We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient for Wild animal park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11855 Avenue of Industry, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #73 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
durham
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“convenient for Wild animal park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

the location is ideal for the animal park but perhaps a little too far out to make visting San Diego easy.
We stayed in a 2 bedroomed 2 bath suite, one bedroom had 2 double beds the other a queen sized bed-ideal with 2 teenagers in tow.The suites are bright and airy with spacious living area and kitchen.Only fault - not a full oven and the 2 hotplates are difficult to work on [ no elbow room due to fridge being immediately on right side.]
there is free use of the hotel washers and dryers-very useful!
The pool is pleasant and there is a basketball court next door
The included breakfast is very good-we stayed over a weekend so no experience of food provided during week.Supermarkets within easy drive

  • Liked — space
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
12
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

I was impressed by the two-bedroow, two bathroom (with full kitchen) suite at the Staybridge Suites, Rancho Bernardo where we spent the weekend of August 25-26, 2007. The rooms are very clean and the beds and beddings are comfortable. There was enough space for everybody! The carpets are clean (I am very particular with the carpet because the children play and sit on them). The fully equipped kitchen and the bathrooms are all well maintained and clean. The buffet breakfast was very delicious, but what I liked most was the freshly brewed Wolfgang Puck coffee that is available 24/7. The exercise room that also contains the laundry room was very useful -- we used the machines while waiting for our laundry to get done. The staff were very courteous and one of them, a gentleman named Pierre was very kind and helpful. I highly recommend staying at this hotel and we surely would be coming back!

  • Liked — The bedrooms with separate bathrooms!
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

These accommodations were better than I expected. The rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen had a full-size fridge. AND, they accepted our two dogs without a problem. The grounds are nice, and the hotel is in an upscale corporate park area, with company HQs and such nearby. Certain evenings, there were "free" dinner buffets available, but the best part is the Trader Joe's just down the street! BUT the staff seemed apathetic to my complaints about the clothes dryer that, after about 45 minutes, still left my clothes sopping wet. About 90 minutes after I complained, they still hadn't put up an "out of order" sign, so another unsuspecting guest had the same problem I did.

  • Liked — Accepted pets.
  • Disliked — Staff not very responsive.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

This is another lovely Staybridge site.

Pros
------
1. beautiful grounds -- flowers, flowering trees
2. nice choice of food for breakfast and sundowners.. Japanese staples provided : miso, rice, sake
3. rooms are clean and comfortable
4. parking is free and ample
5. Very close to Scripps medical and Sony. Surrounding area has a ton of restaurants and decent shopping/grocery stores.

Cons
------
Unfortunately, due to its value, many families stay here. if you're a business person, this hotel is going to drive you crazy.. there are incompetent parents and their throngs of unruly toddlers in the gym, running and screaming down the hallways, running and screaming in the rooms, at the breakfast table, at the basketball court. It's like being in a daycare. You won't have a moment's peace from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. in this hotel.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

Stayed at the Staybridge two nights while vacationing in San Diego.
Chose the location because we were planning to visit the San Diego Wild Animal Park in Escondido. The park was just a short 10 minute drive from the hotel.
The studio suite was slightly smaller than I expected. It included a kitchenette, sofa, desk, armoire w/TV and queen size bed. Should have reserved a one-BR suite for the three of us (our teenage son joined us).
There was a nice pool (no one was in the pool, the weather was cool), a workout room, basketball court.
There was a complimentary breakfast each morning. Son loved being able to make a waffle. The eating area was very pleasant.
The bonus was on M,T,W & Th they have a "Sundowner" between 5:30 & 7:30. Didn't know what to expect. Thought it would be drinks and nibbles. But it was much more. One night there was beef stew, the second night, deli sandwiches. Drinks were complimentary wine, sodas, sake and beer. My teen thought this was the best!
The business center was nice also. Two complimentary computers and printer. They simply ask that you limit your time so all guest have their turn. This was also the "library" with books, DVD's and games.
There was a small self-serve store near the front desk, for items you may have forgotten and snacks.
The hotel caters to business travelers but we found it to be great for our family. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

We enjoyed our weekend stay here and for $120 a night had a nice suite for ourselves and my mom and dad. Delicious breakfast each day with egg, sausage, juice, waffles, etc. Very young staff who may need some refresher training on customer relations. We had several requests which were never fulfilled through this younger staff. Perhaps the hotel puts the older, more experienced staff on during the week, as this is primarily a business hotel with guests staying for a week's duration.

Very nice rooms with full fridge, stovetop, microwave, dishwasher, etc. Two televisions, one for the living room and the other for the bedroom.

Driving distance to major downtown SD attractions was about twenty minutes from this location about 20 miles north of the city. Very close to the freeway, so this allows one to make much better time if going into the city.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington,NJ
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

I think there was a family reunion or retreat going on. It was a little "wild" with all the kids and adults (with beers in their hands, maybe a happy hour?) romping around. Other than that, if you like to enjoy your time in your room this place if for you. My husband liked this place the best as far as space and privacy ;o) goes. My 11 year old also liked it because of the kids. I was concerned about the previous review with marijuana but I didn't smell/see anything, thankfully ;o) we're near NYC but obviously don't want the kids around it.

We had a king suite. The kids, an 11 year old and 1 year old, slept in the living room area. The room was clean and comfy.

The pool is small and it was crowded, but everyone had a smile on their face so I guess it served it's purpose. Breakfast was excellent for the price (free)?

Everything is right here and it's convenient to the Wild Animal Park. We enjoyed our stay. The front desk was a little young but friendly and it was a nice down-to-earth family place.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Crowded
  • Tips/Secrets — See the Wild Animal Park - It's open late the last week of the summer!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Address: 11855 Avenue of Industry, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is the favorite extended stay hotel in the Rancho Bernardo Area. We offer free high speed internet access in every guest room and daily complimentary buffet breakfast! Our all suite hotel offers studio, one bedroom and two-bedroom/two bath suites. Each Suite features fully equipped kitchens, including microwave, 2-burner stove top, dishwasher, ice maker and coffeemaker, perfect for any extended stay. The Staybridge Suites - Rancho Bernardo has spacious suites featuring separate living and work areas as standard amenities. Each suite has a direct dial phone number, two phone lines, speaker phone, voice mail, data port and free high-speed Internet access. We also have on site 24 hour business center, Bridgemart convenience store, fitness center and free laundry facilities. Our outdoor heated pool and sport court are available year round. Complimentary shuttle service is offered within a 5 mile radius of the hotel, Mon. - Fri. 8am - 7pm. The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is conveniently located adjacent to Northrop Grumman and Scripps Hospital. In addition our location provides great access to all of the companies that call Rancho Bernardo home. These companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, SAIC, Hewlett Packard (HP), NOKIA, Pulse, Siemens, NCR, Intel, Delta Designs and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.