We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shino

Shino
838 W Ash Street, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 4,068 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

definitely belongs in the upper echelon.

The sushi and sashimi are phenomenal. The sashimi is very fresh and of the highest quality. The sushi rolls are creative and flavorful. My favorites, ordered at the suggestion of our chef, were the Salmon tempura roll and the Del Mar roll.

The service is excellent. Everyone was quick, courteous, and polite. It is evident that they aim to exceed expectations and make guests feel comfortable. Basically, Shino Sushi is offers everything one would want in a sushi restaurant. I think it is the best in San Diego.

My only complaint is they are very expensive so be prepared and bring a lot of cash!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NM
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lovely decor, excellent service and out of this world food. The crab cucumber salad and the kobe beef appetizers were mouthwatering - perfect!! The sashimi and rolls were sooo fresh, perfectly/artfully prepared and delicious - oh so delicious! Hard to pick a favorite, but the special spider roll and the spicy scallop were to die for. Price was incredibly reasonable, five in our party, we all ate (maybe overate!) and our tab was only $200.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although pricey, you get your moneys worth. Great sushi! Maybe the decor is not that great. The place is not that evident form the street, there is only a small sign.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The sushi and sashimi are some of the freshest I have ever had in my entire life but I don't know if it's worth the amount of money I payed 120 dlls for two peolple!
The service is great but there are some rolls in the 20 dlls range that will put a dent in your wallet fast I recommend going and really seeing if it's worth it! Maybe for a rare treat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I need a fork!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a friend and loved the food! After 10 minutes of trying to remember how to use chopsticks and dying to have some more of the bomb squad, I finally gave up and got a fork. Staff and the owner were very friendly, food was great and the drinks were cold. I will go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shino also viewed

 

Been to Shino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.