We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel riddled with fleas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11855 Avenue of Industry, San Diego, CA 92128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #69 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice hotel riddled with fleas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While I agree with the majority of other reviewers here, we had a terrible experience with fleas in the room over this past weekend. Aesthetically, this is a nice business class hotel -- recently renovated, spacious rooms, with a largely friendly staff.

Unfortunately, my family awoke after our first night, and we were covered in flea bites. Subsequent inspection of the mattress revealed several fleas, and we saw the same fleas on the pull out sofa mattress and crib mattress. This was not acceptable.

We spoke with the front desk who sent over the front desk manager, and they agreed to change the bedding. They offered another room in the "smoking section" of the hotel (why is there a smoking section of any hotel these days?), otherwise they were sold out. So, the bedding was changed...and the next morning we found new fleas! Awesome.

The front desk staff politely reminded us that this hotel is pet-friendly, and they like to keep all pets in first floor rooms. This apparently helps keep pets out of the common areas of the hotel. Unfortunately, it also leads to fleas. They also mentioned that they supposedly treat each room after a pet has stayed there. Apparently their treatment either doesn't happen, or it's ineffective.

Overall, this hotel is aesthetically great. My kids enjoyed the small pool, we visited family, and had fun. Unfortunately the hotel dropped the ball when it came to the fleas. If you're planning to stay at this hotel, do so on the 2nd or 3rd floor, where pets aren't placed.

Hope this helps someone else avoid a similar experience.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Avoid the fleas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpeterson20, Public Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with our deepest sympathies that this has been your experience at our hotel. While making an effort to contact you personally our management team scheduled an emergency meeting to discuss the outcome of this situation which was absolutely avoidable. As you stated prior, we are a pet friendly hotel but that is no excuse as the cleanliness of our facility is something we invest in with great pride and seriousness. Despite our longstanding record as such we did miss the mark with regard to your stay and fell short not only internally as a staff but also with our most prized possession, your our customer.

That said we appreciate your honest scrutiny and critique of the hotel as it was needed to remind all departments that we all can potentially be fallible. While we take aim to avoid any re-occurrence by restructuring our procedures for "pets in suites", from the bottom of our hearts we apologize and thank you for caring enough to bring this to our attention.

-Sincerest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went to Rancho Bernardo for a Lacrosse tournament and stayed here. The rooms were updated, comfortable and huge. Enjoyed our short stay immensely. It really not close to the San Diego attractions but it was great for what we needed. The staff was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curtis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed in Staybridge Suites in the past so are big fans of the chain and haven't been dissapointed yet. Staybridge Suites in Rancho Bernardo area of San Diego are quite exceptional. The suites are situated in a quiet lane off Innovaton Drive. We happened to arrive here on the evening of Wednesday 26th June on holiday from Ireland and the complimentary buffet which was available was really great as we were tired after travelling a long way and did'nt want to go looking for a restaurant. Having said that there are several restaurants within a 5 minute drive and some within a few minutes walk.

These Suites are new or newly renovated and the building seems very fresh with very nice decor everywhere including the Stoneclad facing on the hotel exterior. The pleasant manager personally escorted us to our rooms and assisted us in carrying our luggage. He is a very 'hands on' manager and always very helpful when we asked him advice regarding outings etc. All the staff were very nice, friendly and a credit to the hotel. Amenities are excellent of course with complimentary buffet breakfast, exercise gym, launderette corporate center with free printing facilities. Pool and surrounding area is lovely too. Beds very comfortable. (biggest king sized bed I've ever seen!) 3 x Large Screen HDTVs in rooms and good wifi which worked in our room perfectly. Suites are very spacious too so all in all we were very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank U2flyboy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was here for three weeks and the staff was awesome, especially Alejandra and Pete. All you have to do is ask and they respond immediately. The rooms were clean and nice big with kitchenette. They have great food and drinks supplied for breakfast and Tuesday through Thursday a great evening meal. It has a great outdoor area just to relax. Only a short walk to shops and food stores.

I would recommend this to all for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Love being here!!! The staff is friendly and I can't get enough of the new amenities. Brand New Hotel with the same great personalities serving my family. I never regret recommending friends and family coming to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingKong1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been staying frequently here for work for the past six months and have been able to call this my second home. I have stayed at other places in the area over the past five years, but I have found the place that I will keep coming back to. The friendly staff, large clean rooms, and close access to several restaurants and entertainment make this the ideal place to stay whether short or long stays. I come for work, but always include play and its always a welcoming when I come to the Staybridge to stay. Nicole, Sam, Michelle, Jen, Jason, Robert, and Zonia are few among the many wonderful staff always willing and going the extra mile to make my stay a pleasant and hassle free one. They even still call my room since the first time until now just to make sure that my accommodations are in good order. Thank you much to all the staff to always making my stay here only second to being home.

Room Tip: I have stayed on every floor and each side all rooms are nice and spacious. I like the first floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictorHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

my fiancé and I were suppose to stay at the residence inn in rancho bernardo, the room that we got was a disappointment, the bed was not done and the bathroom mirrors were dirty, when we asked the person at the front desk, she wasn't helpful at all and was not willing to accommodate us, thankfully we found a nearby hotel Staybridge Suites and were able to get a room. The room was clean and beautiful! Jason at the front desk received us with a smile and a great attitude! He recommended us to many places to visit in san diego, from beaches to rest!!aurants.. he was very knowledgeable and made our stay very pleasant. will def' come back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValenciaW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo / Carmel Mountain Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Address: 11855 Avenue of Industry, San Diego, CA 92128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is the favorite extended stay hotel in the Rancho Bernardo Area. We offer free high speed internet access in every guest room and daily complimentary buffet breakfast! Our all suite hotel offers studio, one bedroom and two-bedroom/two bath suites. Each Suite features fully equipped kitchens, including microwave, 2-burner stove top, dishwasher, ice maker and coffeemaker, perfect for any extended stay. The Staybridge Suites - Rancho Bernardo has spacious suites featuring separate living and work areas as standard amenities. Each suite has a direct dial phone number, two phone lines, speaker phone, voice mail, data port and free high-speed Internet access. We also have on site 24 hour business center, Bridgemart convenience store, fitness center and free laundry facilities. Our outdoor heated pool and sport court are available year round. Complimentary shuttle service is offered within a 5 mile radius of the hotel, Mon. - Fri. 8am - 7pm. The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is conveniently located adjacent to Northrop Grumman and Scripps Hospital. In addition our location provides great access to all of the companies that call Rancho Bernardo home. These companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, SAIC, Hewlett Packard (HP), NOKIA, Pulse, Siemens, NCR, Intel, Delta Designs and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing