have the best aji in town, which I tend to use as a barometer of quality and authenticity. And the chawanmushi is as good or better than I've had in Osaka (and that blew me away). The fact that they even have that is a testament to them being the real deal too.

It's a bit pricy; however, if you think it's overpriced, then you simply may not be familiar with high quality Japanese foods, which, even in Japan, does not come cheap. This is not strip-mall sushi; it's the good stuff! It's the real deal! Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had lunch there. Ordered a chirashi and seaweed salad. Very fresh and good sashimi. The staff is very friendly and nice. Price is very reasonable for that quality of food. Would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shino also viewed

 

Been to Shino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.