We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Expensive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shino

Shino
838 W Ash Street, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The sushi and sashimi are some of the freshest I have ever had in my entire life but I don't know if it's worth the amount of money I payed 120 dlls for two peolple!
The service is great but there are some rolls in the 20 dlls range that will put a dent in your wallet fast I recommend going and really seeing if it's worth it! Maybe for a rare treat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selma, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I need a fork!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a friend and loved the food! After 10 minutes of trying to remember how to use chopsticks and dying to have some more of the bomb squad, I finally gave up and got a fork. Staff and the owner were very friendly, food was great and the drinks were cold. I will go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best I have had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here with my wife and we LOVED the place! Very very good food and a very nice place. Our favorite was the Kitchen Sink roll, out of this world! We were wanting to eat some good Sushi while in San Diego and they hit it out of the ball park. Best Susi we have ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a place we chose for my wife's birthday, we were not disappointed. The chef Keith and the quality of food were second to none. I am fairly new to sushi but my wife has been into it for some time now and we both could not believe how good everything was. This a great place for any sushi lover, a must try. Great job Shino's!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

An excellent sushi option in San Diego if you're staying in downtown. Both the meal and service were great. Do yourself a favor and sit at the sushi bar........and order the omakase if you're adventurous and able to splurge on yourself. Shino offers typical sushi you can find at other joints, but the quality is superior. As well, you can get other items that you can only find at more authentic Japanese restaurants (eg. cod milt). Good sushi doesn't come without a price. My omakase meal, which included just about everything Keith (the sushi chef) could find in his case, was $85........a little on the pricier side but well worth it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shino also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Shino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.